We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting, charmless rooms, good food, bad service.”
Review of Le Relais Fleuri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Relais Fleuri
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Avallon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The grounds are pleasant but the rooms are really rather charmless. The service was average and it was only when we made a monumental effort to be super nice that they came around and starting delivering the kind of service we should have had to begin with - notably so in the restaurant. That said the food is is very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebastianFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

We found this hotel last year en route to Paris and chose it again this year as a stopover leaving Paris for the south. It is two hours south of CDG airport and a wonderful reintroduction to France. Lovely garden, good restaurant, good service, great location. Although close to the motorway, it was quiet and peaceful. Much nicer than a chain hotel like Ibis or Campanile which are nearby. The room is rather dark, but we slept well and will certainly visit again. It felt like an independent family run hotel with familiar faces.

Room Tip: Take a room furthest from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The hotel is set in open country side just 8 kilometres south of Avallon. Rooms are set out at ground level and you can park your car outside the room. The french window in the room opens out onto the lawns. Good large room, exremely comfortable. The restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Visited this hotel for a wedding in August and stayed 3 nights.

Staff was very nice and price didn't include breakfast but we had dinner and it was very good.
The bad side of this hotel are the rooms... they look old, but they are very spacious.
Established on a big garden with lots of air and trees. Nice place for a short visit!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stopped here on our way back to Caen from the Alps - we had seen it on the way south so booked a one night stop over on the way back. It is ideally suited for the purpose being only a few minutes off the A6, but far enough away to be quiet. The swimming pool was very welcome. The tennis courts do come with a health warning as the surface is very uneven, but for our poor level of play it made for an enjoyable diversion before dinner.
The dining room is really nicely furnished (in contrast to our rooms, which were in need of a makeover) and the servie was attentive but not too much. We found the food excellent - the €25 and €34 fixed menus had some great dishes on them - good starters, including the inevitable Burgundy snails (which were delicious) then the main courses: stuffed saddle of rabbit was sensational; tuna loin, excellent; lamb fillet, also excellent. Extensive chesse board and good puddings.
The only thing that let the place down was the quality of our rooms, where the decor was distintly tired. But the beds were comfortable and there was a good breakfast the following morning so overall, we would recommend it for a one night stay, but I am not sure I would want to stay much longer.

Room Tip: Try for rooms in the main building, or the second row of bungalows, further from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghb369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Contrary to other trip advisor reviewers, my family and I preferred the hotel to the restaurant. Nothing luxurious but fine bed, enough towels and pillows provided and nice little swimming pool (water a bit cold). Definitely very reasonable value for money. Very friendly staff as well. We were less convinced by the restaurant for three reasons. First, the service was really quite slow. Second, while servings are definitely on the generous side, the food could be a bit more refined. Finally, I was not excited by the selection of Burgundy wines despite being in the region. Now, let's not exagerate either: this remains quite acceptable for a stop-over.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacques28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

When we're on our way to Normany, we usually spend one night in the IBIS Avallon. This time we decided to give this hotel a go. We had a family room for 118Euros, which I think is very reasonable. You can park the car right in front of your door. The setting is really nice with lots of greenery and very quiet. The swimming pool was very welcome after spending most of our day in the car. The reception very friendy, helpful and efficient. Rooms, restaurant...really I have nothing to complain about. a very nice touch from our service person at the restaurant was that she arranged the cheese on our plate from mild cheese to strong cheese, we had chosen from a cheese platter. only thing is that the children's menu wasn't exactly children friendly (as a starter , they had a salad served with a strong mustard sauce) the other alternative was snails. or maybe our kids just aren't adventurous enough when it comes to food.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfairy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avallon
4.2 mi away
Moulin des Ruats
Moulin des Ruats
#1 of 6 in Avallon
257 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dak'Hotel
Dak'Hotel
#4 of 6 in Avallon
163 reviews
2.8 mi away
Citotel Hotel d'Avallon Vauban
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hostellerie de la Poste
0.8 mi away
Ibis Avallon
Ibis Avallon
#1 of 3 in Magny
374 reviews
4.7 mi away
Le Moulin des Templiers
Le Moulin des Templiers
#1 of 3 in Pontaubert
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais Fleuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Fleuri

Address: 1, La Cerce | Sortie Autoroute A6, 89200 Avallon, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Avallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Avallon
Price Range: £69 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais Fleuri 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Le Relais Fleuri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing