We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Citotel Hotel d'Avallon Vauban
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Avallon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a really nice hotel! It's right on the historic Route Nationale 6, but the hotel grounds on the other side, a park in fact, are peaceful and quiet. As there was a large group in the main building, we had one of the four studios that are located separately in the park. The studios are large and equipped with kitchenette, so for a longer stay you can be independent. For our one night stay we enjoyed the quietness of the park, the space in the room and the great breakfast in the main building. The nice and historic centre of Avollon is just a few minutes by feet, with ample choice of restaurants. The interior of the studios is not brand-new anymore, but the overall atmosphere of this hotel more than made up for that. There’s also a private car park which closes at night, the studios have their own parking. We will certainly return here!

Room Tip: I would not have minded a room overlooking the RN6, but the rooms overlooking the park will be more...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcthea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Citotel Hotel d'Avallon Vauban
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

Chose this hotel because distance right for evening stopover. Very good value and good breakfast. Would definitely stay here again. Walk into the old part of the town for a meal is well worth it too. Rooms basic and decor poor in places, but very reasonable rates make you overlook this. Air conditioner over the bed helped ensure a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We are Italian and were very happy to find a young lady speaking our language at the bureau. She also gave us good advises to have lunch in a nice restaurant nearby. Breakfast was good and various and we appreciated so much the wonderful garden where we could have a walk early in the morning. It was very hot and an air conditioning would be helpful to sleep better....

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Citotel Hotels
1  Thank serePadova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This was a friendly, clean hotel in the centre of a lovely old town. There are lots of restaurants nearby and it was a good base for a stopover on a drive back to Paris. We stayed in a family room, which was comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharieramanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had a quiet back bedroom overlooking the garden. It is very old fashioned but has a lot of charm. After walking around the town we found a really good restaurant almost next door to the hotel which had an excellent standard of food. The hotel breakfast was one of the best I've experienced in France, with a huge choice. We had a puncture just before arriving at the hotel so the next morning the hotel owner got out his compressor and inflated the tyre for us so we could drive the short distance to a garage to get the tyre repaired.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Austin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

For the price you pay and the stars it has, this is a good hotel: clean, good beds, good breakfast and friendly helpfull owner. It is old, but in a charming way as it is well maintained.... location is near the ciy center

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dendreten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Warm, clean, large and friendly. A very dated hotel on the outskirts of the central town. Hard to find at first and looked derelict on a wintery day! When we found it and drove into the courtyard all of this changed and it became quaint and hospitable. The managers were very nice and we enjoyed our stay, although facilities were basic and very dated. Overall a nice stay.

Room Tip: Take a room at the rear overlooking the courtyard
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avallon
0.6 mi away
Dak'Hotel
Dak'Hotel
#4 of 6 in Avallon
156 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Relais Fleuri
Le Relais Fleuri
#2 of 6 in Avallon
263 reviews
1.4 mi away
Moulin des Ruats
Moulin des Ruats
#1 of 6 in Avallon
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Les Capucins
Les Capucins
#6 of 6 in Avallon
172 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ibis Avallon
Ibis Avallon
#1 of 3 in Magny
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie de la Poste
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citotel Hotel d'Avallon Vauban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citotel Hotel d'Avallon Vauban

Address: 53 rue de Paris, 89200 Avallon, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Avallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Avallon
Price Range: £51 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Citotel Hotel d'Avallon Vauban 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citotel Hotel d'Avallon Vauban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing