We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Earned their 3rd star and still a great value”
Review of Hotel Alesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alesia
Ranked #38 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Earned their 3rd star and still a great value”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed here once a few years ago when they had two stars, and we loved it then: friendly, clean, and a good-quality generous breakfast. Their location outside the city is really easy to get to by car, and it's not too long a walk into the center of town. Now they have three stars and the decor has been nicely upgraded, free WiFi is available, and the price doesn't seem to have gone up at all. Handy tip: there's an Aldi right nearby, which is a great place to stock up on bargain-priced provisions before you drive off to your next destination.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuritopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    124
    48
    8
    6
See reviews for
51
138
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Alesia is the nicest small hotel I've stayed at in Europe. The value for your money is amazing. The rooms are small (to be expected) but very clean! The owners and staff are SUPER nice... as others have mentioned, it can be a bit overwhelming but maybe I thought so because I'm from NY and usually stay at large chain hotels.

We had check in at 4pm and needed to get to the center of town for our 5pm tour... so we asked if they could call us a cab but they drove us to town themselves! The hotel is a short walk (10 minutes) to center of Beaune.

I wouldn't call Alesia "romantic" so I probably wouldn't book here for a romantic getaway... but then again, I didn't see any hotels in town that looked particularly romantic either.

I highly recommend Alesia. If I am back in the area, I will definitely stay at Alesia again!

Room Tip: I was traveling with a friend and expected the double room to have two beds but it was just one quee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvl4worknfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
202 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I stayed one night in the Hotel Alesia with a friend en route back to Brussels after 2 weeks in Provence. The hotel was perfect for us - as other reviewers have said it is on the outskirts of Beaune, very near the Autoroute. The car-park is locked at night so very secure. The room was fine - it was a triple room and would definitely have been a bit too small for 3 people but there were just 2 of us so it suited perfectly. The woman on reception when we arrived was truly lovely, very warm and welcoming. At breakfast the next morning there was a man who I think was her husband welcoming guests in the breakfast room. My friend and I speak French so it was fine as he seemed to speak very little English. He was very pleasant and warm. The breakfast was superb - cold meats, cheeses, bread, cake, croissants, fruit, yoghurt and excellent coffee. At €8 this was very good value indeed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaremcDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan
Level Contributor
224 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This hotel is very nice, if you have a car it's the place for you and you save much money respect to sleeping in the nice beaune. The rooms are big enough, new and modern with a very nice furniture. Free internet access with wi-fy devices. A girl at the reception was able to speak english. There is no lift, if your luggage is heavy it could be a problem.
I would go here again for sure.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pettaspagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We parquet at the Alesia for one night on route to Italy and would happily recommend the place to all travellers. Our welcome was warm, the room clean and quite and the breakfast really something (the best of all places on the trip). All this for a very reasonable price too, we'll certainly stay here again, next week actually on our way home to the UK!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunmow
Level Contributor
131 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The hotel is easy to find on the outskirts of Beaune. It is situated next to one of the routes out of town and next to a junction. Despite position we were not aware of traffic noise. Just over the road is an Aldi Supermarket so ideal for us as could stock up on food as just an overnight stay on return to UK.

It has locked car parking and very friendly staff one of whom spoke excellent English and others who have some, if you know some French then it would make the communication even better. After a long drive we appreciated sitting in the small attached garden and sharing a bottle of excellent local wine which was supplied at very reasonable price.

There is no restaurant and there are none immediately close to hotel. The breakfast room is small,intimate, clean and bright. Any shortcomings here are more than made up for by the very friendly staff who were constantly offering more coffee, croissant, fruit juice etc. Very good value.

The room has no air-con but a fan.

Overall in summary I would describe this hotel as a 'good value' modest hotel and typically French and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterDunmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deinze, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way to the south of France and we would stay here again. Very friendly and helpfull lady of the house. If you want to have diner in Beaune, don't hesitate to ask her advice.
Nice and clean rooms, excellent breakfast with a host really doing anything to please his guests.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vhbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France Le Tast'Vin
0.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Beaune Nord
B&B Hotel Beaune Nord
#1 of 3 in Savigny-les-Beaune
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.6 mi away
COTO Hotel
COTO Hotel
#19 of 62 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hostellerie de Bretonniere
1.2 mi away
Beaune Hotel
Beaune Hotel
#42 of 62 in Beaune
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Home
Hotel Le Home
#24 of 62 in Beaune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alesia

Property: Hotel Alesia
Address: 4 avenue de la Sabliere, 21200, Beaune, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alesia 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing