We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven for the serious oenophile”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caves Madeleine

Caves Madeleine
Ranked #18 of 205 Restaurants in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York, NY
Level Contributor
579 reviews
375 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Heaven for the serious oenophile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Tremendous experience for the serious oenophile! This was probably my favorite dining experience of our entire week in Burgundy and we ate at a lot of great restaurants. The proprietor Lolo is fantastic! The wine selection here is tremendous – make sure you engage Lolo and tell him what you are looking for. Many of the wines he has are not on the shelf so you will have to ask. He was so much fun to talk to and has incredible knowledge of everything vinous. Food is terrific, bistro cooking elevated to an extremely high level. The setting is casual and plenty comfortable. Book early as the place is small and popular with those in the know. I cannot wait to return here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jwobkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    94
    31
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salmon, Idaho
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

After reading rave reviews about Caves Madeline, my wife and I decided to give it a try. First we found out that the menu is extremely limited, which is okay, but four items for a main course and for an entree is pretty limited. The owner did, however, explain each dish to us in English. We both shared a mushroom appetizer, which amounted to about two small bites each. For the main course, we both had duck confit. Now, I have to admit that the duck was really very good- one of the best duck confit we've had. However, that's all we got- a duck leg. And the price was not cheap. I left the restaurant with 60 euros less in my pocket and still hungry.

I would think that the place may be more of a wine bar than a restaurant. There are other better restaurants in Beanue, in my opinion. Try La Choucrouterie for better ambiance, much better food, and more of it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rooster1Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Small but not necessarily intimate . . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Perhaps we just hit a bad night. The decimals were atrocious thanks to a very boisterous and foul foursome next to us and a two large groups at the long communal table that dominates the restaurant. Service was adequate and pleasant but the overall ambiance didn't project the feeling and image described by multiple reviewers partially because we had very limited contact with the owner except as an interpreter. We sat at one of two small and presumably romantic window tables where we felt more like exhibits to a constant stream of passing tourists than two people enjoying a fine meal in a highly recommended restaurant. We found the daily menu to be quite limited but managed to find two dishes appealing. The misses had mini-raviolis that she rated "to die for" while I, because I had spent two days gazing at pastoral white objects on green hills as we toured Burgundy decided on a Charolais steak--which was just OK. All and all we agree that the place could be very appealing on any given night depending upon the clientele, the evening's menu, the involvement of the charming owner and your seating. However based on our experience it rates a C+.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Finding a table at a good restauraunt in beaune is hard. We were lucky enough to get a spot for two booking the night before at caves Madeline. The food was simply awesome. The menu is very limited, 4 entrees, 4 mains and a few desserts, but out of the selection, there was definitely desirable options for both of us for all courses. The restauraunt sells wine by the glass, but also has a very nice cellar that you can get up and browse - a very alternative experience, being able to hold each bottle and look at the label. The bearded waiter advised a certain Pinot noir for our meal, that went absolutely perfectly. We told him our price range, and he got us one not even close to the top of it.

We are young, budget travelers and while not cheap (about 50 euro per person with wine), the restauraunt is definitely worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“All the reviews are correct...amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Wow, tried to get in on our first night as a walk in....no chance. Tried to book on our second night, but fully booked. Managed an advance booking for our third night and what a treat.
Wonderful hosts who are passionate about their food.
We shared a starter, a platter of three meats prepared in the most unusual way and most enjoyable. Our mains, the beef cheeks in red wine-amazing! And yes the incredible ravioli with lemon. Finally the most fantastic desserts imagineable. I am not letting you into the secret of what they were. The wine was lovely, one of the more reasonably priced bottles at 27E. Total was around 100E for a fabulous and unforgettable meal experience.
Suffice to say make sure you book ahead, this restaurant is a must during your stay in Beaune.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank auntynell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caves Madeleine also viewed

Beaune, Cote d'Or
 
Beaune, Cote d'Or
 

Been to Caves Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing