We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel with too many stairs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Les Fatien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Les Fatien
Ranked #11 of 59 Beaune B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel with too many stairs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We travelled through France for a month and had a large suitcase each plus hand luggage. When we arrived we were shown to our room which was up a rather steep flight of stairs. We were left to haul our luggage up the stairs & when shown our apartment we had another steep flight of stairs to our bedroom which did not have an ensuite or toilet so we had to go downstairs to use the bathroom. The first morning we were there we had a very nice breakfast, however on the second morning there was hardly any food left on the buffet and we had to ask for muesli and if we could have some fruit - there was a bowl with a few unedible apples with withered skins. We felt that this property wasn't good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FortyninerAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

The rooms at Chez les Fatien are twice as large as those at comparable b&bs, but this alone does not justify double the price. One also expects top rate service and top rate facilities.

Admittedly we arrived later than expected, but this should not have met with a frosty reception.

There were no bedside lights in our room nor bedside tables. There were only wall lights and one very bright central chandelier, much battered by the heads of all guests over 5' 6" tall.

The only hanging space was in a fuse cupboard with such a high hanging rail that it could only be reached with a pole(provided!).

The heating was fine once the air-conditioning was correctly adjusted by Yolande after a cold first night. There were no instructions.

The WiFi was a bit hit and miss, and very slow if you did manage a connection.

The TV (again no instructions) showed only local French channels - no CNN or BBC World Service.

The bathroom was eccentric. Unusually deep and inaccessible plastic bath. Two basins but the only overhead shower behind a fixed screen at the head of the bath. Reach round the screen to turn on 'C' (for ‘chaud’ ?) and a deluge of cold water from the shower will land on your head! 'F'(for ‘froid’) turns on the bath. Confusingly an 'F' at the other end of the bath turns on a hand shower.

There was only one key to the expensive but primitive garage 50 yards down the road. The key was held in Reception. Every use of the car therefore required a round trip to Reception.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Everything about this place was wonderful - the room, the housekeeper, the building, the courtyard, breakfast, village... It's hidden behind the walls so you are in for a very nice surprise once you go inside. Very nicely decorated, with style... Yolande, the housekeeper, made everything so easy...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We had stayed at Chez Les Fatien in March to celebrate my husband's birthday. The staff was very welcoming and the room was spacious. The moment you enter the premises, you feel that you have stepped into a different era. The courtyard was a joy and every little detail in the furnishing makes you feel special. The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom was very clean with plush bathrobes and slippers, the breakfast was superb. I can't help but find enough words to describe our pleasure. A definite double thumbs up. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel on Easter Sunday and it was great service! Really nice location, wonderful staff and tasty breakfast. They also have private parking available.

The cave tour of Mr. Fatien is the best tour I've ever had. Mr. Fatien really took an interest in our wine education and his wine is fabulous. We will go back to Beaune just for his wine.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Yolande was very friendly and helpful. The garage was convenient for parking our car. She helped reserve a spot for dinner at the 'best' restaurant in town before we even had arrived. Caveau des Arches. It was very good. She arranged the wine tasting with Charley, her neighbor, a local vintner. Beaune was a cute town and we did some xmas shopping. Saturday market day was interesting with a side visit to the famous Hospice. A must to go to the tourist center to pick up a free English book on the various vineyards--ask the attendant for it. Could save some money and pre-register at some of the vineyards on the tourism website, but we didn't. Mind-boggling and sometimes difficult to figure out the area/book even with GPS. In the long run we were happy we didn't hire a car. Beautiful scenery. Did not go to Dijon, but maybe we should have our last afternoon. An excuse to go back! Breakfast was pretty basic with excellent coffee and breads. Our room was large, clean, and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

This is an excellent place to stay. Our room was large and comfortable. My only issue is the lack of bed side lighting. We had excellent service offered by Yolanda and she was a great host. She catered for our needs extremely well. An added extra was getting a cellar visit to see the wine making taking place. Close to everywhere in Beaune and 800m from the railway station.

Room Tip: Our room was no. 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 63 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#17 of 63 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Beaune Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Des Remparts
Hotel Des Remparts
#27 of 63 in Beaune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Hotel De Beaune
L'Hotel De Beaune
#26 of 63 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#4 of 63 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Les Fatien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Les Fatien

Property: Chez Les Fatien
Address: 17 rue Sainte Marguerite, 21200, Beaune, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Chez Les Fatien 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chez Les Fatien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing