We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, charm and comfort”
Review of Hotel Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Belle Epoque
Ranked #18 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location, charm and comfort”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This property is located just outside the city wall and is an easy walk to main town attractions. The car parking is excellent. Rooms are comfortable and very clean. Good sized bathroom. The service was very good - some staff understood our broken French and several spoke English.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleBeaune, Propriétaire at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Google Translation
Cher Client
Je vous remercie pour votre avis et votre séjour parmi nous
Bien Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    227
    63
    16
    5
See reviews for
65
277
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located in this gem of a town. Beaune has a unique atmosphere that takes you back to a time long gone. The hotel parking is fantastic, since it's easily accessible and spacious. Our room was huge, with a bed to match. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bathroom was kitted with the normal array of shampoos, plus some additionals which one does not see every day like nail files and earbuds amongst other thingiemabobs. I would have like some coffee/tea in the room, but i guess they try to encourage the guests to have it downstairs in the dining area.
All in all, a magical experience had in a town way underrated.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 447mariuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleBeaune, Propriétaire at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Google Translation
Cher Client
Merci beaucoup pour votre avis sur notre établissement
Au Plaisir de vous recevoir
Bien Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
355 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

No complaints it simply does the job. Clean tidy and respectable hotel. It has no restaurant, presumably because there are so many in the town which is a short walk away. Plenty of parking and an efficient but functional reception. If all you want is a stop over which is handy for the town it is perfect.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandCarolineUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleBeaune, Propriétaire at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Google Translation
Cher Client
Merci pour votre avis
Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Communication seemed to be good but after paying for two nights in advance I showed up to find my room on the 3rd floor and there is no lift! A tiny staircase ascends upward where I found a room dimly lit and smelling of urine. There were no other rooms available so I left and found another room at another property. Hotel said they would refund my advance payment for the second night but not the first. I explained that NOWHERE on their website does it say there is no lift but they wouldn't budge. The stairs are no more than 3 feet wide, are steep and curving. Even if the room didn't smell of urine, Going up and down those stairs for 3 days and 2 nights was simply not an option. I believe in "truth in advertising" and if a hotel doesn't have something as basic as an elevator/lift they should say so up front, not upon arrival!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleBeaune, Propriétaire at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur
Vous avez effectué un réservation sur Booking.com pour deux nuits dans notre maison
Vous êtes arrivé à 21 heures excédé par 9 heures de route entre Bordeaux et Beaune, en nous disant que vous étiez en retard pour votre dîner en ville, nous nous avons faire voire la chambre et vous êtes plaint des escaliers, nous n'avions effectivement pour le soir même aucune autre solution.
Par contre, vous ne dîtes pas la vérité sur plusieurs points : Il n'y a pas trois étages mais seulement deux, vous indiqué que la chambre sent l'urine, nous avons été 4 personnes à aller dans cette chambre le lendemain matin dont un client habitué et personne n'a rien senti n'y même les clients d'avant (la veille) n'y ceux du lendemain par ce que nous avons reloué votre chambre et c'est pour cette raison que nous vous avons remboursé la deuxième nuit que nous aurions pu malgré cela conservé du fait de vos conditions d'annulations Booking.com
Dans les commentaires qui précèdent le votre vous pourrez lire que nous respectons scrupuleusement ce que nous indiquons sur notre propre site et celui entre autre de Booking.com, Dans ces conditions, je ne pense pas que nous soyons le première hôtel dans lequel vous réserviez et donc vous savez comme tous les clients que nous indiquons les services que nous proposons et non pas ceux que nous ne proposons pas à savoir un 'ascenseur, de plus si il fallait indiquer tout les services que nous ne proposons pas, la liste serait particulièrement longue et vous trouveriez toujours un point que nous aurions oublié!
Compte tenu du nombre d'avis (1) Nous avons tous bien compris que vous ne souhaitiez nous nuire parce que vous savez avoir tort dans cette affaire
Vous êtes un personne de mauvaise fois et je ne souhaite pas non plus vous revoir chez nous.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stopped off in this hotel en route south. Service was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the family suite which was lovely with plenty of space for a family of 4. Beds were extremely comfortable and we all slept well. The hotel is in walking distance to the centre of Beaune, which is a charming town. Breakfast was excellent - as well as the basic bread basket, we ordered eggs, ham and cheese. Would definitely return to this hotel on future trips.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvelynSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleBeaune, Propriétaire at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Google Translation
Cher Client
Je vous remercie bien sincèrement pour votre commentaire et c'est avec plaisir que nous vous recevrons lors de votre prochain passage
Bien Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Looking for another last minute stay touring we initially drove past the hotel as it is hidden behind an arched gateway. It it situated on the main road going into Beaune town. Drive through the iron gates and the hotel is on either side of you. Whilst some of the hotel, the older part of the building fronts onto the main road, we stayed in a much newer addition at the back so it was very very quiet. Unfortunately we did not get to have a drink in the bar (it closed at 10pm) but chose to walk into town a couple of minutes away where there was an excellent choice of bars and restaurants. The room, very modern was starchily comfortable, no mini bar or anywhere to store a drink. Room was air conditioned which was handy as it was a stuffy evening. The bath had one of the best power showers in a hotel I have ever had although poorly designed in the sense it was set back from the bath so flooded the floor! It was great as a stopover hotel, not sure I would find it as comfortable if staying for more than the one night. Breakfast was ok, great big bread basket with jams, ham / cheese served by a waitress and teas / coffee. Great central yet very quiet location. Secure Car park at the rear was only 5 euros per night, which was not bad considering how close you were to the town centre.

Room Tip: If you want older style quaint decor, ask for a room at the front, although could be noisy or for pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleBeaune, Propriétaire at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Google Translation
Cher Client
Je vous remercie pour votre commentaire et c'est avec plaisir que je vous recevrais lors d'un prochain séjour
Bien Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Overall this hotel is average hotel with good location. Expensive for what it delivers. Breakfast has nice setting but is very simple, not worth 11 euro. Good location close to old town, but I would not sped in Beaune more than one day and evening, not interesting or charming enough.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the back. All rooms are rather dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moomav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleBeaune, Propriétaire at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Google Translation
Cher Client
Je vous remercie pour votre commentaire, concernant votre remarque j'aimerais que vous me contactez lorsque vous aurez trouvez un petit déjeuner à 11 euros avec croissant,, briochette, pain, beurre, confiture en pot de verre, jus d'orange frais, oeufs (sous toutes ces formes et préparés à la demande avec des ouefs frais), jambon, fromage, yahourt, fruitss céréales le tout servi à table sur un nappage et des serviettes en tissus et des fleurs fraîches sur la table
Bien Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Beaune Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#13 of 62 in Beaune
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel au Grand Saint Jean
1.2 mi away
Novotel Beaune
Novotel Beaune
#9 of 62 in Beaune
1,051 reviews
0.8 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#10 of 62 in Beaune
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Epoque

Property: Hotel Belle Epoque
Address: 15 rue du Faubourg Bretonniere, 21200, Beaune, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belle Epoque 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We will have the pleasure to welcome you in this former wine merchant house, restored in the Burgundian style, located within 3 minutes walk from the town centre of Beaune. The peaceful setting, the quality of welcome and the many tourist sites will make up a very pleasant memory of your stay. The warm and family atmosphere of our hotel will charm you. The whole team of the Hotel Belle Epoque wishes you a good stay in Beaune ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Epoque Hotel
Belle Epoque Beaune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing