We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have stayed at the Hotel Cep several times and each time is better than the last. The staff are charming and helpful. The location is ideal. The hotel has a special, old-fashioned charm that is all its own and is the polar opposite of a modern chain hotel. For me it is perfect, and I hope I will stay there again soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinLee126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    215
    69
    17
    7
See reviews for
107
470
30
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed in Hotel le Cep for three nights and thought it was great. Unfortunately, we didn't get to eat in their restaurant as it was full on the Saturday night when we arrived, and closed on Sunday and Monday. The hotel is a mixture of beautiful antique furniture in dark woods and red upholstery, and modern vibrant furnishings and colours. Their are two lounge areas, and a bar with sofas and seating in at the back of the reception area, which sounds a little strange, but it works. There is also seating outside, where you can also eat breakfast on sunnier days. Breakfast is served until a highly respectable 11am! The staff were very good. They were very friendly, approachable, professional and incredibly helpful. The hotel is centrally based so the shops, restaurants and bars are extremely accessible. I would highly recommend Hotel le Cep, and if we find ourselves that way again it will be the only hotel we would stay at.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie-Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

On a recent trip to France, I had the opportunity to stay 2 nights at Hotel Le Cep. The hotel is in a great location, with easy walking to the city center within the original walled city. Shops and restaurants are plentiful. If you are in town on a Saturday morning, the market is a must see.
The hotel staff was welcoming and accommodating. We received an upgrade on our room to a very spacious suite which was decorated in true French décor. The bed was very comfortable. It would have been helpful to have more power outlets for charging cameras, phones etc. The hotel is very clean and well kept. We especially enjoyed the various courtyards which were maintained in an excellent manner.
I do not hesitate to recommend the hotel due to its location, staff, service and well run business. You will certainly enjoy your stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXtravler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We've stayed at le Cep on 3 other trips and always found it a good value. When we arrived in July 2014 for a 2 night stay we expected the usual good service and comfortable room. But we got great service and a wonderful room. The lounge seemed even better than usual and the drinks were perfect. The courtyard was even better than our last breakfast and we enjoyed generous and delicious breakfasts there. So, our congratulations to whomever manages le Cep -- you've kept an old property elegant and fresh. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Every room we've had has been good but that over the courtyard was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights here, end of May, early June this year and found it excellent. We arrived by train and the hotel arranged a taxi. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful and more than willing to speak French with me and compliment me on my just usable skills (Monsieur, vous parlez bien) even though their English was generally better than my French. They were very helpful with dinner reservations and always smiling. This is exactly what we look for in a hotel, old world charm and a great staff although it lacks some of the perks of a modern building. Le Cep is located in walking distance to many restaurants and l'hotel de Dieu. We rented a car to tour the vineyards, and as one other rater noted, you just pull up in front and give the attendant the keys. We would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I originally booked a premiere cru room but was upgraded to a grand cru suite so I can only comment on that room, and what a room it was -- quite large and beautifully appointed. In addition, Le Cep was able to accommodate my early check-in request as I had arrived at Orly early that morning. As far as I can tell, the hotel was assembled from a number of buildings that were built over the last century or two. I mention this because while "old" can often mean quant and beautiful, sometimes it comes at a price, in the form of things that don't quite work right. In the case of Le Cep, that was most definitely not the case, with electric, internet, bathrooms, air conditioning AND Nespresso machine all working perfectly.

Now to address some of the criticisms I saw in some recent reviews. Le Cep is smack in the middle of the old part of Beaune, a perfect location in my opinion, as it is within walking distance to everything. The fact that driving to the hotel is a little tricky for some due to the number of one-way streets in the old part of town is no fault of Le Cep's -- my GPS-equipped rental car got me from Paris to the hotel with no problems. I took advantage of Le Cep's valet parking and things could not have been smoother--for those looking to find their own parking in the middle of Beaune, particularly on a market day, you are braver than I am. I think the criticism of the small lobby are a little overblown--I don't think large groups are arriving, or departing simultaneously very often -- and there a interesting rooms on either side of the lobby that one can use for quiet time. Finally, the adjacent restaurant is expensive but was very good. However, there are so many excellent restaurants within walking distance of Le Cep, that I wouldn't criticize Le Cep for lack of a restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TreasuryBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is a hotel with 5-star service but 4-star facilities. The double room had a comfortable king-sized bed surrounded by a lot of rather rickety old furniture which made the room feel smaller than it was but the bathroom really was tiny and the separate WC was even smaller still, so much so that I could use it comfortably only if I left the door open and it was impossible to use the over-bath shower without steaming up the bathroom and soaking the floor. Reception was always very well-staffed and they offer valet parking - but charge you €18 per day to park in their easily accessible car park whether you use the valet or not, which seemed illogical somehow. The public spaces are large and comfortable and breakfast was good if a little pricey at €20 each for a buffet, but full marks for the professional orange juicer. All in all this is a nice place wi a luxury vibe and was good value.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#4 of 62 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
6.5 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#15 of 62 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#12 of 62 in Beaune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Hotel De Beaune
L'Hotel De Beaune
#26 of 62 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Luxe le Cep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Luxe le Cep

Property: Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Address: 27 rue Maufoux, 21200, Beaune, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Beaune
#2 Family Hotel in Beaune
#7 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Luxe le Cep 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Le Cep and Spa Marie de Bourgogne, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World and Chateaux & Hotels Collection, is ideally located in the heart of the medieval city of Beaune, capital of the wines of Burgundy. Our 65 rooms including 29 suites are different and personalized with names corresponding to famous Burgundy wines, and unique decoration. Open in fall 2015, the spa Marie de Bourgogne is a refined and elegant space. Keeping in harmony with the pure Burgundian spirit of the Cep, the spa offers over 350 square meters dedicated to 12 different sensorial experiences. We also have a fitness center on the top of a panoramic tower, several lounges, a bar, a gastronomical restaurant « Loiseau des Vignes », a one star Michelin independently managed, two courtyards dated XVI century, a garden “a la francaise”, a private parking, and 4 conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Luxe le Cep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Luxe Le Cep Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing