We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel situated in a beautiful graden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de Challanges
Ranked #19 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Nice hotel situated in a beautiful graden”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I liked this hotel. We were a family of 5 and we got a room in the garden near the pool. The continental breakfast was served to our room and we could have it in our private patio. The pool is a small one, but the kids enjoyed it and it was open all the time. The room is very modern.

Room Tip: The breakfast the offer is continental.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hidy_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    121
    29
    16
    11
See reviews for
60
215
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This hotel sells itself as a grand Chateau.It is very close to the Autoroute and traffic noise is intrusive.Facilities are OK but there are some rules that must not be broken.
Breakfast at 14 Euros was very poor value when we stayed.By the time we wanted to eat there was not much left,we were told "this has never happened before";we were given a 1.5 euros reduction when we paid.
There is no dining room but the very friendly and efficient receptionist recommended an excellent local restaurant.Unfortunately we did not see her again.
In summary the hotel is OK as a stop-off on route to the South but the room rate we paid was not good value for money.

Room Tip: Negotiate on the room rate,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank somersetgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skövde
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Stayed two nights at this hotel and expected a chateau-feeling, but to our disappointment we were placed in a bungalow-style house separated from the main building. Tried to get a meal at the hotel, but there is no restaurant at the hotel and no available ones within walking distance. However, we did get good advice about were to go for dinner in Beaune. On our voucher and on the English internet page a "buffet breakfast" was described and included. To our disappointment the staff only delivered a breakfast box to our room with bread (baguette and croissant), jam and ONE cup of coffe or hot chocolate. That is not our idea of a buffet and most definately not the kind of breakfast described at the home page. The second morning when it was raining, we still had to sit outside on wet chairs to eat our breakfast as no table or chairs were available in the room. Humiliating.

The shower cabin leaked water on the bathroom floor and there was not enough hot water to fill the bath tub. The small pool was nice and well heated though...

We recommend booking another hotel in the vicinity instead of this one as there are many to chose from.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
130 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

I booked two of the small doubles on the 2nd floor because they were the only ones available. They are small, which wasn't a problem but the ensuite facilities were not acceptable for a 3 star establishment. A small 'trapezium' shaped section of the room had been carved out of the bedroom and truned into the tiniest space for a shower, sink and loo possible. You walk into the 'room', one step left into the shower, the sink is immediately infront and one step up a plinth to the right was the loo at a strange angle. The private facilities were the big downside to the property but there were many positives. It's a lovely building in beautiful, peaceful grounds with sun loungers and a decent sized pool. The rooms in the anex around the pool looked much bigger and would give a different experience to the one we had with ours. Breakfast was 14E and very pleasant ..... boil your own eggs, fresh breads, ham, cheeses, yoghurts, fruits etc. The staff were all lovely and extremely helpful; they booked restaurants for us, were all conversant in English to some extent and gave the place a welcoming and friendly ambiance. There is a smal bar and extensive wine menu but no restaurant other than for breakfast which seems a wasted opportunity given that all the restaurants are a drive away, either to Beaune (2-3km) or the little surrounding villages. I would recommend the C de C and I would go again but NOT to the small doubles on the 2nd floor of the main building as they really let the place down. Great aircon, quiet and very effective!

Room Tip: Avoid the small doubles on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NottsGirlsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed for a night on our way skiing. Just 5 minutes off the autoroute and you arrive at the lovely tranquil Chateau de Challanges. We had booked a room with sofa bed so our 10 & 7 year old could share the room with us, but when we arrived, we have been given a suite with a double and twin room - perfect. The grounds are lovely - nice swimming pool, and they are building new family rooms which I would love to check out some time. Very helpful reception who recommended and booked a restaurant for us in Beaune (really lovely little town). Plenty for breakfast.
All in all, a great place to break your trip, or even for a few days to explore the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evans21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

After a week in Paris, our 2 night stay at the Chateau was exactly what we needed to relax before we started our second week in Paris. Our room was in the annex and was quite large, especially after the small rooms of Paris. We had a terrace with a table and chairs that overlooked the pool. With the exception of the noise from the motorway, it was a very peaceful and relaxing place. The drive into Beaune took about 10 minutes. While we initially did not reserve the breakfast, we did end up eating it as we didn't want to take the drive into town in the morning just to eat. All in all it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CKinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden Lake, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We were so pleased with our stay at Chateau de Challanges, from the accommodations and lovely country setting to the wonderful personable service of the staff. This is a very upscale hotel with a cozy room/bar off the lobby (with fireplace) where you can relax with your friends and has charming, well manicured grounds. Our room was in the annex building and was extremely clean, quiet and private. We would definitely stay here again. The proximity to Beaune was excellent - just a few miles. Beaune must not be missed ... we had an excellent dinner at Le Part de Anges and enjoyed wandering through the town square surrounded by lovely shops and quaint eateries. Don't miss the tour of Hotel Dieu the charity hospital run by the nuns in 1443 for the poor and needy. So much to see in this area, including great wineries (Pommard, Marseault, etc.)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barney006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaune hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
809 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel le Clos
Hotel le Clos
#1 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
305 reviews
6.9 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Beaune
Novotel Beaune
#9 of 62 in Beaune
1,048 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#4 of 62 in Beaune
593 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ermitage de Corton
Ermitage de Corton
#1 of 1 in Chorey Les Beaune
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Challanges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Challanges

Property: Chateau de Challanges
Address: Rue Templiers, 21200, Beaune, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Beaune
#19 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Challanges 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau de Challanges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Challanges Beaune
Chateau De Challanges Hotel Beaune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing