We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chateau In a quite location close to Beaunne.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Challanges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau de Challanges
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Chateau In a quite location close to Beaunne.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

My husband had a very good room during his 1st visit. However this time round we had a small room on the 2nd floor of the main building. The room was renovated. But the bath room were clean but do need more cleaning attention.

The high light was the service, the young reception lady was very friendly and helpful and most of all the chef for breakfast was really nice ! The breakfast was good and especially the Croissants and bread were very good.

This chateau has a huge beautiful lawn, perhaps it is close to 4 stars but I don't think it is a 4 starts hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pscw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    118
    27
    15
    11
See reviews for
59
206
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Very easy to find and only 5 minutes from the motorway we found this chateau a hidden gem perfect for very comfortable bed and gorgeous breakfast.
We stayed in their very beautiful wooden outbuildings which felt very romantic (even though we had our three young children with us) The accommodation was very comfortable with great electric blinds and very well equipped bathroom with excellent shower and large separate jacuzzi bath.Our wooden chalet had a view of the chateau where we had breakfast and the outdoor pool
.
After a fantastic night sleep we had a really fabulous French breakfast in the main building which is under a 20 m walk from door to door . A great place to break our joinery or indeed to spend a few days looking at the region.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awelltravelledlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
477 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed at Chateau de Challanges for two nights. The domain on which it is located is nice. They also have a nice bar area even though it was deserted at any point in time. A big disappointment were the rooms: they were not that big but what was really cramp were the bathrooms. The rooms only had one small window and the rooms smelled very badly. One of our rooms had the ugliest decoration ever with the walls and ceiling all in orange. There are no dinner options in the hotel. Breakfast is simple but OK. The staff was friendly. All in all we would not stay here again when visiting Beaune.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Arrived at the Chateau de Challenges as a stop off from Switzerland to Paris. First off whilst driving along the street to the hotel the area appears quite run down and the car park to the hotel didnt appear to have any security so we where already concerned about the security of our car. On arrivial we where hoping to get something to eat then rest for the day however the hotel only serves breakfast and we where advised to travel 3km into town to find food. The final straw was when we where accommodated in what appeared to be a converted garage next to the main house with double doors on to the hotels garden, whilst walking out on to the patio one of the stones lifted up and hurt my wife. We stayed all of 5 minutes before making the decision to leave as this is clearly not a 4* hotel but charging 4* rates. We asked for a refund but where told this was not possible as we had already booked despite our complaints. After reading the other negative reviews of this hotel we are inclined to agree. After staying in over 12 hotels during our road trip this is the only one we have had a problem with - avoid.

Room Tip: No resteraunt or food facilities other than breakfast, no Gym, no other facilities other than you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed in their small rooms located on the second floor of the chateau. The room was not large, but comfortable. Though they offered breakfast and a pleasant small bar, the chateau did not have a restaurant. There were plenty of nice places to dine in Beaune, 5 minutes away, however. Best of all, the price for the room was less than 110 euros for the night... A fair price to stay in a real chateau. Please note that the room was accessed after two fights of stairs, and that there was no elevator... A good room at a very good price, in a charming atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickBarbary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West New York, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Chateau for 2 nights and thought it was a very charming place to stay. The mansion is a classic and yet the interior was newly decorated and had all the amenities required, with very clean rooms and washrooms. The hotel has a very nice yard in the front to relax and enjoy the wines they have to offer at very good prices. The staff were very kind and friendly and were very fluent in English. The hotel is a short 5 minute drive from the center of Beaune and and I really recommend this place for those who plan to stay in Beaune and enjoy all that Burgundy has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spark517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne, Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

I had booked one night in the Chateau de Challanges as a romantic stopover on the way from Germany to Spain. It was 36 deg. C on the way and when we arrived I was expecting to have a sleepless night because of the heat. Lo and behold the bedroom was A/C'd. I did not expect this in an old Chateau. Anyway at check in we were asked if we had made a reservation anywhere for dinner, as we had not the receptionist sorted a very pleasant restaurant in the near where we could dine outside straight away.
The pool was a welcome cooling before dinner as was the peace of lying in the garden.
Breakfast was as always in France quite pricy at €15 per head but at least it was a good selection of meats, cheeses, eggs bread etc served outside because of the temperature.
All in an excellent experience and value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klopstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaune hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 63 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
7.0 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel le Clos
Hotel le Clos
#2 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#18 of 63 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
6.9 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#12 of 63 in Beaune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Challanges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Challanges

Property: Chateau de Challanges
Address: Rue Templiers, 21200, Beaune, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Beaune
#9 Luxury Hotel in Beaune
#20 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Challanges 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Chateau de Challanges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Challanges Beaune
Chateau De Challanges Hotel Beaune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing