We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Treat!”

La Cave de l'Ange Gardien
Ranked #2 of 71 things to do in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Under the wing of the Guardian Angel, and in a relaxed atmosphere come and taste Burgundy wines with friends or family. You will be able to sit and enjoy learning a lot about wines, "terroir" and Tradition with Pierre and Nicole. You will also find gourmet regional produces and dishes prepared in Burgundy, foies gras... This place is special. You will not only pass by, you will lounge around .
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a Treat!”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We ended a tour of Burgundy wine country (led by Stephanie at Aux Quatre Saisons) with Pierre at this fabulous shop. His enthusiasm and passion for Burgundy wines was infectious. Pierre introduces you to vintages that you would not come across otherwise. At the end of our tasting, a dozen bottles in hand, he packed them up for us ready to fly home as checked baggage. We considered this the crowning touch to a day of learning.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    38
    8
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dijon, Bourgogne, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Serious Wine Tasting”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I had heard very good things about the Guardian Angel, and I decided to take some friends visiting from Paris to the cave. We were presented with at least 20 wines over 2 hours. The aim was to help my friends learn about Burgundy wine and explore their tastes; however, it was a fun and relaxed atmosphere. Nicole had her hands full with a mildly rowdy bachelor party, but she kept the tasting organized. While not all of the wines were drinking well--some were past their prime or corked--there were examples of very good appellations and also some older vintages (2000, 2002) on display. The fact that this experience is offered for free is amazing.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ScottSSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An Absolute Must in Beaune”
Reviewed 3 April 2012 via mobile

We spent a delightful three hours tasting a wide variety of wines from Burgandy with our host Pierre and his wife Nicole. The wines were wonderful and were enhanced by Pierre's charming and entertaining presentation. It was unlike any wine tasting we had previously attended, Pierre's love and knowledge of Burgandy and it's wines is quite evident. His presentation is laced with anecdotes about the wines and vineyards as well as personal experiences that span over 40 years of working with the wines of the region. Our evening was capped off by a wonderful dinner at a local restaurant that Nicole suggested. She graciously made reservations for us while Pierre treated us to Kir Royals to as a climax to an exceptional event.

Helpful?
1 Thank RockyMtnRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My wife and I had a great time tasting wines at La Cave de l'Ange Gardien. The owner, Pierre, was very pleasant and informative. He taught us a lot about wines in a very relaxed environment. We were able to taste 20 wines from around the region. We highly recommend stopping by. We would give it 6 stars if we could.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travel343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, Fun and Knowledgeable”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Wow. We read the reviews of La Cave de l'Ange Gardien just this afternoon, and walked down there on a whim. We got lucky and Dr. Pierre was free to walk us through his extensive knowledge of the local wines (make a reservation so you're sure not to miss this experience). His selection of wines is exquisite, and his detailed knowledge is unparalleled. I'd provide much more details on our wonderful visit, but you should experience the pleasure yourself. The only negative was we forgot to take a picture WITH Pierre. Maybe we'll stop by again tomorrow! Make sure to ask him about his grandfather's chateau!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mwhamiltonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cave de l'Ange Gardien also viewed

 

Been to La Cave de l'Ange Gardien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing