We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel de la Poste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de la Poste
Ranked #21 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed at hotel la poste in beaune and absolutely love it!
The hotel has a good location, very good facilities and a lovely staff -which believe me is not an easy thing to find in France.
I'd definitely recommend it! And also dinner at the Michelin star restaurant nearby at la cep.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Limama22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-FMartinet, Directeur général at Hotel de la Poste, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Madam & Sir,

Thank you for taking the time of a comment. And the restaurant is Loiseau des Vignes!!

We are very grateful for your positive feedback and we hope to see again soon.

Best Regards,

The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Excellent location in Beaune - city center a few minutes walk away and still on the main road with easy access to all roads leading to and from Beaune.
Rooms OK, bathrooms great. Parking excellent - on the property.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-FMartinet, Directeur général at Hotel de la Poste, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Madam & Sir,

We thank you for you short but constructive comment.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we wait your return.

Best Regards,

The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The back courtyard was beautiful. Looked like it needed some updates to the exterior paint, but was still beautiful and conveniently located close to just about everything. If you can get breakfast included, do it. They offered croissants, small crepes, cheeses, lox, various meats, jams, and juices. It was nice and quiet with the light softly filtering through the windows. We were close to the road, but it was very quiet when you closed the windows. The bed was quite comfy and the room was clean and beautiful.

Room Tip: Look for specials on the website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathaniel705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-FMartinet, Directeur général at Hotel de la Poste, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Madam & Sir,

We thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Concerning the painting outside, we have a restoration program during this year.

We hope to see back in Beaune soon.

Best Regards,

The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Beware: This hotel is on a main road for traffic and can be noisy if you open your window. We were disappointed by the creaky floors and the dimly lit corridors with a rather tired carpet. The drab brown furniture in the bar was unwelcoming. It was not easy to find someone to take our drink order before dinner. Before checking out we asked if we could keep our bags in the room for two hours beyond the check out time and were told “no”. Rules are rules n’estcepas?
When we asked to speak personally to the manager he never emerged from the office and spoke only by phone. After we returned from sightseeing in Beaune at 2:15 we noticed that the window of our room had not been closed .... it had most likely not been cleaned and it would have been so nice to have been granted access to it. We stayed in a lovely hotel nearby (of the Relais Chateau group) for the same price in order to spend an additional night in the Beaune area..... and again noticed that even the next day, the window to the room we had had at Hotel de la Poste was still open! Obviously no one had needed to clean it.

Drab public rooms, creaky corridors, invasive traffic noise, evasive manager, elusive staff in the bar all add up to a disappointing stay. The food in the restaurant was rather bland as well. We will warn our friends to stay away from this hotel.

Room Tip: avoid all rooms on the traffic side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GiovannaUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-FMartinet, Directeur général at Hotel de la Poste, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We thank you for your constructive comments on tripadvisor.

Most our Charm room, our first category, are overlooking the city remparts but we have Luxe, Junior Suite and Suite rooms which have garden view. It is true, when you open the window that you can here the traffic during the day otherwise we never had any complain at all when the windows are close.

Our front desk team is always at your disposal if you don’t like the room and when it’s possible, with or without supplement (depend on the category), we could have move you into another bedroom, we have 36 rooms in total and they are all different : color, furniture, style (modern or classical)...

All the rooms have been refurbished since our French group Najeti bought the Hotel and we are planning to change the carpet next year but we don’t want to change the “creaky” floor : our Hôtel was built in 1660, it was the 1st Hôtel in Beaune and we want to keep the caractere of the Hôtel.

It is the same for the bar ambiance : I understand that you might not like woods and brown furniture but it is our choice (some guest already asked us to contact them when we want to change the furniture because they want to buy it)

I will speak with the Maitre d’Hôtel concerning the bartender because you should not have to look for someone.

I was probably not in the Hôtel or not available when you asked to see me because I never refused to meet our guest, specially when they have a request or constructive comments.

The check out time is before noon and the future guest were arriving at 3pm so that’s why we could not gave you a late check out at 2pm. I’m sure our receptionist propose you to keep your bags during the time you went down town. Every day, after a check out, our room maid open the windows so that’s why the windows open at 2.15 when you came back and the day after also. Our housekeeping manager is closing the windows when she check the room to see if everything is in order : it doesn’t mean that the bedroom is not ready.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in our Hôtel. Next time, don’t hesitate to call us directly so we can find another room which might be more at your convenience.

We remain at our disposal.

Best regards

The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Staff were brilliant. Sophie and all the staff made our stay seamless. We had significant issues with flight delays and the hotel helped by continually adjusting our airport transfers. Hotel was in a great location on the ring road. We parked our hire car out the front for free. Walking into to town for meals, coffee and shopping was easy. All the staff were friendly and gracious.
The only negative was the breakfast. Unfortunately not very good and a bit expensive.
I certainly recommend staying at Hotel de la Poste.
Beaune is a beautiful town in one of the best wine regions in the world!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BDJ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-FMartinet, Directeur général at Hotel de la Poste, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Madam & Sir,

We thank you for the kindness of your comment.

We will share it to the staff to thanks them.

Concerning the breakfast, we are sorry that you didn't like it because we try to propose good and fresh products from our region.

We hope to see you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,

The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Easy to find location on the edge of the old town of Beaune, the hotel is a tastefully converted XVII Century building. Secure indoor garage with guest's name on the parking space was a nice touch on arrival. The historic town of Beaune is easily accessed and within walking distance from the hotel.

Staff on arrival were very helpful and carried bags to the room (4* service). The rooms were spacious, well presented and appeared recently decorated. Both bedrooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean. The bath/shower would benefit from a shower-curtain.

The evening meal in the hotel restaurant was a delight - the beef bourguignon and the accompanying wine were superb. Service was attentive and the staff were very knowledgeable - nothing was too much trouble. The amuse-bouches were delicate appetisers, which enhanced the meal.

The only negative was the Breakfast Buffet, which seemed so out of character compared to the rest of the hotel: the buffet area was just too small and crowded - most of the decent food; i.e. smoked salmon, bacon, eggs etc had long gone and were not replaced quickly. The one member of staff struggled to cope with the 30+ guests in the dining room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank welltravelledaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-FMartinet, Directeur général at Hotel de la Poste, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Madam & Sir,

We thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.

We are happy that you enjoyed the room and the staff.

Concerning the breakfast, we are sorry about your disapointment and we will try to find a solution about it.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards,

The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at the Hotel de la Poste for four nights. In our view, it doesn't get better than this hotel based on:

1. Ease of access ... it is on the Ring Road that surrounds this small town (one day we walked round the parapet circumference of the town in an hour), but we did not hear any traffic noise in our room (304).

2. Parking up ... having pre-booked parking, on arrival in their covered car park you are greeted by a notice on the wall of your own parking lot that displays your name and duration of stay. Not all lots were pre-booked but we think pre-booking is to be recommended if the cost is acceptable.

3. Reception ... lovely people who could not be more helpful.

4. Room ... clean, peaceful, and it provided a good night's sleep.

5. Dining ... wonderful cooking, wonderful wines. Dinner and Breakfast were both excellent. On the one evening that we ate in the restaurant, we decided to spoil ourselves and chose the Menu de Saison at 38 euros. The prawn Vol-au-vent starter was excellent, as was the trout and the cod main courses, and the amuse-vouches. We selected a bottle of Meursault. Heavenly. The service was exceptional - attentive but not intrusive - and if you have a special request, they seemed very willing to try and accommodate you.

6. Location ... cross the road (safely - pedestrian crossing controlled by lights) and in a couple of minutes (literally) you are in the middle of this wonderful town.

The only downside was having to leave after four wonderful nights in this excellent hotel in this wonderful town. We are going back ... and as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Look at room descriptions and costs on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarryNJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-FMartinet, Directeur général at Hotel de la Poste, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Madam & Sir,

What a lovely comment who make us very proud !!

We thank you so much and we hope that your comment will be read by a lot of people.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards,

The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
860 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#20 of 62 in Beaune
373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Beaune Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#16 of 62 in Beaune
477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#5 of 62 in Beaune
655 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Hotel De Beaune
L'Hotel De Beaune
#27 of 62 in Beaune
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Poste

Address: 5 boulevard Clemenceau, 21200, Beaune, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
#11 Luxury Hotel in Beaune
Price Range: £103 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Poste 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former XVII century post house has 36 bedrooms, including 3 suites overlooking an interior garden or the old Beaune town ramparts.Its warm welcome and cosseted atmosphere make this magnificent hotel, situated right in the heart of the historical city of Beaune, a genuinely exceptional venue.At lunch time, you will be entranced by the cuisine offered in "Le Bistro" with its warm and friendly atmosphere and it shady terrace.For dinner, "Le Relais" restaurant will welcome you to discover its noble gastronomic cuisine brimming with subtle flavours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Poste Hotel
De La Poste Beaune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing