We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Cuisine”

La Table de Guigone
Ranked #55 of 211 Restaurants in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Rockland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Magnificent Cuisine”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Having worked and lived overseas much of our professional life, we have spent many years "going back to Beaune". Much of the charm of this castle town is eating exquisite food and drinking fine Burgundian wine. La Table de Guigone offers both! We always search for value and this is truly the best restaurant in Beaune. The 27 euro prix fixe (there are other choices too!) is our favorite. I love the fish of the day and my husband invariably has lamb because it is unparalleled there. We always also have a gorgeous bottle of regional wine (the best wines in the world are along the cote d' or!) for < 30 euros with our meal and tax and service are included in the price. This is where the French eat! It is intimate, casual, and family-run. In the summertime, Patrick is joined in the kitchen by his son. Patrick's wife, Annick, serves the dining room. They are a lovely, talented couple. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank j&jglobalcitizens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    61
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buda, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“A small gem near the heart of the city...”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

On a Friday lunchtime in April we found La Table de Guigone, thanks to a recommendation from the lady in the nearby "Extraits de Bourgogne" shop (also worth a visit!), and we had a wonderful time. The restaurant is just a little bit out of the way, down a fairly plain street (although nothing in the center of Beaune is really all that far from anything else...), but the food is great, the welcome is warm, and prices are quite reasonable. The small and rustic dining room might seat twenty; the place is family-run, and the presentation of dishes is imaginative. Inexpensive wines round out a fine set of options -- Jambon persillee led off, and it was great; as the day was on the chilly side, I went for Boeuf Bourguignone, and loved it. Dessert was a cheese selection starring epoisses, my new best friend; it was a delicious Burgundian lunch, and we hope to be back --

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Itinerant_scholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“What a find!!! Excellent.”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We travelled around country France for two weeks in September and October 2011 and had sampled a variety of restaurants. We usually order alla carte as some of the formula menus have mediocre offerings or smaller sizes. Not here. La Table de Guigone offers a variety of set menus: we chose the euro 28.00 and were amazed at the value for money and the innovative, fine cuisine. We both ordered the same entree and main. The entree was a generous serve of moules, de- shelled, in a delicate cream and onion broth. The mussels were small, lightly poached, and numerous, served in a modern deep spoup bowl. We followed with sea- bass, which had been gently cooked, and came with a divine creamy sauce draped on the side, a filo pastry bon bon of potato, and quenelle of green vegetable ( peas? zucchini?). The presentation here is also extraordinary. The elongated white plate, an abstract fish shape, visually enhanced the whole dish- fish at fat end, potato bon bon in centre standing tall like a fin, the little green quenelle at the tail. Very fresh, stylish and tasty.
I then chose an icecream vacherin for dessert and he had the cheeses. The vacherin included two handmade icecreams of cassis and orange, wrapped in crunchy meringue and served with chantilly cream. It was a huge serving. My husband couldn't believe the cheese serving- three perfectly ripe, room temperature cheeses of generous size.
We enjoyed a very fine burgundy with our meal. Also excellent and priced at around euro 25.00.
I agree with earlier reviewers regarding the waitress/owner. She doesn't seem to enjoy her role as hostess very much and her communication is mimimal. Don't let this put you off- the service from the kitchen is what is important. The food arrives at the right pace, it is perfectly plated and is served without much ado. The water comes when you need it.
This restaurant offers a remarkable dining opportunity. It is located near Hotel des Remparts, slightly away from the centre of Beaune. 5 star dining at budget prices. What a find.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank morgana3761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

As we were staying in the Hotel de France right by the rail station just out of town this restaurant was on our way into town. We stopped by as we were hungry and had just rolled off the train on a sunday afternoon and it appeared that everything near our hotel was closed. The waitress/ owner was not the friendliest but the food was great. The soft boiled eggs with foie gras sauce was wonderfull, and the fish of the day was also great. We also had the salad with goat cheese that was large and very good. Although its a bit out of the way it was definitely worth going to and probably has better food than most of the places right downtown.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuromaru1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Table de Guigone also viewed

 

Been to La Table de Guigone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing