We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute perfection”
Review of La Terre D'or

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaune
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Terre D'or
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I recently stayed for two nights at La Terre D'or with two college girlfriends during a trip that can only be described as perfection. Vincent, the son of the villa owners, picked us up at the train station and was our driver and tour guide for our two day stay. He was absolutely delightful and took us to amazing vineyards and gave us a fabulous wine education and history lesson on the region. We checked in mid-morning at the villa and were greeted with coffee before taking off to taste wine. When we got back in the afternoon, our lovely guest cottage was ready and it was beyond beautiful (as were all of the grounds, the living/breakfast area). We comfortably slept 3 in the cottage with a fabulous bathroom and small kitchen. When we came back tired after our first day out, Vincent ordered dinner for us from a neighbor and we sat on the terrace and feasted on beef bourguignon, potatoes gratin and fresh green beans. It was a perfect ending to a perfect day. On day two we toured more vineyards and villages (and Vincent brought along fresh cherries from his own tree) and then discovered the grotto. You cannot pass up the opportunity to soak in a hot tub in a cave that they dug out by hand over the course of 2.5 years! It is a magical space and the perfect spot for sipping on some Cremant while taking a soak. We kept pinching ourselves--it was just too amazing. Breakfast both days included buttery croissants, cheese, jam, coffee and juice. Vincent's family and the staff were all charming and so welcoming. The gardens (all tended by the wife/owner) are gorgeous, and again…the Grotto cannot be missed. Go, stay, purchase a lot of wine, take a soak, learn about this lovely region…you will not be disappointed. I cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: For a slightly larger party (2+) ask for the guest cottage. 3-4 can comfortably sleep there. Plus, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Perri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LATERREDOR, Gérant at La Terre D'or, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2015

Thank you sooo much for your amazing review. You were so happy to be together and enthusiastic about the wine, food and landscapes! This is what I like, sharing a good time with joyful friends like you, sharing my Burgundy experience and learning also from your other wine experiences. Come back when you are short of Burgundy wine and I'll take you to another 2 very special places. take care.

Vincent & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

La Terre D'or is a Gite not a hotel, but charges hotel prices. It is a lovely house with pretty rooms and exquisite sculptures, but make no mistake this is run as a business. No one around to help with heavy bags (just a lovely young girl - but who wants to ask her to carry a case of wine to the car!) because the owner is running around giving tours ($$$). A stunning basement grotto with a hot tub that they charge 25E/$35 to use if you only stay one night! And the biggest insult is the breakfast at 15E/$20! Only cold pastries, yogurt, cheese and one inch of a sausage. We would have liked more, but there was on one around to ask.
I feel bad that this place has made me so cranky, but there gets to a point that you just feel ripped off, no matter how nice the place. This is the only place we stayed in over 7 days that charged for breakfast. And it is so far away from town that you would have to drive for a cup of coffee.
We wished we had stayed in Beaune proper in one of the other charming places.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NewYorkBulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LATERREDOR, Propriétaire at La Terre D'or, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2015

We understand you liked the place much but were not happy with service and price and we feel sorry for this. There is clearly a misanderstanding as we are not a hotel (no 24 hour service) but a charming B&B with 2 additional self catering cottages. As you argued, we offered breakfast so I see no point in complaining. From year 2015, breafast is now included in the price. As for helping to carry boxes, you just had to ask and we would have helpt you with pleasure. Best regards from LA TERRE D'OR.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was the first stop on our honeymoon in France, and what an amazing stay it was. Vincent and Elodie were so kind and helpful during our 3 night stay... from making sure there was a taxi waiting for us at the train station upon our arrival, to the wonderful half day wine tour we spent with Vincent... La Terre D'or was a true highlight of our trip. The house is beautiful, and about a 5 minute drive to the heart of Beaune. We didn't have a car during this portion of our trip, but Vincent & team called taxi's anytime we wanted to head into town. While walking to town is possible, we were a bit too exhausted from the travel to do this ourselves, so we really appreciated their assistance with taxi's. Breakfast was wonderful, and all the restaurant recommendations were great as well. I certainly hope to stay here again on a future trip to Beaune... thank you for an excellent start to our honeymoon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dopeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LATERREDOR, Propriétaire at La Terre D'or, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2015

Thank you for your really nice review, David & Jacky. We always feel very privileged to welcome honeymooners so we made sure you would have an unforgetable stay with us. Hope we will see you back for a 1 or 5 year anniversary here! Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I don't even know how to put this place into words except to say it is on of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed in. The bed and breakfast itself is nestled in the hills overlooking beautiful vineyards. It is beautifully decorated and filled with sculptures done by Vincent's wife. Vincent's family build this house and he runs the operations there now. He is absolutely charming and a perfect host. He provided us with itineraries every morning on what we should visit. We saw all these amazing small towns and sampled spectacular wines. I highly recommend taking breakfast in the terrace overlooking the hills and taking a dip in the hot tub in the cave underneath the house. Staying at Vincent's was by far the best part of our honeymoon and we are thinking of returning for an anniversary. This place is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LATERREDOR, Propriétaire at La Terre D'or, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Bettina & Josh,
It was so special to welcome you here, always happy with breakfast on the terrace and the view for the 2 of you! I know you liked the jacuzzi with the bottle of cremant, my surprise for your last evening. I really hope that you come back here and I will make sure you go to other winemakers and other restaurants. Take care! Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We don’t typically write reviews on sites like this, but our experience at La Terre d’Or was so good, we just had to. My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon in March/April 2014 and it was the absolute highlight of our trip. We loved our room (perfectly appointed), the beautiful home, terrace with views over the vineyards. It’s a simple 20 minute walk down the hill into the town of Beaune, where we enjoyed several amazing meals (recommended by Vincent, our wonderful host). Breakfast was also a tasty mix of breads, yogurt, juice and coffee.

Vincent also took us on a day of touring several close-by villages and wine-tasting, and we absolutely loved it. We were able to meet with some of the winemakers, taste some incredible stuff, and of course purchase a few bottles to take home. All-in-all, he was the perfect host, and when we look back at all of the places we stayed over our 9 days in France, this was our most favorite. We would give him more than 5 stars if we could!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LATERREDOR, Owner at La Terre D'or, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Hilary and William, we were so happy (and proud!) to welcome you on your honeymoon that we wanted to make sure it was very special for you. It was a pleasure to welcome you and take you to some of the places I love, including welcoming winemakers, charming villages and famous vineyards. I had a great day with you and I will remember this. Very happy that you will remember us with this painting from Jurga. Take care! Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We are so happy to find this beautiful place. We knew little about France and burgundy in particular. But Vincent was such a terrific host that we left with much information and a strong desire to return very soon. The home is gorgeous. The pictures don't capture the perfect location and the lovely intimacy of this home like setting. We just returned home and we can't stop thinking about La Terre D'Or. Thank you for making everything so lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LATERREDOR, Propriétaire at La Terre D'or, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2015

Thank you for your nice words Sharon and thank you for sharing information about Detroit!
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Beaune is interesting and beautiful and surrounded by the superb Burgundy vineyards. Vincent and Jean-Louis welcomed us to their beautiful chambres d'hote which is (unusually) even lovelier than the photos on the website show. Welcoming, helpful, down to earth and thoroughly nice people, they made our stay a true pleasure - advising us about good walks in the vineyards, delicious places to eat and interesting things to do. Never intrusive, yet friendly and helpful at all times. The natural grotto under the house is extraordinary - dug out by themselves. We will certainly go back and would recommend this to anyone - old and young alike.

Room Tip: Probably all lovely, but we can especially recommend Les Orchidees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrooksbankEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LATERREDOR, Propriétaire at La Terre D'or, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2015

Thank you. You are right, most guests say the photos on our website doesn't do us justice
and we should improve it but how to reflect the wellbeing of the place, the good spirit, the casual and friendly atmosphere? Take care. Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaune
1.1 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#3 of 62 in Beaune
867 reviews
6.9 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
470 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#4 of 62 in Beaune
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
342 reviews
4 mi away
Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois
14.3 mi away
Chateau Sainte Sabine
Chateau Sainte Sabine
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Sabine
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terre D'or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terre D'or

Address: rue Izembart | La Montagne, 21200, Beaune, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
#4 Family Hotel in Beaune
Price Range: £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Terre d'Or is ideally situated on the hill overlooking Beaune, above the vineyards: you will enjoy unforgettable views.Vincent and Jean-Louis welcome you in a contemporary, luminous and warm guesthouse: 5 charming bedrooms with bathrooms + AC + wifi, a large living room with a fireplace, a sitting room with a piano, a large terrace, a swimming pool and a very surprising grotto with a jacuzzi! Also, 2 self-catering cottages: Les Pins & Les Lilas ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Terre d`Or Hotel Beaune
Hotel La Terre d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing