We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abbaye de Maizieres
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Foch(Beaune)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
244
94
37
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
94
37
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspiral staircasemobility issuesno elevatortop floorstone stepsconverted abbeycentury buildingvaulted cellarclarins toiletriesbeautiful lobbythe upper floorswine cellarheavy luggagethird floorrestaurant downstairsboutique hotelflights of stairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Stayed here two nights and loved it!

We drove a rental car down from Paris, parked and walked around town looking for a hotel. After seeing several decent ones, we happened upon the Abbaye, went inside (remember to duck!), asked to see a room, and were impressed with what we saw. The rooms in this 12th century abbey were completely renovated in 2011: lots of stone and brick, large and ultra-modern bathrooms, and comfortable beds. The staff/owners were very friendly and helpful, and also run a tour company that includes winery tours. We did not avail ourselves of the restaurant. Be prepared for hauling your luggage up a tight spiral staircase (no elevator), but in my mind that just adds to the charm. And, though the books say they charge for parking, there is a free overnight parking lot just two blocks away that they told us about.

Beaune is very walkable and has plenty of wine shops to taste and buy the excellent Burgundy wines (made from Pinot Noir grapes), lots of shops, and plenty of restaurants with sidewalk tables for warm nights. Don't miss the Hotel-Dieu, a hospital for the poor built in 1443, which continued to be run as a hospital into the 1970's. And check out the evening light shows that display on several buildings and churches throughout town.

Room Tip: Ask to see several so you can choose to your liking.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrNatural000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Imagine having dinner in a 13th Century monastary! It is a wonderful, dark, homey place. The food was outstanding and the chef came out for a round of well-deserved applause.

They had a wine tasting and it was just as fascinating as the dinner and surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

First of all, ignore all the old reviews: the place has been redone since.
We stayed there for one night on our way down south and loved it!
It is not a modern luxurious hotel, so if you are after a boring hotel with all the top amenities etc don't go there. However, if you don't mind that the rooms are not massive and that there is not lift and if you fancy something special you should go there!
It is a unique place with bits, like the breakfast room, that date back to Roman times!! How amazing is it to be able to stay in such a place!!??
Our room was of a decent size, clean and comfy (the only negative point is that there was no shower curtain...). Breakfast was absolutely lovely with feshly squeezed orange juice and great pastries and baguette. The woman at reception was really friendly and welcoming.
We also had booked a table for the evening and we had a nice dinner (altho nothing special, but the again it not too expensive either) and the wine list is quite comprehensive and includes champagne (thus I do not uderstand people complaining that there was no champagne and only 5 wines....)If you don't want a bottle you can also have a glass of wine which was very nice (quite expensive too).
I think that the place is just amazing, right in the town center and full of history, so pack a light overnight bag and go there!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurence26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here for one night based on Tripadvisor reviews and were extremely pleased. The lobby/dining room are just amazing--an ancient, arched stone ceiling. The rooms have all been redone. My parents had a deluxe room, and it was just beautiful with stone floors, a modern bathroom, and AC. We had a "normal" room, which was still really nice. Our faced the street, and I remembered reading a review that said street-facing rooms were noisy, which I questioned, considering it's a side street with little to no traffic. But I understood that night when a few cars drove by--very noisy as they drive by on the cobble stone. However, there is just not enough traffic that this should be a deterent. The staff was really friendly and helpful, and the breakfast in the cave dining room was great. Our biggest disappointment is that we hadn't thought to reserve a table for dinner, and the dining room was fully booked. We were able to buy a bottle of wine and enjoy down there, though.

If you stay here, you should note that the entrance is what at first appears to be windows. We wandered back and forth for a few minutes jiggling door handles, until we realize what we thought were windows was actually the entrance, right underneath the "hotel restautant" sign

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brooTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Entry into this hotel is through what looks like a restaurant window. It is actually the door into a wine cellar used by monks in the 12 th century. There are currently 9 modern and well appointed rooms. The breakfast and dinner we had there was wonderfully prepared and a good value. The owner and staff were pleasant and accommodating. Be forewarned if you have any mobility issues because the way to the rooms is a narrow circular staircase with many steps.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwhome100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews