We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming historic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbaye de Maizieres
Ranked #18 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming historic hotel”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Abbaye was fabulous! We had 2 rooms. Both rooms and bathrooms were spacious and comfortable, as well as modernized without taking away from the historic charm of this 12th century building. Staff was very hospitable, and helpful; everyone spoke very good english and the proprietor was onsite every day that we were there. We did not have dinner in the restaurant, but breakfast was delicious and included ham, cheeses, eggs cooked to order, and freshly squeezed juice. The Abbaye is right in town; however, it's entrance is on a side street, and very discretely marked, so it it best to use a GPS to find it. There is no elevator, and the spiral staircase may be difficult for those with mobility issues. Antique shops and vineyards are plentiful in the quiet town of Beaune.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have a view; however, the stained glass windows more than make up for it. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmom76092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    83
    34
    18
    12
See reviews for
43
237
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was a great place to stay, with a restaurant that was high class all over in a medieval setting. Very friendly staff, helpful and nice! Rooms were nice, stayed in a superior luxe rooms that was in two levels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeGe_sthlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was the most awesome memorable stay of my five weeks in Europe. The hotel staff is warm and inviting yet very professional. Most speak English extremely well and the one person who was less conversant in English worked hard to make sure she answered all of my questions. The bathroom in my room was better than most nice hotels in the USA, it was terrific! The shower was a typical high end shower that you would find in the USA. The food was impeccable and our server was very well trained. He knows a lot about wines and food and wine pairing. The food is yummy and very French! The breakfast was the best deal in all of Europe as well. While you might be able to save a euro or two by getting a croissant and espresso in a cafe in town, this breakfast is very special and a great deal. I had an omelet, fresh squeezed OJ, croissants, ham, and two cappuccinos at no extra cost.
I am looking to return to Beaune in the future. Much of this desire stems from the two nights I spent at Abbaye de Maizieres. I can't think of any improvements they could make and there was no down side. It was an unbelievable bargain, well located, and with great historical flavor but with all of the comforts of home. Thumbs up 2.0!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Abbaye was a wonderful, planned stopover on our drive to the Cote d'Azur. It did not disappoint in terms of the beauty of the building itself or in the fascinating architecture and atmousphere of Beaune. The proprietors have maximised the impact of the medieval building, especially the vaulted hall and restaurant. Although we had been warned, we were a little unprepared for the rather steep turret stairway, and the absence of a lift might be difficult for elderly or infirm visitors. However, the suite we had was wonderful, extremely spacious and comfortable with all the amenities and facilities you should expect in a hotel of this calibre. There was a marvellous bathroom and the styling of the rooms provided the classic combination of old architecture with chic contemporary decor and fittings. There was good WiFi available throughout the hotel. Our only slight disappointment was that the restaurant was being refurbished and ther reopening had been delayed. However, we were alerted to this by e-mail and dined that evening at a wonderful restaurant Au Pres du Clocher in nearby Pommard. We would certainly love to return to the Abbaye for a longer stay to really enjoy the town and sample more of the amazing wines of the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here for four nights in April.

Rooms were clean, bathrooms were excellent and amenities were very good. Note that single beds are narrow. The hotel certainly retains some of the character and charm of the old Abbaye. It was undergoing some renovations while we were there so the restaurant was closed but did not really impact our stay.

We had mixed experience with the staff on the front desk but generally they were good. Special mention to Betty who was excellent.

Location is great and everything in Beaune is easily reached on foot. No elevator so if you have large bags note there are a couple of narrow stairways. The town was quiet while we were there so parking in the town was no issue.

Overall an enjoyable stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Espresso74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I travelled to Beaune to visit a friend. We had only stayed in the Abbaye for one night in May 2013, but it was one our best experiences in France. The rooms were very clean and included everything we needed, and the staff were exceptionally polite and very welcoming (though it helps that I speak French). The hotel itself is gorgeous, and I would definitely recommend it to a friend. We had breakfast in the restaurant in the morning, it was excellent. Merci pour l'expérience parfaite!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brendan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
147 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Abbaye de Maizieres strikes you as different from the moment you see the front door. It's clear that you're entering a cellar and once you do... wow! It's an amazing setting, some of which dates from the third century (you read that right).

The foyer is an old, old abbey, with vaulted ceilings and stone floors. It feels like you should be paying just to see this piece of history.

The rooms are clean and well kept. Our view was of ancient stone buildings across the street, some treetops in the distance, and the cobble stone streets below.

As a newly engaged couple, we enjoyed the romance of Abbaye des Maizieres. It's truly a remarkable treat.

The staff was hospitable, welcoming, helpful, kind, attentive and a few other praiseworthy adjectives.

We loved this place! A highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbinsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
810 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#4 of 62 in Beaune
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#13 of 62 in Beaune
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Beaune Centre
0.2 mi away
L'Hotel De Beaune
L'Hotel De Beaune
#30 of 62 in Beaune
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbaye de Maizieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbaye de Maizieres

Property: Abbaye de Maizieres
Address: 19 rue Maizieres, 21200, Beaune, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Beaune
#10 Luxury Hotel in Beaune
#17 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbaye de Maizieres 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in a cistercian Abbey of the 12th century adjoining the ancient town walls ( Castrum of the 3rd century), located in the heart of the historical center of Beaune. Extremely comfortable rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Abbaye de Maizieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbaye De Maizieres Beaune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing