We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and informative” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marche aux Vins

Marche aux Vins
Ranked #10 of 71 things to do in Beaune
Type: Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the heart of the city, in front of the Hospices de Beaune, the Marche aux Vins.In the case of this unique architecture of the 15th century, come to discover, taste and buy a selection of wines from the greatest Burgundy. Cote de Nuits, Cote de Beaune, old vintages, wines from the Hospices de Beaune and Dijon, all the great names included in our selection.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fun and informative”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This negociant was my first wine tour in Beaune, and I really liked the cellar tour. The selection of wines was diverse, and they let you try as much of most of the wines as you like, excepting the premier crus at the end of the premium package. There was good diversity. I spoke at the end to one of the owners ( I presume, the way he referred to himself. but perhaps he was just senior management. But he was very hands' on and Was there also a few days later when I returned for a purchase, albeit not as friendly). What I did not like e, about this was that all the wines being tasted were, of course, their own wines, much like at the wineries. That is another reason I preferred Milllesismes a la carte, because there it is not beholden to one winery or negociant, but diverse wines from all sources of Burgundy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank southam97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    155
    86
    32
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
186 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
“A Sip of Burgundy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We hardly consider ourselves wine connoisseurs and so this tour was perfect for us. We did the fifteen taste tour and it was excellent. We tasted only one wine we didn't enjoy and we were very happy to taste a Chateau de Chorey, from the estate where our B&B was located. Most of the tour was in the cave with long halls of aging barrels. The last five bottles were in the chapel section, which was a gorgeous space - beautifully restored and appointed.

I loved the atmosphere of the cellar and being able to take our time and read about the various vintages and the process of wine making was both interesting and informative. We stopped at the little shop and purchased some very nice souvenirs of a lovely few hours spent tasting some really nice wines. I highly recommend this tour, especially if you are not a serious wine drinker, but want to experience some regional wines.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Pokieman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really suited to bus tours”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Can't say this was a great experience - the whole do it yourself wine tasting was not good. Avoid if you are looking for an educational experience and an opportunity to taste good wines

Helpful?
1 Thank iain l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Washington DC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Love the "self serve" wine tasting!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Being able to set the pace and discuss the wines by ourselves was a different experience from the usual. The "cave" was unique and provided a welcome slow pace of wine tasting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank B0J0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
170 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Easy acces wine tasting in the town centre.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

No need to drive to the countryside: easy acces wine tasting in the town centre. All kinds of local wine to taste and buy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank KristaTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marche aux Vins also viewed

 

Been to Marche aux Vins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing