We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel au Grand Saint Jean
Ranked #17 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a two night stop in Beaune where we were out experiencing the town and did not spend long in the room and found this hotel an ideal balance between cost, comfort and location. Rooms were reasonably sized and furnished, clean but nothing fancy. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Price was reasonable and there is secure parking on site. Where the hotel comes up trumps is location. It is just outside the city walls and is a short walk to the town centres Hotel Dieu and the restaurants and wine bars of the main square. Just a couple of doors away are a bakers and a Casino supermarket and there are pleasant bars and restaurants in the immediate vacinity but the area is still not at all noisy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulb1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

The location is perfect for exploring the city.
Friendly and caring staff.
Small but good shower with the bathroom, but they do not have shampoo.
Although the room stand facing the street we had no problems with external noise, and being a little away from the elevator also helped us not be bothered by internal noise.
Didn't like the fact that the toilet is in the same place that the shower, almost everywere else on this trip we had separate toilet, which is great.
Good wifi.
Private and garded parking with excellent price to France.
Room with carpeted floor.
It is a good hotel for a short stay, but has absolutelly no luxury at all, maybe will try another hotel in a next trip to Beaune.

A localização é perfeita para explorar a cidade.
Staff simpático e solícito.
Banheiro pequeno mas com bom chuveiro, mas eles não têm shampoo.
Apesar do quarto ficar de frente para a rua não tivemos problemas com barulho externo, e por ficar um pouco afastado do elevador também não fomos incomodados por ruídos internos.
Estranhamos o vaso sanitário ficar junto com o chuveiro, quase todos os outros que ficamos nesta viagem tinham toilette separado, o que é excelente.
Estacionamento próprio e com preço excelente para a França.
Não tem luxo algum, bom para pequenas estadias.
Talvez fiquemos em outro hotel numa outra viagem à Beaune.

Room Tip: Quartos longe do elevador têm menos barulho. Rooms away from the elevator are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AdrianaLitvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were only in Beaune for two nights, which is really the perfect amount of time for this small town, & this hotel was fine for our stay. It is VERY basic (no amenities at all, so bring your own shampoo!), but it is clean & the location is good. You can walk from the train station (with light luggage) & to all of the major sites in town. The two gentlemen who work the front desk were so friendly & helpful (& speak good English!), which was much appreciated. Our only complaint was the bedding. It was tired - no pun intended - & would have been improved with a newer mattress, better pillows, & perhaps higher quality sheets. Otherwise, this hotel was nice for a two night stay & we are happy with our choice!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street were a bit noisy at night - apparently the trash pick-up is around 4am - but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TxGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location, as it is quite central. Its a good place to stop over, but the breakfast was mixed. Perhaps it is partly due to being spoilt as French coffee is generally excellent,but sadly this wasn't the best I've tried. That said, rooms were clean and parking is on site and secure, and it isn't too expensive a stay, so excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tay_708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

10 minutes walk from Hospices de Beaune this hotel is all about location and parking.
The staff were lovely and the room we had was big enough (we had a travel cot) and a large clean bathroom. The breakfast and coffee was not great.
It's a very convenient location and I'll recommend it for a short stop over.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank bugvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Perfectly located, very friendly staff. Very little charm, but a totally renovated room, very clean, with spotless bathroom. Guarded parking lot. Breakfast in a plastic athmosphere, very good croissants but poor coffee. Take away the nasty trailers and give this place some more cosiness and it would be near perfect!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Jannim1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

While it isn't much to look at, we had a comfortable night's stay at this hotel. The room was quite large with a good bathroom, although being at the top of the stairs we got woken up a couple of times by people stomping up them late at night. The decor is very dated but the secure off-road parking was a bonus. Also, it is very well-located for walking straight into the centre of Beaune. The man at reception was very helpful in providing a map and some eating recommendations, and overall it was a comfortable stay at a decent price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrashMan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cloche
Hotel de la Cloche
#37 of 62 in Beaune
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Beaune Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Beaune Centre
Mercure Beaune Centre
#10 of 62 in Beaune
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Athanor
Hotel Athanor
#48 of 62 in Beaune
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#28 of 62 in Beaune
472 reviews
1.1 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#13 of 62 in Beaune
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel au Grand Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel au Grand Saint Jean

Address: 18 rue du Faubourg Madeleine, 21200, Beaune, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Price Range: £74 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel au Grand Saint Jean 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel au Grand Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Grand Saint Jean Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing