We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating back street restaurant with cavelike interior”
Review of L'Air du Temps

L'Air du Temps
Ranked #29 of 212 Restaurants in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
514 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Fascinating back street restaurant with cavelike interior”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were frustrated in our search for dinner on a Tuesday, as most of the main restaurants were booked out. Found this one down a back street, which was nearly empty. Interior has been designed as a cave, with fairly naff ceilings and walls. Staff were very friendly and menu was good for Beaune. Portion sizes were reasonable and presentation OK. A reasonable place with local wines, but not much atmosphere.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrianML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    151
    24
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“recommended”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The 2-3 best places in Beaune were full, as usual, so I came here. It was great. The staff are very friendly, service is fast and professional, prices are right and the food is fresh, well presented and perfectly cooked. Nothing to fault it

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mightymark9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

There was nothing special about the food and it was rather skimpy compared to similar dishes elsewhere.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SheCanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food - even for a vegetarian”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had a fantastic meal here during our stay in Beaune. The staff were very friendly and helped us with the French translation. They welcomed my vegetarian sister (unlike other nearby restaurants).

Vegetarian rant first
Initially they wanted to serve my sister an omelette with green salad (staple veggie dish in france it seems), however once we asked for different veggie items from the menu they soon realised that being veggie doesn't mean you have to miss out. instead she got a range of veggie selections for example, celeriac remoulade, gorgeous potatoes, baked tomato. Whilst admittedly they didn't 'go' as a meal, the staff and chef went above and beyond other restaurants we visited and made such an effort for her. would recommend to other vegetarians but you made need to give the waiter/ess a helping hand with ordering and ideas.

the carnivores
we ordered a set meal. my partner and friend went for the more traditional 29 e set menu. i went for the more expensive menu 39e. fabulous meal. Beef bourgiogne was gorgeous. duck was cooked perfectly. ham and parsley terrine was really tasty. some great traditional staples cooked really well.

the desserts were unbelievable. i had the chocolate mousse which was really yummy but i actually enjoyed my partners cherry (or blackberry) dessert as it was that tasty.

wine was really nice and not too expensive. waiter gave us some recommendations too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GunnettUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastique”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Recommended by Sandrine at our B&B, simple setting with tables outside under an awning which was good as we arrived during a thunderstorm.
Food is really great particularly the beef and the Sabayon for desert
Would visit again, superb food, recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsG6615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Air du Temps also viewed

 
Beaune, Cote d'Or
 

Been to L'Air du Temps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing