We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Le 5

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le 5
Ranked #36 of 62 Beaune B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Although beautifully decorated our room faced a very busy street which buses and trucks frequented. Due to the warm weather and lack of air conditioning or fan our room was unbearably hot. If we opened a window we would hear noise from the traffic and busy restaurant across the street.
We were scolded by the owner for arriving at 8:30pm. I realise that check in was between 4 and 7 pm and apologised for arriving late but was very disappointed in the owners attitude.
Hotel gad a very sterile feeling.
Bed was comfortable and we loved the shower.

Very convenient location.

Room Tip: Request a room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cherylzug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

There were three of us traveling to Beaune. The room we were provided housed us comfortably. The room was modern although seemingly still under construction as there were brackets ready to accept the installation of a pocket door between the two sleeping areas, but there had not been one installed. It would have been nice to have it. The shower was lovely and large, but as mentioned in a previous review, there is no shower curtain and water tended to flow over the rest of the bathroom floor. There was no refrigerator nor an ice machine as we wanted to chill our wine. When we inquired of the host she seemed to think this was an unusual request and offered to put our white wine her fridge, provided was retrieved it before 7:00 p.m. ... difficult to do since restaurants don't usually open until that time and we would have liked to have a nice glass of wine upon returning home for the evening. The host and her son lived there and on a number of occasions, we felt that we were an inconvenience to her and intruding on her space even though we were in the public areas. No daily cleaning or emptying of garbage was provided. There were three of us traveling, but we were only provided with one wine glass and one juice glass. Based on the things that were not provided, and for the relatively high cost, the owner seems to not know if she is providing a B&B or a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Le 5 is a good B&B in Beaune. Le 5 is located slightly away from the heart of Beaune which makes it an ideal location and retreat away from the busier hotels. It was easy to find.

The B&B's decor is based on the 5 senses related to wine tasting. We were in the white room for "sight". Our "penthouse" room was huge for 2 people- spacious indeed. It was clean and comfortable. Le 5 is very stylishly decorated- a mix of modern and contemporary decor.

Our hostess, Cristelle, was lovely, kind and accommodating. She provided us with great site seeing recommendations.

Breakfast: Your stay includes breakfast. It's tasty buffet of jams, breads, cheeses, yogourt, fruit salad. Simple, classic French breakfast. You also get a croissant and glass of the day's juice creation. Unlimited coffee.

Some improvements/ feedback:
1. Bathroom design could be improved to be both stylish and functional. Very limited area to hang wet towels. Shower drainage an issue. We noticed it takes a long time to dry things in the bathroom
2. Sinks: Although visually appealing with coloured lighting, the distance between the faucet and sink created a lot of unnecessary wetness and splashing.
3. Parking: If you have a car, you will need to park your car in the public parking lot located across the street. Cost is 9 Euro per day. Although she did mention it, I think our hostess forgot to give us a pass so we could park for 3 days. Please remember to give your guests their parking pass upon arrival if parking is included in their stay.

Room Tip: Looking for space? Stay in the sight white room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kricket_and_Puppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

As all other reviewers mention this is great little B&B, Room and breakfast were lovely - I do however have to mention after staying there for 3 nights our room was not serviced once during that time- would have at least wanted towels changed as using damp towels three days on a trot is not pleasant and shouldn't really happen and down to last sheet literally of toilet paper -the standard of the room should be the same the last night as the first night! Great place though :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BonnVivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have been to Beaune several times but this time was a trip with young relatives who had never been before.
We chose Le 5 because of it's location modern quirkiness and excellent reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. We have previously stayed at the other side of town, but much prefer this location.
It would have been nice had parking been available, but we were able to park our car very close by at no cost for our 2 day (1 night) stay without any problem and the owner offers a card for the underground car park directly opposite, again this would have been at no cost.
Our rooms were large, airy and immaculately clean, and just a quirky as we had hoped. The rooms are up stairs but I walk with a cane and with the sturdy handrail had no problems.
The owner and her son were charming and helpful, even though we arrived early (having not printed off page 2 of the booking details).
The breakfast was excellent, lots of lovely local breads and cheeses & homemade conserves. Nothing was a problem.
The only improvement would be if there was a coffee/tea make in the general sitting area. I like an early morning coffee, I'm sure the owner would have made us one had we asked.
We will definitely stay here again when we next visit Beaune.
NB There is no Swimming Pool or Room Service offered but I rated them in error and couldn't remove them - sorry.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simpsonllynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is a well-priced, well-located private B and B and definitely worth staying at. Breakfast is included in the package - a rarity in France. It is literally a stroll into the old town, the Hotel Dieu, market square and across the road from the tourist office. The suites are spacious, well equipped and - despite being on a main road - remarkably quiet. I will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 69Penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Large rooms, and a perfect host named Laurence. Very nice breakfast. Perfect location and in walking distance of the city center of Beaune. Visit the weekly market on Saturday morning, and have a glass of wine in one of the many winebars in the direct vicinity of the B&B. A great place to come back to!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annemieke_de_graaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#24 of 62 in Beaune
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel au Grand Saint Jean
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Beaune Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#26 of 62 in Beaune
464 reviews
3.7 mi away
Chateau De Serrigny
Chateau De Serrigny
#4 of 4 in Ladoix-Serrigny
10 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Closerie Beaune
La Closerie Beaune
#50 of 62 in Beaune
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le 5

Address: 5 boulevard Perpreuil, 21200, Beaune, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Beaune
Price Range: £83 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Le 5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing