We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Ranked #4 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for my husbands 40th birthday. We were upgraded from a superior room to a privilege room 111 which was lovely. A bottle of champagne was waiting in the room on our arrival. The service was great and the hotel just beautiful. It is just a short walk from the centre of Beaune and a short drive to the vineyards. The hotel has a beautiful terrace where you can eat breakfast or have an aperitif before dinner. If we come back to Beaune we will certainly return to Hotel Le Cedre and will definitely recommend it to others.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you so much for your beautiful comment. We are so happy to have made you and your husband happy because it was our highest purpose!

Maybe next time, you will be able to enjoy dinner outside, served in the garden with candles spread all over the place, giving a romantic touch to the evening…

We will sure be looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Raphaël Meyer, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Two couples stayed overnight at this Hotel mainly as an overnight stay on our travels back from the south. We also booked a meal at the Hotels Michelin 1* restaurant.The service and food was as one would expect of a 5* hotel exemplary. The Hotel is situated handily on the ring road in Beaune and has an elegant traditional air. The staff were attentive without being obvious. I would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John2144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and the content of your comment. We are so happy that you appreciated every moment of your stay because your well-being matters to us just as much as the quality of the service we propose to you. We indeed try to be as attentive as possible to make you be aware that we do care.

Hoping to welcome you again in the near future,

Raphaël Meyer, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Don't get me wrong, this is a fine hotel clearly selected by people with fine taste in cars (looking at their driveway) but outstanding it is not.

Prices are high at this place so let's put it into perspective: do you get what you pay for?

Staff are polite and courteous but you would expect that at a "5 star" hotel. The lobby is quite nice, the garden and outdoor area is really very nice. There is a beautiful lobby bar with a roaring fireplace in the evening, if it is cold enough. Apparently the restaurant is very good though we did not eat there.

The rooms are ok. Here's the problem... We were booked in the "basic room" for 185 EUR. Not cheap, not crazy, let's call it "above average" pricing, this is Beaune not Paris...

The first we room we were given smelled like open sewage. We couldn't believe how bad it smelled and that they would actually give this room to any guest - it the first room on the first floor.

It would not have been possible to sleep there. It was that bad.

We complained. Very accomodating the smell was acknowledged. They knew about it! What is this an olfactory test? We're told that sometimes they have a problem with that room. The new room was an upgrade (apparently at 255 EUR per night). Not that different from the 185 EUR except that it didn't smell.

Terrible value for 255 EUR. Glad we weren't paying it. Great bathroom. Fabulous as described by others on this site? Not really, unless you have a lot burgundy before checking in.

Question is this... if a room smells so bad that it cannot be used and the hotel knows it, why are they giving it to guests? Do they think we won't notice? That's just poor, poor, poor. That's 1-star service at 5-star prices!

Later that day some poor guests were seen going into the smelly room.... They should have slept in their car.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SODA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time of a comment. We remember you and sincerely apologize again for the inconvenience when you checked in.

However, we must say though that we are very upset by the way you sum up what happened, using Trip Advisor to wrongly pay us back for something that occurred beyond our control or will. Indeed, we did not know about any smell in that room when you arrived! It is the kind of situation we would have preferred to be spared from.

We offered you an upgrade as it appears that we had a real problem that was solved later on by our technicians who immediately worked on it.

To then claim that we knew about it and purposely gave you that room, adding that the clients you saw were staying in a “stinky” room, is a ridiculous and false allegation! Promoting it on this site as true facts is nothing but injurious to us as well as to our guests. Indeed, you don’t hesitate to even put down all the guests who love our hotel, by doubting on their ability for discernment and judgment!?

This we can’t accept!

We are sorry you didn’t like the room we upgraded you in. However, it seems that whatever we would have done to please you, we would have never met your expectations anyway.

You have the right not to like our hotel, but what you did is sad.

Raphaël Meyer, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We spent 2 nights at Le Cedre last week. It was a great experience. Attentive service, great location, nicely appointed rooms and a fabulous restaurant.
Hotel was vey helpful in setting up visits to local winemakers. Would highly recommend

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank lsd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you very much for your positive and enthusiastic feedback. We really love taking care of you while staying at the Hostellerie Le Cèdre, and it is so nice to read that you appreciated every moment of your stay.

Next time you drive through Burgundy, remember that we will always warmly welcome you…

Raphaël Meyer, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Wonderful location, righ next to the old town. The hotel has a parking lot (15 E/d). The staff is clearly trying to be pleasant and to help. The concierge Mathieu has very nice advices on what is valuable and where to go.
The rooms are superb and you can fell the carrying in details. The lobby is classy as it can and it invites you to join the mood....

Hint, book directly..... The hotel site has cheaper rates than booking sites.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wagner C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions. We are very grateful for your enthusiastic feedback because we are committed with heart and soul to our work. Our priority is to make you feel at home, keeping the lobby and the rooms cozy to allow you a genuine break. It isn’t rare that we go out of the frame to assist you with any queries and we are glad you appreciated all these details that sure make the difference.

Indeed, we guarantee the best promotional rates as well as more availability on our website. We also recommend to reserve direct as it allows us more flexibility to respond to your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you someday again, do not hesitate to contact us direct since you already know us!

Raphaël Meyer, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This very nice and modern hotel offers all the best in Besune. Well located, next to the siege of one of the best producers in burgundy (Bouchard père et fils), a little walk away from the Hospices de Beaune and other main attractions, this hotel offers itself more: very nice and comfortable accomodations, large rooms, a very good restaurant, parking facilities, very good breakfast and a very gentle and operative staff.
Nothing could be better. A place to stay in the heart of Burgundy!

Room Tip: Some friends stayed in other rooms in other floors, all were very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlosmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you so much for the content of your comment. Indeed, we all work with passion and commitment. This is the reason why we are so pleased that you and your friends had a beautiful stay while staying at the Hostellerie Le Cèdre.

We sure hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in the near future again.

Raphaël MEYER, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed 1 night on business arriving at 6 pm. Front desk staff friendly and welcoming, helping guide a walk around Beaune to find some bars to taste the local product! Walk to centre of Beaune 5 - 10 mins max

Had an upgrade to Priviledge room which was spacious and with a very comfortable bed - slept well though this may have been the fabulous wine with dinner!!

Hotel restaurant is excellent and the tasting menu for €55 is a bargain for skilled cooking like this.

Would return if in the area again without hesitation

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank decourcy200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time of a comment. We are very happy of your positive feedback and sure hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future!

Raphaël MEYER, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
863 reviews
6.8 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
342 reviews
6.9 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#21 of 62 in Beaune
377 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ermitage de Corton
Ermitage de Corton
#1 of 1 in Chorey Les Beaune
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#23 of 62 in Beaune
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Le Cedre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Le Cedre

Address: 10 boulevard Marechal Foch, 21200, Beaune, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beaune
#7 Family Hotel in Beaune
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
Price Range: £152 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hostellerie Le Cedre 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Beaune, opposite the ramparts and 5 minutes walking distance from the Hospices de Beaune, Hostellerie Le Cedre is the ideal place to discover the area.Beautiful, shaded terraces in the heart of gardens full of 100-year old trees where you can enjoy the summer season and a comfortable lounge bar with a fireplace to warm yourself when winter has arrived.Le Cedre offers you 40 rooms perfect for dreaming and relaxing. Each one is different with its own personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hostellerie Le Cedre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Le Cedre Beaune
Hostellerie Le Cedre Hotel Beaune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing