We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient situation near to city centre”
Review of Hotel Des Remparts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Des Remparts
Ranked #23 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenient situation near to city centre”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Lovely old building with individual rooms. Only a couple of minutes walk to city centre, shopping and the sights. We managed to park on the street by the front door but there is other parking available. Staff very helpful as I had lost my camera in town (which I got back). Would definitely stay there again. Unfortunately the weather was awful but you can have your breakfast outside in a lovely courtyard and there is an enclosed courtyard where the kids sat and enjoyed a bottle of wine.

Room Tip: If you have a family we booked a room with a spiral staircase up to the kids twin room - we thought...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    114
    36
    11
    12
See reviews for
31
125
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel, the old theme is present throughout the hotel and is a plezant change from all the fancy new hotels. Nice service and a large room for a reasonable price. Unfortunately the beds are also old and ours wasn't as confortable as I had hoped. But never the less, a very nice hotel!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gilles g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I would give this hotel a 3.5 if I had that option. Everything was fine, the booking was handled professionally, and breakfast was satisfactory. Nothing stood out as particularly charming, surprisingly comfortable, or exciting, however, which is why I think the hotel is less than a 4.

We had a suite, which was large, but the interiors were a little dated. The staff was very efficient, but not very warm at first. They became warmer after awhile (and the older lady monitoring the desk when we were checking out wanted to give my girls hugs and kisses:).)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

It was great staying in another hotel that is part of historical France. The room was big and it felt like we were in a room in a castle or chalet. Yet, the modern updates were wonderful - it was great having a ceiling fan and the bathroom was a real pleasure! We were on the first floor courtyard, which made it feel like a home. The hotel is just a short walk to the heart of Beaune, so it is in an idea location.

Room Tip: First floor room is directly on the courtyard, so know that when you open the door or window, people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0J0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

after three weeks travel through France we came to our stop in Beaune to find the Hotel Des Remparts fitted the bill perfectly. We were met at the door by a very smart concierge/receptionist,who made us feel like returning guests. We only stayed one night but on reflection should have extended our stay. Wonderful courtyard to sit,relax and enjoy a lovely glass of the local wine,plenty to choose from! Breakfast was efficiently served to the table,unlike most places we stayed at which were buffet service,not in itself a problem,just that the little extra at the Remparts set it apart from the others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferran134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Despite the weird layout the hotel was very nice as the exceptional service nicely complimented the functional rooms. The hotel owners and staff were always available to assist us in any way including there delicious French breakfast. Although none of the rooms have the same layouts each room has a spacious bathroom, a decent size sleeping area, and nice windows that allow a breeze which kept our room clean. Because it is located within the old wall it is within walking distance to all of the sites.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steeler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I had a wonderful time in beaune, but my room in this hotel was definitely of questionable quality. I stayed with my sister in an attic room with a low ceiling (we both found ourselves hitting our heads on it!) The bathroom was pretty cramped too. However, several other members who were staying in different rooms had much more space and were more comfortable. The breakfast was good and the staff was hospitable, but overall, avoid the rooms on the third floor and it should be a better stay.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lakegirls4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Beaune Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Athanor
Hotel Athanor
#46 of 62 in Beaune
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel au Grand Saint Jean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#17 of 62 in Beaune
464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#21 of 62 in Beaune
495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Remparts

Property: Hotel Des Remparts
Address: 48 rue Thiers, 21200, Beaune, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Des Remparts 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Des Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Remparts Hotel
Des Remparts Beaune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing