We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for our family with young children”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cuverie de Citeaux

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Beaune, Cote d'Or, Bourgogne-Franche-Comte

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
EWLJ
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for our family with young children”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have recently returned from a week's holiday at the Cuverie with our family (two adults and three children aged 2, 4 and 5) and my parents. It is absolutely fabulous.
It is a very old building previously used to produce wine which has been very recently converted with serious style. The house itself is just gorgeous - an enormous open plan kitchen/dining/sitting room with stone floors, very cool furnishings with lots of clever use of original materials combined with industrial lighting etc, lots of light yet still retaining a warm, comfortable atmosphere. It makes you want to completely redecorate your own home and copy everything they have chosen...! They very kindly allowed me to buy one of the pictures that they had on the wall as I fell in love with it so much.
The house is slap bang in the middle of Savigny-les-Beaune - directly opposite an excellent butcher, with two bakers within 20metres, a grocers 10m away, several restaurants and a pizzeria, and the castle (with an enormous and slightly bizarre collection of old planes, cars, motorbikes and fire engines..) all within an easy 5 minute walk - not to mention loads of wine producers including an excellent "cremant" producer in the village. The village is completely charming - exactly how you would hope a little French village would be.
Savigny itself is perfectly located to explore the surrounding areas - a really easy drive to all the villages and towns that matter if you are there to taste wine - Beaune, Meursault, Puligny-Montrachet, Pommard etc etc. There are stacks of fabulous restaurants close by, many with Michelin stars (two of which we took the children to at lunchtime and they could not have been more accommodating, rustling up risotto/pasta for the children without me even having to ask whether they offer any sort of children's alternatives and no snootiness at all about having toddlers to eat - very impressive...).
The layout of the house was perfect for us - my parents stayed in the large and nicest bedroom/en suite which was next to the kitchen. My husband and I and our 3 children stayed in the 3 rooms at the other end of the building - they are brilliantly laid out as they are down a corridor (with a door closing it off from the living room so the children can't hear you in the evenings once they are in bed) and each have their own bathroom. The bathroom of one of the children's rooms was big enough for the travel cot, so we had the smallest in that bathroom, the other two in their own room each and us in our own room all in our own "section" of the house without disturbing grandparents at night - who were as a result fresh enough to take the children in the morning and give us a lie-in!
The swimming pool (not heated) has a clever security feature whereby once turned on if any child walks close to the pool it sets off an alarm to alert you.
We spent one day exploring and learning about the local vineyards with Kim Gagne who was recommended to us by Marie-Anne. I highly recommend doing this. It was really good fun, educational and you get to meet some vineyard owners and taste some wines that you would really struggle to find yourself. It was definitely the highlight of the week.
Marie-Anne arranged for a housekeeper to come in every morning for 3 hours which was great, and she also arranged a very charming babysitter who came two evenings and was totally capable (changed nappies and dealt with nonsense as required).
La Cuverie is a great find and we hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for you review . It is very interesting for me to see what you did especially appreciate . Thank you again for coming at our house in Savigny , and i sincerly hope to receive you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Charming stay in Savigny les Beuane”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My wife and I and some family stayed in this beautifully restored house in the centre of Savigny les Beaune. The location is superb as it is only a 5 minute drive from Beuane and located in the centre of Savigny les Beaune and perfectly located for touring the majestic grand cru trail. We only had to step next door to collect our freshly made croissants, baguettes and pain au chocolats in the morning. The front of the house has a 20 foot high wall which gives you great privacy and a lovely place to relax in the evening. The house itself is great for a group of 6 to 8 and we spent many evenings feasting together there, the kitchen has all the necessary equipment for cooking and there is also a barbeque. What we loved most about it though was the recommendations we got from the owner (Mme Puypéroux) for renting bikes, visiting the local wine producer (Mr Girard - a must) and restaurant recommendations which really completed the holiday. We had a wonderful time in Savigny les Beaune which was made all the more wonderful by staying in such charming house (and which is kept to a high standard) and we hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The spacious kitchen/dining area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for Burgundy Wine Visit”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The property is beautiful and practical. It is perfectly located with easy access to the cote de nuits and cote de beaune, also nicely situated in the center of town with boulangerie, charcuterie and epicerie right next door. The common areas are conducive to conversation and dining. The owner was practical and friendly - very helpful. We also loved that the house had been used as an active wine cellar. We definitely will come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location and decor
Liked least: The beds were way too firm, and were not made up as single large beds as requested
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mélanie C
Paris, France
1 review
“Beautiful house in Savigny-les-Beaune”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Our stay in the Cuverie de Citeaux has very enjoyable.
The mansion combines modernity and comfort with a specific design for each room as well as a bathroom in each of them, and the charm of the former traditional houses.

Moreover, a beautiful vaulted basement can be easily used to organise some dinners.This house benefits from both the exceptional location in the centre of the town and the calm provided by a large and beautiful garden on one side of the house and by a charming swimming pool on the other side.

We have been able to easily discover the charms of Burgundy with Beaune nearby and the possibility to rent bikes easily and to visit many vineyards.
We highly recommend this house for a calm and full of discovery stay.

Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila s
Paris, France
1 review
“Perfect way to discover beautiful Burgundy”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Lovely house- beautifully refurbished historical winery- and kind and helpful welcome from owners . Charming village with everything you need a few steps away. Beautiful region - the vineyards, the forests , the towns....And of course the wine- with cellars in the village or further afield . Lots of things to see and do. We had a great time .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and its setting
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2014
we were very pleased to receive you.
we hope to welcome you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tittine64
St-germain-en-laye, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing place in Burgundy”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

A charming place for a delightful weekend. You will find peace and quiet with a refined but contemporary comfort. There is swimming pool which is open in the warmer months. It is perfectly situated in the wonderful village if Savigny with easy access to shops, wine vaults and the many attractions of Burgundy. A magical way to enjoy the best of France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Charm, comfort and peacefull.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2014
Thanks for this nice review. we will be happy to wellcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie Ann...
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
Merci de votre mail et à bientôt à Savigny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$648
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing