We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless rooms.”
Review of Hotel Grillon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaune
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Grillon
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Konigswinter, Germany
Level Contributor
309 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Spotless rooms.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Location & premises:
================
About 1km to old town. Plenty of parking. Nice large yard. It was too cold outside (15 degrees Celsius), so we didn't use the pool. At night (after 10) access to the premises is through a keycoded gate and the house door is keycoded, too. All seems very safe. The garden is beautiful.

Reservation and reception:
======================
Quick email communication during reservation process. Friendly reception when we got there.

Room:
=====
We had a double room with a comfortable 1.6m bed on the first floor. There is no elevator, but the steps are easy and wide and not steep at all. The room had a small desk two chairs. The chairs are a bit uncomfortable but nice to look at. There is a tiny flat screen TV on the wall, we didn't use it. Room seemed newly renovated, very clean not worn out at all (wallpaper, windows etc). New electric sockets, the light switches still old. We didn't use the air conditioning as it was cold outside. The heating worked very well. Wifi is already in room next to the stairs very slow and you have to enter lots of personal data to the provider for access. There is no safe, and no fridge. Very nice tiled floor.

Bathroom:
=========
Also a very nicely tiled floor and is very well lit. The hair dryer small but efficient, however one of those where you constantly have to push a button for it to work. If you book a room with a bath, it really means "bath" i.e. no shower curtain. Grohe brand fixtures. Plenty of water and good pressure.

Breakfast:
========
The breakfast is continental, and my preference is full English, but as far as continental breakfasts go, this was very good. I don't do hot drinks so I got an extra orange juice which is something that rarely happens. Bread and croissants are served and very tasty. They bring seconds. Eggs you boil yourself. There were two cereals, joghurt and a selection of cheeses (6 different) and cold cuts (just 2 different). The jam with white wine was very nice. Also the breakfast room as a whole is nice (wintergarden).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling-Wolfgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartJo21, Propriétaire at Hotel Grillon, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you very much for your so long comment with so much details !
It takes you so much time during your holidays which must be so long for you ...
Also we hope that you had time enough to appreciated visiting Beaune and Burgundy area.
We hope to see you another time of course. We can offer you a different room may be a larger one.
Sorry for the weather ! you can't test the airco ...but we can't do anything about that..fortunately !
Regards. Martine GRILLON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    69
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
46
151
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed one night in this hotel while being on a cycling tour. The hotel has a very high Tripadvisor rating which I think is too high. The owners are very nice people and very helpful. It feels like a small, comfy, place. But the downside is: it is quite a walk to the city centre, it has no real shower (showerhead in the bathtub without anything to attach it to / no showercurtain), the sound isolation was not very good, the room was not very large. We also stayed one night in Hotel Le Paix in Beaune which has a much lower Tripadvisor rating but which I personally preferred.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annemiekexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartJo21, Propriétaire at Hotel Grillon, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Google Translation
La famille GRILLON vous remercie pour votre commentaire.
Néanmoins nous souhaitons vous préciser que notre hôtel possède des chambres avec de véritables douches et d'autres avec baignoires. L'agence qui avait organisé votre tour à vélos nous demande un tarif spécial et un type de chambre aussi.
Si vous avez entendu un peu de bruit, cela est indépendant du confort de notre maison.
Pour un futur séjour, nous vous conseillons de nous contacter directement afin de répondre au mieux à vos exigences.
Nous regrettons d'avoir du vous faire marcher 800mètres pour vous rendre en ville ! mais après quelques heures de vélo, cela peut se comprendre... Au plaisir de vous recevoir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is an old mansion that has been renovated into a small hotel. The owners run the hotel and they are very kind and accommodating. They gave us good suggestions for dining. There is a pool and the grounds are beautifully landscaped. The rooms are all different decorated with antiques but they have very modern bathrooms and comfortable beds.
It is a short walk from the city center. They have a security system so you feel safe at night.
I would go back again, if I were in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: They all were well located far enough from the street that you did not hear traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodycec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartJo21, Propriétaire at Hotel Grillon, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Family GRILLON is really very happy that you spent a lovely stay in our hotel in Beaune.
We hope to see you another time. Kind regards
Martine et Joël GRILLON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A gem of a boutique hotel ...close enough to walk into the old town of Beaune with it's many restaurants. Lovely gardens with a good sized pool to relax in after a days drive. Warm welcome from Madam Grillon who does speak English if needed. There is air con in the rooms (have to make sure the windows are closed before it operates) and never have had trouble with the free wifi in the rooms. I always request a room with a shower rather than bath which for some reason is always cheaper. Have stayed here on many occasions and the standard of the hotel never disappoints. Delicious buffet breakfast in the morning on the terrace if the sun is out otherwise in the conservatory. I preferred the steaming hot coffee and hot jugs of milk that used to be served at breakfast , now it is done by a self service machine . Ample free parking at the hotel with wheel chair/push chair access. Rooms stylishly decorated and priced accordingly to their two stars, however there are newly built suites by the pool if you wish to splash out...Will be going back in the summer...can't wait!!

Room Tip: If you wish to avoid the nozzle issue ask for a room with shower. Always nice to have a garden view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartJo21, Propriétaire at Hotel Grillon, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you so much !
We hope to see you again in our small family hotel GRILLON.
Kind regards
Famille GRILLON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed for 4 nights at Hotel Grillon. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful with well kept lawn and garden with little tables and benches strewn about. There is a good sized outdoor pool but it was too early in the season to use. The interior of the hotel is very well decorated with a lot of attention to detail. The hotel owner has had the hotel in her family for 30 odd years and seems to take a lot of pride in it, though was a bit overbearing at times. For example, one morning we decided to sleep in and got a call at 11am asking when we were leaving the room as they needed to clean. Still, she was very friendly any time we saw her at reception and was more than happy to provide any information we required.

Our room was very nicely decorated and clean with a lovely view out the back (request the garden side). Floor was tile which was disappointing but the bed was incredibly comfortable and the comforter was great as well. The bathroom was nice and spacious for French standards. The big downside was that the tub did not have a mounted shower head so you had to hold the nozel in your hand whilst showering which was quite bothersome. I can't understand why they wouldn't mount the nozel at a normal height as the cord was long enough.

The hotel is a few kms outside the city centre area so can be a bit of a bother to walk to at night after dinner but otherwise it's really not so bad. We had rented bikes so it was easy to access and not heavily trafficked. The biggest annoyance was having to obtain a wifi code for each device every single day as the code is only valid for 24 hrs which is a bit overboard on security in my opinion. The signal was also not good in our room so we often had to stand in the hallway to use it.

Overall we had a lovely time staying here and, despite some minor annoyances, would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suchaet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartJo21, Propriétaire at Hotel Grillon, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Google Translation
La famille Grillon et son personnel a apprécié votre commentaire et vous en remercie.
Toutes les remarques sont prises en considération et nous faisons toujours au mieux pour vous accueillir avec plaisir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I recently stayed at Hotel Grillon with my boyfriend and I loved it as soon as I walked through the door. It's a beautiful boutique hotel located close to the train station and grocery store. Madame Grillon is a lovely lady who's family has owned the hotel for 35 yrs. she was very welcoming upon our arrival. The room was very clean and on the garden side so very quiet. We wanted to go sit outside to have a picnic and drink some wine, but they have a rule against outside food and drink. The bathroom didn't have a shower, just a shower nozzle which I'm really not a fan of. But they have delicious breakfast u can get for 10 euro a day. It was also close to the main square. Hopefully we'll be back in Beaune one day and we can stay here again.

Room Tip: Each room is designed differently so you can go online and view each room and pick which one you wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartJo21, Propriétaire at Hotel Grillon, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you very much from family GRILLON.
We will be very happy to see you again in our hotel in Beaune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieppe, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Familly-owned welcoming hotel with comfortable rooms in quiet surroundings. We stayed in one of the suites and found it perfect to unwind after our days of exploring the Burgundy countryside and wine tasting. Located close to Beaune's main attractions but far enough to avoid crowds and noise. We found the free parking very convenient and loved the beautiful surrounding gardens. Hosts went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The full breakfast with homemade jams and cakes was perfect to set us off to a good day of exploration.

Room Tip: Suite was perfect for a week long stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collibri2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartJo21, Propriétaire at Hotel Grillon, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Google Translation
La famille GRILLON est ravie que vous ayez passé un excellent séjour dans leur hôtel.
Elle continuera avec plaisir à vous y accueillir. Cordiales salutations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
809 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Beaune Centre
0.9 mi away
Novotel Beaune
Novotel Beaune
#9 of 62 in Beaune
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#4 of 62 in Beaune
594 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel le Clos
Hotel le Clos
#1 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
305 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#13 of 62 in Beaune
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grillon

Property: Hotel Grillon
Address: 21 route de Seurre, 21200, Beaune, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Beaune
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grillon 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Grillon Hotel Beaune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing