We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Gourmandin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaune
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Gourmandin
Ranked #51 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

As previous reviewers have said, this is essentially a restaurant with a couple of nice rooms upstairs. The rooms are smartly decorated but for 140 euros a night - it's not good value for money. Yes it is in the centre of town (Rue Carnot) but the downside of that means parking is impossible so you can park for free about 10 mins walk away but you still need to deal with luggage. Being so central also means it can be noisy if you have been travelling all day and could do with a quiet, early night - that can be difficult if there is a music festival in the park until late! The market starts early Sat morning so if staff don't mention this, your car can get caught up among the tables and be issued with a ticket. Also only being able to check-in between certain times is fine - but again if staff aren't there during those time you can waste a lot of time waiting around so you can get to your room. We didn't eat at the restaurant in the end which seemed to annoy the owners - so overall given the price I would say pass on this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonRoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    19
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
19
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Le Gourmandin is a restaurant first with rooms second and as long as you remember this you wont be disappointed.

Its slap in the centre of Beaune which makes it the ideal place to explore the town's shops, alleyways and restaurants. You can get out to the Cote d'Or major wine areas easily as well. Meursault is very close by as are Nuits St George and Gevrey Chambertin.

The room was suitable for our purpose - as a base, but I wouldn't say it was easy to reach and the wi-fi wasn't functional (if that's important to you).

We ate twice at the restaurant and enjoyed both meals.

If you are driving beware the one-way system in Beaune. There is on street parking only but that was free after 7pm and before 9am. The market is on Saturday so its harder to park near the hotel that morning.

I'd go back to the same place again, I think.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Just stayed one night as a stopover on the way to the south......it did.....hot water was a tad sparse for a shower even after we asked for it to be 'turned on'. Ideally set in the centre of Beaune although it was a bit noisy early Sat morning with street cleaners and market traders setting up - not, of course, the fault of Hotel Gourmandin......make sure you don't arrive between 16:00 and 18:00 as the 'Hotel' is just 2 rooms above the owners restaurant and the restaurant is closed between those times. The room itself was adequate, bathroom OK......wouldn't want to stay there for more than one night especially as parking is a minor problem.....but as I said: it did!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenbeenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoutleeuw, Belgium
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Yes this hotel has 1 plus: the room. It's trendy, you have 2 kingsize beds, bathroom is more than OK, it is new and gives a nice look. That is all the positive. The entrance is near the hotel and starts with stares, stares, stares (not usefull when you have a suitcase). The room is noisy, in front you have the Place Carnot in the front the restaurant. Floors and sealings are in wood, so at night, when your above neighbours arrive, you will notice.
Breakfast is very poor. For 10 Euro per person you get an orange juice (from a brick), one coffee, one croissant and one (small) piece of bread. Be smart, have your breakfast with the bakery (who is a neighbour).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beaune hotels

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

An absolute gem and a great find. We spent a night there en route back to the UK after a week climbing and mountaineering in Chamonix, under canvas. The room was very well appointed, and we had a wonderful view over the square.

The staff in the resturant (of which the 2 room hotel is part) where very helpful; of particular note the mineral water was included with the room and just kept coming. We even got a few alcoholic drinks free as well.

The location couldn't be better - less than 5 mins from the Hospice, and within a minutes walk of a number of the wine "caves", and lots of cafes and bars within easy reach. We stayed on a Sunday, and although there is no dedicated parking, parking in the square is free on a Sunday, and for €2 you can park until 1015 on the Monday.

The resturant downstairs was very good, if a little pricey (especially the wine list!). Thoroughly recommend the hotel, and the town. Would definately visit again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesmorgan19812010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

We stayed in one of the few rooms this unrated Hotel/Restaurant has to offer. It is situated in probably the best part of Beaune, the Burgandy capital. The experience on arrival is just like a roller coaster. You see the place and think, wow this is pretty. You enter the hotel to be welcomed by a steep flight of stairs. If your room is the one on the second floor, just when you think you've made it up the stairs, you are greeted by yet another flight of stairs. By now, you think to yourself, oh God, where have I booked? You arrive at you room to finally be pleasently surprised with a seriously beautifull room overlooking the square. The room standard surpasses the quality of many much higher rated Hotels with an equally high standard bath and shower room. Owner as well as staff are extremely pleasent. If you are fortunate to wake up at this hotel on a Saturday (and possibly this applies on other days too), you walk out of the hotel straight into a beautifull market place, the likes of which, I at least, have never seen. If I were to be critical, the airconditioning is a bit too loud. Nonetheless, this did not ruin our sleep and I fully recommend this place. It is a rare jewel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FieroJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

We stayed for 3 nights (Friday-Sunday) at Le Gourmandin in Beaune. We selected this accommodation because of its price, the photos (which showed a lovely room) and the location, right in town.

For 120 euros per night, we were pleasantly surprised at the furniture and fixtures in the room. It was clear that the room had been remodeled with quality in mind and they didn't skimp on the furnishings. The bed was large and comfortable and we really liked the wood dresser, headboard and wardrobe. There was ample storage space, a safe and a flat screen TV.

Other things we liked:
Location: right in the center of town with a view of the park and carousel.
Parking was convenient.
A bathtub and Villeroy & Boch sink

Things We Didn't Like:
1. The noise: it was worst on Friday night and lasted until after midnight. We heard the patrons socializing at tables underneath our window (long after the restaurant had closed), the outside tables being chained to the chairs at closing the owners and motorcycles driving around Place Carnot at night.
2. No refrigerator or Internet access. The Internet access turned out to be a bigger deal than expected because we were only able to find 1 cafe in all of Beaune that offered it.
3. The room plug-in air freshener. It was strong and we didn't like it - and unfortunately, even though we unplugged it, it was re-plugged in after the room was cleaned daily.

When we arrived, we were given the key at the restaurant and had no further contact with the owners until we asked how to handle check-out several days later. This was both a positive and a negative to us. The positive in that we were free to come and go as we pleased without turning in a key. The negative in that we were so anonymous that we had to re-identify ourselves as guests (they only have 2 rooms) when we wanted to settle the bill. It also would have been helpful to have someone to ask questions about - like how you get English speaking stations on the TV. There was apparently a way, but we couldn't figure it out.

All in all, this was a pleasant, if unusual, accommodation and the positives outweighed the negatives if you can live with the probablility of noise at night.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baileyfirestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#53 of 62 in Beaune
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athanor
Hotel Athanor
#44 of 62 in Beaune
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Des Remparts
Hotel Des Remparts
#28 of 62 in Beaune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
L'Hotel De Beaune
L'Hotel De Beaune
#26 of 62 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel au Grand Saint Jean
0.2 mi away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#17 of 62 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gourmandin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gourmandin

Property: Le Gourmandin
Address: 8 Place Carnot, 21200, Beaune, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing