We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for the price”
Review of Hotel de la Cloche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de la Cloche
Ranked #37 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Beaune was absolutely beautiful and this was definitely a hotel that was there. The location was pretty great, about two minutes from the city center. The rooms were a decent size and the staff was very pleasant. Our only problem was that there was a musty odor about the place that was kind of off-putting.

Still though, good price for the location. The smell might have just been weird anomaly while we were there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldelacloche, Responsable réception at Hotel de la Cloche, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Madam, Dear SIr,

Thank you very much to have took the time to comment your stay on our hotel.
We appreciated all you talk about.
You have know also, that we are so sorry for the odor in your room, if I knew this, I will try to do something for you.
We hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Beaune.

Best regards,

Bérengère

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

A pleasant hotel very close to the centre of Beaune. Walking distance to the markets on Saturday. Great cafés and brasseries close by. Breakfast available in hotel if you are not sick of croissants. Very pleasant and friendly staff. So good we returned for a second stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room. A quiet little hotel very close to the heart of Beaune. Rooms are quite dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motherinlawSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldelacloche, Responsable réception at Hotel de la Cloche, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comment on our hotel, we appreciated it. We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible.
Best regards,

Bérengère

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a modestly priced classic French hotel in a good location within easy walking distance of the old town and private parking. Rooms were clean and tidy and the staff friendly. Very good fresh breakfast. Perfect for a stopover or couple of days in the town.
It doesn't have the best facilities/rooms in the world, but reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSATLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldelacloche, Responsable réception at Hotel de la Cloche, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comment on our hotel, it is important for us.
We hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Beaune.
Best regards,

Bérengère

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was our second stay at the Hotel De La Cloche, which is affordable, conveniently located within easy walking distance of Beaune town centre & provides secure parking. We chose a 'comfort' room off the central courtyard, & it was quiet & spacious with exposed beams & a large comfortable bed. The hotel offers free WiFi & reception in our room was good. However, the furnishings in the room were tired & some basic maintenance is needed, e.g. one of the wardrobe handles was very loose.

Breakfast was simple & repetitive - even the same types of jam each day - but the quality was high & the service friendly & efficient. We particularly enjoyed the fresh, buttery croissants & excellent coffee.

There is a wide range of restaurants nearby although many of these are expensive. We would recommend Le Belena for good, affordable food, with excellent Belgian beer on tap.

Room Tip: The 'comfort' rooms are quiet & spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdmcg47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldelacloche, Responsable réception at Hotel de la Cloche, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your comment on our hotel. Youa re right for the comfort room, there are quiet and spacious and we program also to renove it this winter. We renove some rooms every year to have a better welcoming.
For the breakfast, you are right again, we prefer to choose good product and to serve it each day and not to change.
We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible.
Best regards,
Bérengère

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

stayed a few days to explore beaune on a solo provence trip... rooms were around a central paved courtyard; safe, quiet & clean but no historic atmosphere... nice breakfast and service... located across the street from a square with nice restaurants and an easy walk to historic area... i would look for another hotel w/ atmosphere but otherwise this is a nice place

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauren728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldelacloche, Responsable réception at Hotel de la Cloche, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comment on our hotel.
Our rooms are not classic or modern like on the other hotel, we try to give a good atmosphere.
We hope that your stay were nice and it will be a pleausre to welcome you on your next stay in Beaune.
Best regards,

Bérengère

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at the Hotel De La Cloche for one night on our way to the Alps for a skiing holiday. The hotel lived up to expectations. The rooms were in the courtyard and were reasonably simply furnished but clean and nice. The beds were comfortable. One of the reasons we chose the hotel was because of the secure parking in the courtyard as we had a fully loaded car and this was as expected. Breakfast was nice and there was a good choice. The hotel is also in a good location to walk into Beaune and experience one of the very many restaurants locally. So overall we got what we expected and enjoyed our stay at the Hotel De La Cloche.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ever_hopeful2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldelacloche, Responsable réception at Hotel de la Cloche, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur,

Nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire qui est très important pour nous.
Nous espérons vous accueillir de nouveau prochainement dans notre hôtel.
Bien cordialement,
Bérengère

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We changed our plans at the last minute and decided to take a two day trip to the Burgundy region and literally walked into the lobby and booked a room for 2 nights. This hotel is a great value with very large, clean and comfortable rooms. The location is outstanding being just one block south of the city circle (street that circles downtown Beaune, France. We loved being within a 5 - 10 minute walk of all the great shops, cafes and restaurants in Beaune. Additionally, the hotel staff gave us some terrific recommendations on winery tours, etc. Being along the Rue de Madeleine (street) was perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back where you get a private courtyard to yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgardier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldelacloche, Responsable réception at Hotel de la Cloche, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Madam, Dear sir,
Thank you so much for your comment and advice on our hotel.
It is very important for us and your comment is exactly what we want for our clients.
We hope to welcome you as soon as possible.
Regards,
Bérengère

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel au Grand Saint Jean
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#16 of 62 in Beaune
486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athanor
Hotel Athanor
#47 of 62 in Beaune
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#28 of 62 in Beaune
469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#22 of 62 in Beaune
515 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel le Clos
Hotel le Clos
#1 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cloche

Address: 42 rue du Faubourg Madeleine, 21200, Beaune, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Price Range: £71 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Cloche 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel de la Cloche is a beautiful mansion located in the charming buildings of a former coaching inn from the 16th century with a lovely garden. Only a three minute walk away from the town centre we are glad to welcome you in this old residence with historical caracter. The peaceful setting, the quality of welcome and the many tourist sites will make up a very pleasant memory of your stay. The warm and family atmosphere of our hotel will charm you. The whole team of the Hotel de la Cloche wishes you a good stay in Beaune ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de la Cloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing