We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beaune Hotel option”
Review of Hotel de la Cloche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de la Cloche
Ranked #37 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Hotel De La Cloche was a really nice little place right near the heart of Beaune. I'm pretty sure that no two rooms are alike (the hotel itself is in an historic building off a central square). It has good protected parking within an open air enclosure as well. Wi-Fi was part of the room rate which was really nice. Breakfast is simple but really good - very French (in a very good way) and the coffee provided a nice jump-start to the day.

Within a very short walk is the heart of Beaune - less than 5 minutes away - with many restaurants and shops to try. It is also a great rendez-vous point for any tours you may be considering.

Some of the rooms are up stairs which is a small challenge if you're carrying a heavy suitcase. There are a few ground-level rooms with private terraces which were really pleasant, too.

I would happily stay there again when I come back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wm_Archer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldelacloche, Responsable réception at Hotel de la Cloche, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Sir,

It was a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel and it is a pleasure to read your comment on because you have understand all our history and hotel. Thank you. We are very happy that you enjoy your stay.

We are waiting to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Bérengère

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here for one night with our two small kids on our way down to the south of France. The hotel is just outside of Beaune town centre in a lovely spot with great parking.

The room we stayed in was huge! The bathroom was also enormous. More importantly it was all clean, tidy and we couldn't fault it at all. The breakfast was also very good. For 11 euros you get a huge amount of croissants and bread as well as a buffet style continental breakfast. The only downside was that the kids also had to pay 11 euros each for the breakfast. We would definitely stay here again, the staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldelacloche, Responsable réception at Hotel de la Cloche, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment on our hotel, we are very happy that you had appreciated your stay in our hotel.
It was a real pleasure to welcome and we will do it again as soon as possible.
We will think about the breakfast for child also.

Best regards,

Bérengère

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We traveled to Beaune to go on a spectacular wine tasting tour and stayed the night at this hotel. This was a nice hotel with a good size room and bathroom with a separate entrance facing a garden area. There was a space to eat right outside the room and we were in walking distance of restaurants/shops. As we spent most of our time in Beaune on the tour, we did not get to see much of the town but was impressed with this hotel and the comfort it provided. We did have to wait a bit to get checked in (no one was at the desk right away) but not too long. Breakfast was a buffet and it was okay, definitely liked the various jams to try and the variety of breads/pastries. Given we did not have too much time to go searching for breakfast, it was convenient but would recommend seeing if there are other options in the area if you want something more that a small buffet. Nice stop and would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctthrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldelacloche, Responsable réception at Hotel de la Cloche, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment on our hotel, we really appreciated it and we are happy that you have took a good time here.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we will do it again as soon as possible.
Best regards,

Bérengère

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here for an overnight stop on the way to Italy as a convenient break point for the journey. The hotel has a private parking space at the rear giving a feeling of security compared to the free public parking on the square opposite - worth a few Euros for peace of mind if you have a car full of possessions for your holiday!
Reception friendly and helpful. The room unexciting but perfectly good for an overnight stop and clean and quiet.
It is just a few minutes walk into the centre of BEAUNE which is just fabulous with great restaurants and a lovely atmosphere. There are plenty of places to choose to eat and several really good choices just a stone's throw from the hotel.
Breakfast was good and typically French (just what we wanted at the start of our holiday) and the cost not too bad. We will definitely stay here again as and when we go back for a visit to BEAUNE itself which this stop reminded us is an excellent port of call.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Darryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldelacloche, Responsable réception at Hotel de la Cloche, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment on our hotel, we really appreciated it. It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to do it again as soon as possible.

Best regards,

Bérengère

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed 4 nights here: the hotel has a great location, overlooking a square, a few minutes walk from the walls and little further to walk to the centre of Beaune. The square is a free car park, but it looks better than that might sound. The layout of the hotel reflects the old building, but we were in room 9, which looks out to the side of the hotel. This room was good and comfortable, if a bit old-fashioned, and we slept well: it's probably a bit larger than many of the rooms, because inside the room it had a wide corridor past the bathroom to the bedroom itself. Service was generally helpful and polite, apart from one minor exception at breakfast. The breakfasts had a good choice. We'll stay here again if returning to Beaune

Room Tip: Room 9 is recommended - see above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verulam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldelacloche, Responsable réception at Hotel de la Cloche, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comment on our hotel, room, breakfast...
We hope to welcome you as soon as possible.

Best regards,

Bérengère

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here one night on the way through France. The hotel has a lot of character although the decor in the room was a little dated. The bedroom was an adequate size whereas the bathroom was huge. Bed was comfortable.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Location is great, very close to the centre of town so easy walking distance. Plenty of restaurants to choose from and also some good shops.

Private secure parking around the back was extra.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_B055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldelacloche, Responsable réception at Hotel de la Cloche, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your very good comment on our hotel, it is very important for us.
We are happy that your stay was good and we hope to welcome you as soon as possible.

Best regards,

Bérengère

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Based on the map I used when booking, this hotel was not as close to the station as I thought and was a little mor difficult to find however, it's in a great location to the city center and very convient to everything! No lift so I was lucky to be on the first floor. Room 4 has a window that looks out over the street so it's nice to be able to look out a see people moving about.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldelacloche, Responsable réception at Hotel de la Cloche, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comment.
We are at 10min walking distance from the train station and 3 min walking distance from the center.
We hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Beaune,

Best regards,

Bérengère

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#16 of 62 in Beaune
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel au Grand Saint Jean
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athanor
Hotel Athanor
#48 of 62 in Beaune
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#21 of 62 in Beaune
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#27 of 62 in Beaune
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Des Remparts
Hotel Des Remparts
#29 of 62 in Beaune
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cloche

Address: 42 rue du Faubourg Madeleine, 21200, Beaune, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Price Range: £71 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Cloche 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel de la Cloche is a beautiful mansion located in the charming buildings of a former coaching inn from the 16th century with a lovely garden. Only a three minute walk away from the town centre we are glad to welcome you in this old residence with historical caracter. The peaceful setting, the quality of welcome and the many tourist sites will make up a very pleasant memory of your stay. The warm and family atmosphere of our hotel will charm you. The whole team of the Hotel de la Cloche wishes you a good stay in Beaune ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel de la Cloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing