We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Etap Stopover Hotel: Good for budget couples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ibis Budget Bourg en Bresse
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bourg-en-Bresse
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We'd stayed at ETAP hotels last year on the other side of France and because we have been splurging on meals and scrimping on lodging, we stuck with budget hotels on this trip too. The hotel is standard Etap fare: smallish rooms, minimal staff, basic breakfast. If you want a place that's cheap (I mean, it's under 50 Euros for cryin' out loud), clean and secure then this fits the bill. If you travel heavy, you may find the room space limiting, but if you go with a backpack or duffel each, space isn't a problem. Mrs B describes Etap (which was recently bought out by IBIS and is now rebranded as IBIS-Budget) as a room inspired by the sleeping tubes on a Japanese bullet train and decorated by IKEA. That is one succinct appraisal!

It's also a good base to explore Beaujolais and the area around Bresse. BTW: be sure and eat some Bresse Chicken while you're in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheBrainiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

Best Etap I have stayed in. Rooms great. Staff great. Can't fault it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadeleineJ306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I stopped here for one night en route between Italy and UK. Basic, but perfectly acceptable for what I wanted. A good price, and convenient for the motorway (although I noticed that at the next motorway services heading north there is an Etap Motel).
Beware if you're staying Sunday night like I did; the restaurant next door won't be open, and after asking at the hotel and then cruising around the outskirts of Bourg for 45 minutes, all that I could find open was a MacDonalds and a dreadful self-service motorway services type place. I decided that I would rather go hungry.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterandanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

A convenient stop in a quiet part of the town and fairly easy to find. A grill/pizzeria is immediately adjacent to the hotel for a evening meal. The family room was clean with basic facilities (no kettle); plenty of parking available. Breakfast a little more than just 'continental', with a good choice of breads, patisseries and drinks. Although the information provided said reception would not be manned after 9.00 pm at the weekends, a receptionist was on duty and courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gratco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Despite this hotel being on an industrial estate, it was very comfortable. We had to split up the family - dad and son in one room, daughter and myself in another. However all the amenaties in the room were robust and worked well, excellent shower (debatable loo). Restaurant across the road was OK (for one night). Too far really from the centre of Bourg En Bresse to walk into the centre but it was only a stop over for us. Beds very comfortable, area nice and quite and continental breakfast was good too. First time in an Etap but I would use them again as a one night stop over.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MomDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Milto Keynes
1
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Hotel is 1.9km from centre - off the ring road and relatively easy to find. It is NOT 19 km as on the Accor print out. Hotel manager was however, VERY helpful with correct directions to this out of town purpose built trading estate location. (like so many in France - so not unusual). Grill restaurant nearby did good food and is recommended, as is this hotel for an overnight stay and where a countryside view is less important than a good nights sleep. Breakfast good. As in all these types of stop-over. One needs to be up early next morning to get the best from what they have to offer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourg-en-Bresse
1.4 mi away
Ibis Bourg en Bresse Hotel
Ibis Bourg en Bresse Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
173 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premiere Classe Bourg En Bresse - Montagnat
1.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Bourg en Bresse
Ibis Styles Bourg en Bresse
#6 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure Bourg En Bresse
Hotel Mercure Bourg En Bresse
#4 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
411 reviews
3.3 mi away
Alys Hotel
Alys Hotel
#2 of 2 in Montagnat
128 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fasthotel Bourg En Bresse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Bourg en Bresse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Bourg en Bresse

Address: Avenue de Parme | ZAC des Belouses, 01000, Bourg-en-Bresse, France (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Bourg-en-Bresse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bourg-en-Bresse
Price Range: £37 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibis Budget Bourg en Bresse 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Budget Bourg en Bresse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing