We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place on our way to the Alps”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Bourg En Bresse
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bourg-en-Bresse
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
234 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Perfect place on our way to the Alps”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

This hotel is slightly off the main road to the Alps, in one of the outskirts of Bourg-en-Bresse. Taking the price per night into account, the beds were really comfortable!

A plus to this hotel is the secure parking place next to the hotel, locked at night. A negative is the fact that the front-desk employee was also in charge of the hotel bar, but not too keen on this. It made us nearly feel guilty to order another round. The hotel restaurant serves a lovely Bresse chicken dish for an affordable price. Breakfast is extensive for the French but slightly disappointing in international perspective.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard for a quite night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moramare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    185
    73
    16
    7
See reviews for
93
109
19
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

I arrived in a snowstorm at 10.30 p.m. without a reservation. The Hotel Mercure is on one of the radial routes into the charming French town of B-en-B.

The reception staff humoured my Z level Freench and discreetly switched to English and were friendly and welcoming. There was a pleasant ambiance. And a getting a good meal that late was no problem.

The room was lovely, albeit the pretty view of a town snowscape would not be year-round. Warm and well organised, with a touch of Gallic flair in the decor.

Breakfast was memorably good, although not included in price agreed the night before.

A very short stay, but enough for a recommendation

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed for one night en-route to the Alps and found the hotel conveniently located to the auto-route. It is a business hotel and lacks a personal touch but is fit for purpose.

The room was located in a newer part of the hotel to rear of the hotel with a somewhat small and slow lift taking you to the upper floors, quicker to use the stairs (fire escape). The car park is free and secure at night.The room slept 4 with a double bed for us and a sofa bed for our 2 children. This saves quite a bit as we have had to book 2 rooms at other hotels in the past. The room appeared to be new or recently revamped and the quality of the bathroom was good. We all had a good sleep as were some distance from reception and the main road.

We had dinner in the hotel as it is a reasonable driving distance from the centre of town and after a full days driving we didn't feel like another journey in the car. Interestingly the menu enfant was good value with 3 courses and enough food to keep most adults happy. For the adults we had some savoury snacks and olives served while we waited for our main course, the food was of a good standard and was accompanied with bread. We had a glass of good wine each and some sparkling mineral water. By the time you add all of this up you have probably we spent between 80 and a 100 Euros. The breakfast was reasonable (kids go free) but the layout of the self service tables resulted in a bit of congestion during the morning peak. The service was friendly and efficient at both the restaurant and the front desk.

I would use this hotel again for a stop over.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anglo-australian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Bourg en Bresse makes a good overnight stop either travelling to or from the Italian Alps and is on the main road in from the A40 autostrada and fairly close to the town centre. receptionist welcoming and very helpful. Room comfortable with everything you need for an overnight stop or a short stay. Buffet Breakfast with plenty of choice including cold meats, cheese, boiled eggs yoghurts and fruit, bread, croissants and conserves. There is a Casino supermarket and Carrefour within 3km both with cheap diesel and petrol (you can save about 20c per litre over autoroute filling station prices).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacksieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, Kent.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

A mediocre hotel rescued by its restaurant. Tries to be a superior grade, but doesn’t achieve it. Room was small and dull, no fridge and a very odd toilet arrangement which made the “approach” awkward. On the plus side the bed was comfy and the air-con worked fine.
A busy business hotel seemingly geared more to provide for seminars and presentations than residential guests. We were given a ground floor room on the same level as reception; those rooms nearest reception could have suffered noise as there is no door separating the two areas.
The restaurant is very good and of such quality that it was the dining highlight of our holiday. Breakfast is poor value and not recommended.
Two disabled parking spaces near the door, but taken when we were there by those too idle to walk from the car park.
Had a couple of beers before dinner, a 25cl one and another half filled at our request. The following morning they insisted on charging for two 25cl beers, and would not budge, saying they charged by the glass not how much was in it. Left with the feeling that a little flexibility on the hotel’s part would have improved the experience. Difficult to recommend as a travelling stop, perhaps we were not the market they were after.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavillion-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flayosc, France
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Ok, so it's a fairly anonymous chain hotel but, it has well appointed rooms and a very decent restaurant. It's not often you find tea / coffee making facilities in a French hotel or a mini bar which is stocked with complimentary bottles of cold water. The bathroom and shower was very smart.
The restaurant was large and busy but the service attentive and the food was of a good quality.
My stay, by myself en route from Provence to UK, was booked on a half board basis which meant the 2 course dinner, breakfast and bed was 116 euros. Value for money in a chain hotel a cut above the run of the mill!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshmanabroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bourg-en-Bresse hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel de France
BEST WESTERN Hotel de France
#4 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Bourg en Bresse Hotel
Ibis Bourg en Bresse Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Griffon d'Or
Hotel Le Griffon d'Or
#1 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Le Logis de Brou
Le Logis de Brou
#5 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kyriad Bourg En Bresse
Kyriad Bourg En Bresse
#7 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Bourg en Bresse
Ibis Styles Bourg en Bresse
#6 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure Bourg En Bresse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Bourg En Bresse

Property: Hotel Mercure Bourg En Bresse
Address: 10 avenue de Bad Kreuznach, 01000, Bourg-en-Bresse, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Bourg-en-Bresse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bourg-en-Bresse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mercure Bourg En Bresse 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the outskirts of Lyon at the crossroads of three motorways and nestled between the Bourgogne and Savoie regions, Bourg-en-Bresse is served by the TGV high speed train and represents an ideal stopover point for travellers to Geneva, Northern Italy, the Alps, or the Mediterranean. Marguerite of Austria, a key figure in European history, chose this site to build the Royal monastery of Bour, a flamboyant neo-gothis architectural masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mercure Bourg En Bresse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing