We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Private Tour to Royal Monastery of Brou and Pérouges
1

Book in advance
from
£696.39
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Google
Ways to Experience Monastere Royal de Brou
from £696.39
More Info
Reviews (1,085)
Filter reviews
1,085 results
Traveller rating
753
280
42
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
753
280
42
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio guide interesting place architecture church cloisters peace reigns
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 1,085 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2017

Beautiful roof and the park. Inside the stonework is really elaborate. Larger than expected, put some time aside to see this.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Glbtrttr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2017

The church that is part of the Monastere is really worth the trip.
Flemish gothic style and extremely well conserved the Monastere really shows what is was build for --- gratitude to God to keep the husband alive and Love.
If you can wait for the guide to give you explanations while visiting --- our guide made the visit outstanding

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Our group left Lyon by bus with our charming guide, Virginie, for the Monastery Royal de Brou. The monastery turned out to be a huge church and other buildings (completed in 1532) that was the only structure in France in the Flemish gothic style. It was an impressive monument to a woman’s love for her husband of only three years. While at the monastery we learned about the sad life of Margaret of Austria who, being a wealthy noble woman, was married off at the age of the 3 to the heir to French throne, repudiated by him when she was 11, then married to a son of the Spanish king at 19, widowed after 6 months and, finally able to control her own life, chose for herself the Duke of Savoy, with whom she was actually in love. When widowed again she chose to remain a widow, in memory her husband but also probably to retain control of her life!

We enjoyed seeing the church, which had been protected from revolutionaries by local people who had covered the main part with hay and kept animals in the rest. We were sorry, however, for the 12 monks who had the job of praying for the 3 royals buried in the church – one hour every three hours for 24/7! The gift shop had a medieval theme and many of us bought things, some for grandchildren.

Date of experience: October 2016
3  Thank Kitaiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

The craftmanship in this church and monestary is quite breathtaking. Both the stone masonry on the building and the sculpturing of the crypts. Do make the detour if you are in the vicinity. I also liked the way they use the monestary as an art gallery.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Kwassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We stopped here to escape the rain and found ourselves in a fascinating story of love, power and grief. The architecture is stunning and the carvings are amazing. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank spacemagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews