We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 22:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience Authentica Tours
from US$149.23
More Info
from US$74.62
More Info
from US$192.28
More Info
from US$97.57
More Info
Reviews (662)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
529
48
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
529
48
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private tour grand cru passion tour wine tour full day tour his knowledge burgundy region de nuits wine making premier cru highlight of our trip different wines small group would highly recommend this tour great tour bourgogne romanee conti
Filter
Updating list...
464 - 469 of 587 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2011

This was our first time to France and we chose Burgundy by studying options on the internet. We had started with a week in Paris, and then wanted a more rural experience for our last 3 days. So we settled on taking a train to Dijon, and then on to our accommodations in Chambolle Musigny. As one of the first things to do, we decided to take a tour of the area.

Trip Advisor listed Authentica Tours as their #1 thing to do in Dijon, so that's who we called. We had one of the partners in the firm, Emmanuel Castro, and he was amazing. Born and raised in the area, he was so knowledgeable and seemed to know everyone. It was supposed to be a 2 1/2 hour tour, but he actually was with us for about 4 hours.

To top it all off, he was able to arrange for us to have a gourmet dinner at one of the Chateaus in the area hosted by the owners of this very prestigious vineyard. An unforgettable meal and evening that lasted from 7 PM to midnight. A night my wife and I will never forget.

If, and I hope it's when, we return to Dijon, our first order of business will be to book a trip with Authentica and ask for Emmanuel to be our guide!

Date of experience: June 2011
1  Thank PastorTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We spent the day with Tracy learning about the Burgundy wine region. She was very knowledgeable about the region and the history and we did learn a lot. However, we were a little disappointed not to spend more time visiting wineries and tasting the wines. We did visit one family run winery which was very nice. We spent some time in Beaune over lunch but unfortunately many of the shops had closed for lunch. I would recommend this tour for learning about the region, but if you are keen on wine tasting, this one may not be for you.

Date of experience: May 2011
4  Thank klbrooks05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
authenticatour, Propriétaire at Authentica Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Bonjour,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention as we keen to respond to all our feedback. You chose the tour ‘Passion’ where you were able to taste 7 wines at the home of a winegrower not generally open to the public.

Free time in Beaune, historic wine capital of Burgundy, is also part of this tour where you have the opportunity to visit numerous tasting cellars of the town on your own. Our ‘Passion’ tour is the most comprehensive of our tours as it presents not only the wines of Burgundy but its countryside, its architecture and history, its gastronomy and so forth.

We regret that we did not advise you towards the ‘Burgundy’ tour, a specialist wine tour including an introduction to wine tasting, 2 extensive wine tastings and a full explanation of wine making in Burgundy, as this would have been more suitable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Guide was friendly, funny and very well informed. We enjoyed the sites and wine tasting immensely. It was pouring so he suggested a rain plan instead of a tour of a medieval town. Brilliant, we did the Marche aux Vin and visited the hospice d Beaune instead which was wonderful.

Thank Kittenkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

My wife & I drove to Dijon from the Auvernge Region to take this tour. We were not disappointed, as our guide Nicolas Guidard (fluent in English) was a knowledgeable and pleasant host. We thought we knew about French wines, but Nicolas added significantly to our understanding and appreciation. We enjoyed his comments about the Dijon area so much we decided to stay an extra day, and Nicolas went out of his way to achieve a hotel reservation for us. When we come back to the Burgundy area, we will definitely use Nicolas and Authentica again.

Date of experience: May 2011
1  Thank jrhigginsjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We just got back from France and would like to thank Emmanuel again for a wonderful afternoon exploring a small part of the Burgundy region. I had always dreamt of visiting Flavigny-Sur-Ozerain where "Chocolat" was filmed and, although mother nature didn't co-operate, we managed to take a few pictures. Our walk through Semur- en- Auxois was a highlight,such a beautiful village. I wish he had been with us when we visited Beaune and Tournus... Thanks again

Date of experience: May 2011
Thank SuzonMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews