We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and Refreshing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Dijon
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Modern and Refreshing”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I recently stayed in this renovated Best Western property and found it to be quaint yet modern. The staff was friendly and attentive and were quick to come to my room for repairs and wifi concerns. However, my room was a bit small and the toilet kept running. The staff did though fix the water tank.

This is definitely a nice and clean hotel for all travelers. If you are a looking for luxury though, this would not be the place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaEvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    162
    54
    20
    10
See reviews for
58
234
16
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stopped in Dijon for 3 nights and were pleased with our choice of the Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge. The location is great and we walked all over Dijon from there. Although the rooms are updated and attractive, the building is still old, with creaking floors and thin walls (luckily, the baby next door slept until 6, at which time we all woke up). The staff was friendly and helpful and the restaurant bar was a great place for an after-dinner drink before heading up to the room. The hotel is a short walk from the train station and from the market in Les Halles, where we went for all our meals. We will stay here again when we're back in Dijon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Great location. Can walk to all sites. Great restaurant on site and wonderful breakfasts. Bedrooms large, bathrooms all updated with beautiful tile. Staff very friendly. A great choice for stay in Dijon.made even better by custom of no tipping in France.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kmt_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stopped here on two occasions and if you want an excellent hotel this is .certainly worth considering. The room was excellent, staff were charming. The valet parking a great plus in a city centre hotel.
The restaurant provides one of the best meals we have had in France. Quite an achievement !

Room Tip: Go for a superior room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This classy hotel has a superb location right in the centre or the city within walking distance of lots of bars and restaurents and the morning market. Lovely modern rooms and lovely decor throughout. Also very polite service provided by the reception staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneS726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoli
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed here for two nights with my wife and we had a great time. I booked a superior rooma nd made sure to have a room on the upper floors. The room was really nice, comfortable, well equipped, nice furniture. The hotel is well located in this beautiful city. God I love Dijon. The service is friendly. The hotel is expensive but, it's Dijon. You won't find a better place for a similar comfort/service. Unfortunately we did not have time to dine at the restaurant as we had reservations elsewhere (Stephane Derbord - fantastic, I'll review that one as well). The breakfast was ok, although, as other said, not exceptional. I can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cicciopasticciooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

First off, let me say that this review is for the hotel only - the restaurant is a completely different story. We stayed over a long weekend and although there were some good things to note, the bad outweighed the good. The best thing about this hotel is the location - right in the middle of Dijon, close to everything. You can literally walk to all of the sights in a matter of minutes. The valet parking is expensive, but was an overall positive. Most of the staff were also very friendly and helpful, but we did have one member who we learned to avoid as she appeared not to know a thing about the local area and seemed to have a bit of an attitude as she proffered her unhelpful suggestions.

The negatives of the hotel were the cost - the rooms were outrageously priced, and the breakfast was crazy expensive for practically nothing. The room itself was located on a wing that you could only reach by going up and down stairs, winding around hallways, etc. We practically needed to leave a trail of breadcrumbs to find the room every day. Inside the bathroom was nice but the room was London-sized, meaning relaxation was completely out of the question. No iron in the room, but was provided upon request.

I would have a hard time recommending this hotel. The location is great, but after that, there is just nothing worth noting.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank callmeishmael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dijon hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oceania le Jura
0.2 mi away
Maison Philippe le Bon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vertigo Hotel & NUXE Spa
0.9 mi away
Mercure Dijon Centre Clemenceau
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Ducs
Hotel des Ducs
#9 of 59 in Dijon
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge

Property: Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge
Address: 5 rue Michelet, 21024, Dijon, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Dijon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dijon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dijon
#12 Business Hotel in Dijon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge benefits of an advantageous location at the very heart of Dijon near the cathedral St. Bénigne. The historic center is just a few minutes away by foot, and the railway station a five minute walk. The Restaurant William Frachot welcome you from tuesday to saturday at lunch and dinner. The wellness area and the valet service complete the attentive reception, open all around the clock, for your best comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Du Chapeau Rouge Hotel Dijon
Best Western Dijon
Best Western Hotel Dijon
Dijon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing