We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
54
69
16
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
69
16
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews public parking charming town nice hotel aux clercs would stay here again perfect location recommend this hotel walk in shower air conditioning croissants elevator balcony wifi iron garage amenities centre
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

We initially wanted to cancel this booking to head back to the UK early through no fault of the hotel but if we had we would have had to pay full price anyway so we decided to stay.

Unfortunately amongst some other contributing factors, our stay in the hotel was so poor we decided to leave a day early despite still being charged as it wasn’t worth staying.

Pros:
- The man on our check out at reception was lovely
- The rooms are aesthetically nice
- Location is good

Cons:
- The rooms are advertised as “soundproof”. This is massively mis-sold as we could hear all the noise in the rooms around us all night, every person that came up and down the stairs and every conversation in the hallway.
- The air con works, but it lets out a loud prolonged buzz every two minutes, which continues long after you switch it off. This meant we couldn’t use the air con whilst sleeping, even on the night setting, because of the buzzing resulting in an uncomfortably hot night’s stay.
- What we assumed was the shower let out a screeching noise periodically, as well as also the toilet.
- Another example of how unsoundproofed the walls are also is the fact at one point we could also hear our neighbours air con buzzing.
- The WiFi connection was poor
- The hotel welcome pack advises you use the safe, but provides no instructions on how to reprogram it from the previous tenant of the room
- In the middle of the night, because of the above noise issues, when we were thinking of ringing down to the reception to raise them, upon looking at the booklet it advises no one mans the reception between 11.45 and 6.15, so if there’s a problem in between those times it seems no one can sort it out.

The hotel does seem to have the potential to be good, but the above factors let it down massively and was a dissapointing end to our trip to France which was also where we got engaged.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank alxlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PascalDerville, Propriétaire at Hotel des Ducs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

ear Madam, Dear Sir, We thank you for taking the time to share your point of view even if your comment is not good for us. We accept it and we are sorry you were not satisfied about your stay. We will take your comment into account to improve our service. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Rooms we are top quality and air con was on point. However there was a lack on the main focus.... Ducks Quack Quack This was only 100 words so i have decided to extend to 200 sorry for the inconvenience. Yours truly Samantha Johnnyson

Stayed: August 2018
Thank coolkid122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PascalDerville, Propriétaire at Hotel des Ducs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear Madam, we thank you for having taken time to share your point of view . To the reader, you will find below the surface of the rooms : small double rooms (14m2), double (17 m2), double superior (19 m2), family room (25 M2) and apartments (between 50 and 68 m2). Don’t’ hesitate to call us if you have any question regarding our room categories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

I was surprised and impressed by this great hotel.

The Hotel des Ducs occupies a prime spot in the centre of Dijon. An impressive old building, it faces the side of the Opera House and is right in the centre of town - perfect for shops, restaurants and the many attractions for tourism and the arts.

The hotel building is an old 4-storey block which has been recently refurbished to a very high standard.

We had an apartment on the fourth floor - a huge studio room with king-size bed along with a big sofa-bed and they also added a camp bed with room to spare. So, bags of room for a family of five. Along one wall were full-height glass doors (refurbished and with original iron shutters) leading to the balcony running along the top of the building's front.

The apartment also contained a fully equipped kitchen, complete with coffee machine (with pods), washing machine and microwave and normal oven. The bathroom had a walk-in shower and double basins.
The whole place (including staircase) was decorated immaculately with high quality fittings and smart colours.

Downstairs was the lobby, a small breakfast room and an outdoor courtyard.

Breakfast was of a high standard - a small range of hot food complimenting a wide range of continental-style foods. Highlights for me were artisanal fruit jams and matured Camembert.

Anyone needing a place in the centre of Dijon should seriously consider this hotel.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank mablain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PascalDerville, Propriétaire at Hotel des Ducs, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Sir, Thank you for having taken the time to share your opinion and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. To the reader, we confirm we are located in the historic centre of Dijon, at 100 meters from the Palais des Ducs and the Tourist Office. Please note there are a lot of things to visit / do in Dijon. We invite you to follow the Owl's Trail that passes in front of the hotel. We particularly recommend you the "Maison Millière", the "Hotel de Vogüé", the square of the Dukes, the square of Liberation, the Philippe Le Bon Tower, the courthouse district, Saint Philibert church, Saint Benigne cathedral, les Halles, The Square François Rude and Notre-Dame.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

If you want to be in the middle of all action in Dijon, than this is your place to stay. Friendly reception, standard room but nothing special. This is just a nice place to land at night time and then further explore the city. We did not chose the breakfast as the space to eat it was a bit cramped and did not look very inviting. There are several place in town where you can go for a good French breakfast with baguette, croissant and a good coffee while sitting on a nice terrace.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JMortier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PascalDerville, Propriétaire at Hotel des Ducs, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Madam, Dear Sir, we thank you for having taken time to share your point of view & we are glad you enjoyed your stay. To the reader, you will find below the surface of the rooms : small double rooms (14m2), double (17 m2), double superior (19 m2), family room (25 M2) and apartments (between 50 and 68 m2). Don’t’ hesitate to call us if you have any question regarding our room categories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

We stayed at a appartment from Hotel des Ducs and it was great. It had everything we needed. Also at a great location. Only if you come by car you need to park your car in a garage which is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel or you must be lucky if you can park your car in the street.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank whooge328281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PascalDerville, Propriétaire at Hotel des Ducs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear Madam, Dear Sir, We thank you for having shared your opinion and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. For the reader, we offer a private and secure parking (13 €/day subject to availability because we only have 6 parking lots) or admission cards to the public parking "Tremouille" (10 €/day) located 500 meters from the hotel. Street parking is free at night (7pm to 9am, Sunday and public holidays).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews