We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of La Chouette - CLOSED

La Chouette
Price range: US$9 - US$23
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nous aurons le plaisir de vous accueillir dans notre etablissement du lundi au dimanche de 9h a 18h, pour un cafe, un verre de vin ou une bonne crepe, le tout dans un cadre accueillant et comme a la maison ! Fermeture hebdomadaire le mercredi - Le soir uniquement sur reservation
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was such a good find! There wasn't much open on a Sunday in Dijon, but I could have had lunch and dinner here! Don't hesitate to dine here-- service and food were both fantastic!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mollyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    41
    3
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The excellent reviews are well deserved”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I went in to check out this little cafe because, frankly, I couldn't believe that a place that served little more than simple pastas and crepes could possibly earn such a high rating on TripAdvisor! Well, everyone is right. It's not so much the decor, which is charming, or the food, which is very tasty... it's the vibe. Virginie really is a warm, wonderful person! Her smile lights up that little cafe, and we will return not just to eat, but to visit with her and the other patrons. You don't feel, at the end of the day, like you've gone out to eat in a restaurant. You feel as though you've gone to see your friend Virginie and had some good food with her while you're there. Would that more restaurant owners had a little of what is so plentiful here: good food, well executed, not over-priced, served up with a smile in a clean, friendly environment. Hope this review sends the place toward the #1 spot, where it deserves to be. Merci, Virginie, for giving us our nicest experience out in Dijon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mcwrenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erzenhausen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for lunch on the Owl's Trail”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped for lunch while visiting Dijon on a trip from Germany to Italy. The crepes were the best! They also had pasta which my daughters thought was delicious. The menu was in French but the owner was happy to translate anything we had difficulty understanding. She also went outside the restaurant with us upon our departure to show us the way to the Tourist Info Office to pick up a book explaining the Owl's Trail. I would definitely go back to this restaurant if in Dijon again!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MilitaryMomTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“great little cafe”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We came across this little cafe whilst on the owl trail through Dijon centre. Its very small inside but the crepes make up for it. You can get either sweet or savoury. I had chocolate sauce on top. Was delicious!! Will definately be back whilst staying here for a proper meal!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becccad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fated to go there”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

It was a road trip from Roma to Paris and back. And on the way back we decided to slow it down and enjoy a meal at Dijon. La Chouette was perfect, and loveable. Wintery and warm decor, a perfect setting for a warm meal from the cold. We were greeted by the owner and founder. She was chirpy and so accomodating . They even had a kiddy crêpe ( creamy cheese sauce with prosciuto) set that came with a drink and a desert. Being a typical tourist i chose the dijon cream sauce with mushroom. Delightfully light and tangy. My dining partner had escargot, ofcourse, with a light white sauce. The platinh was simple and a crispy salad was included. Ask the owner to reccomend the local wine, she knows her stuff. We stayed awhile to chat and was happy to take on her offer to try dessert. Mine was a warm caramel toffee sauce with crêpe while my partner's was doused with warm rich chocolate sauce. After a few days in Paris it was easy for us to compare the dining experience and cost plus the overall ambiance of our experiences. La Chouette, with all its sincere charmness was almost half the price yet double the satisfaction.

Helpful?
1 Thank LilyanaAziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Chouette also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing