We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Excellent Value, We'll Return!!”
Review of Hotel Victor Hugo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Victor Hugo
Ranked #19 of 59 Hotels in Dijon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were really impressed with this "2 Star" hotel that is very close to everything in central Dijon. Our room was small but comfortable and overlooked the garden. The bathroom shower and sink both appeared to have been recently renovated and the water was good and hot. The small flat screen TV appeared to be new and picture quality was excellent and the WI-FI worked well. The hotel staff were caring and attentive to our needs and the morning breakfast was an excellent value. This hotel does not have an elevator but we had no problem bringing our 4 suitcases up to the 2nd floor. Our 3 day stay here was pleasant and we highly recommend Victor Hugo to others.

Room Tip: Our Garden facing room was excellent!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank parisienfoodisgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Victor Hugo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

A great value hotel with friendly helpful staff that is located within easy walking distance of the City and railway station. They provided a good value breakfast for an extra 6.50 euros per person and our room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed one night on the way to Canal base. When we noticed it was only two star we were quite surprised. Even more surprised when we got to our rooms. Very clean and tidy. Bathrooms appeared to have been recently modernised. Checked out dust in public areas. none to be found. In fact from room to the front door the place was spotless.
The hotel is very central and we were lucky to strike market day (Friday) and we strolled around this lovely French city.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank McLeodnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the start of our honeymoon. When the owner (Gilles) realised it was our honeymoon he presented us each with a glass of wine which was a lovely touch. Gilles was extremely helpful about all aspects of our stay and recommended loads of trip ideas. Our room was clean and tidy, overlooking the street , which was great for people watching. This is only a small hotel which made it much nicer in my opinion. A continental breakfast was included in the price and was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aimi20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed for two nights in Sept 2013. The hotel is conveniently located in a quiet part of the city within easy walking distance of all the city centre attractions. Our room had a double bed and was of a good size with separate WC and shower-rooms. The reception staff were helpful - although it is essential (and polite) to have knowledge of some basic French. There was a small garage facility which is essential as parking in Dijon is a nightmare. Overall we were very satisfied. And what a fantastic place Dijon is - food and wine to die for - as well as historic sights.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpinxWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The location was perfect. Right in the city, very close to a beautiful park, and on a quiet street. Everything you'd want to see is within easy walking distance. I loved the artwork in the hotel. The room and bathroom was clean, and the breakfast was adequate.

My only complaint (and it's not a small one, unfortunately) is that the bed was uncomfortable. If you like a firm mattress and a cheap price though, this is the place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Close to the city centre with secure parking for motorcycles, this is a decent budget hotel. Room was comfortable enough, the breakfast was worth the €6 charged and staff all very friendly and helpful. Excellent value for money.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dijon hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Ducs
Hotel des Ducs
#10 of 59 in Dijon
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montchapet
Hotel Montchapet
#22 of 59 in Dijon
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oceania le Jura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Dijon Gare
Ibis Dijon Gare
#23 of 59 in Dijon
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montigny
Hotel Montigny
#20 of 59 in Dijon
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victor Hugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victor Hugo

Address: 23 rue des Fleurs, 21000, Dijon, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Dijon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dijon
Price Range: £58 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Victor Hugo 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Victor Hugo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Hugo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing