We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top rate style and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saulieu
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Top rate style and service”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

As part of our weekend tour of Burgundy vintners and wine cellars, we spent one night at Le Relais Bernard Loiseau. We were able to take advantage of the Discovery package offered through Relais and Chateaux (there are other packages available). It included one night's stay plus dinner (which included an entree, fish and meat courses, a cheese plate, dessert and wines with each course) and a full breakfast for 250 Euros per person. There were no choices in the courses (although we were asked beforehand of any dislikes or allergies) but it was really lovely. Service was impeccable and the rooms, in the Superior category, were spacious. Ours had a small balcony looking out onto the lovely gardens. Our daughter and son-in-law's even had a fireplace, which the staff lit for them.
It was a truly lovely stay, and for the price of the package, a bargain for a three star restaurant!

Room Tip: We had a Superior Room and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewYorkNYMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    99
    48
    15
    4
See reviews for
74
504
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed here on our way back to Brussels and were amazed. We stayed in a deluxe room which was spacious with a large bathroom,bath,double sinks and shower. It opened onto a terrace which led to the gardens, where you could walk down to the pool, not in October unfortunately. The hotel had 2 open wood fires with comfortable seating where you could have a drink and read a book.
The meal at night was fantastic,we had the Bernard Loiseau Tasting Menu, which gave a little bit of everything, plus attentive staff and good wine. Not cheap, but it is 3 stars and the restaurant was full on a Tuesday night in October, so that says it all! A diversion on the way from Avignon to Brussels, but worth the extra miles. Not a meal you could eat every day but for an experience, it's worth recommending.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are worth the extra, I would think especially when it is warmer, being ground floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blackfish365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at Le Relais Bernard Loiseau for three nights in September. It was an excellent experience. The rooms are clean and contemporary with classical details. Bathroom was spacious and enjoyable. Unfortunately it rained most of the time we were in Saulieau, so we did not get to spend time in the garden or at the pool, but they were beautiful to see and I am sure very pleasant to enjoy in better weather. Staff was very gracious and welcoming. Some of the staff were not as good with English but they all tried hard (and is as much our fault for not being good at French). We were pleasantly surprised by the small gift basket on the day we checked out as well.

One piece of advice for other travelers, I booked this hotel because we wanted to spend time in Beaune and I thought it would be fun to have an outstanding restaurant on site. We stayed for three nights total and made the drive to Beaune each day. It is a beautiful drive, but about an hour long - good for a couple days, would started to have felt too long though if we had stayed for more than 3 days. We also tremendously enjoyed a meal at the restaurant, but after seeing the cost for it, we decided to eat elsewhere on the following two evenings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matto34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks Uk
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Le Relais Bernard Loiseau is among the very best that France has to offer, so much so that it is well worth the 100mile(150km) detour we make on our journey from the Channel to the Alps. As you would expect of an establishment with three Michelin stars, every detail is attended to. The service is attentive but never obtrusive. The rooms are extremely comfortable. Above all the restaurant is outstanding, blending innovation with French tradition.

Room Tip: A room on the upper floor overlooking the garden is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

OK, so it is a bit pricey but belive me you get what you pay for. We had a very large double room with its own garden/seating area. A quick trip up the steps and you are in the hotel garden which has an outdoor pool, a spa, lots of seating areas and thoughtful touches for children too. I could not fault the room and the bathroom must have been designed by a woman - hurrah! For the first time ever everyhing was included and in the right place. It even had a little dressing table with great lighting and the hairdryer next to it. Simple things but so many hotels get it wrong. The only downside is that a three day stay can be a problem food wise - even I can't eat micheline food every night and there is very little else in Saulieu. However, we had a room picnic and the staff happily provided us with crockery and cutlery.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have the benefit of a garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12ounces056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during a trip to Paris and Burgundy. When planning our trip, we put a reservation on hold 6 weeks in advance, then found out cancellation would evoke a fee. Usually this hotel would be above what we like to pay, but the experience was one of comfort, charm and exceptional service. The location was further from "the wine trail" in Burgundy than we had anticipated, situated as it is in a nondescript village, but within driving distance from both Beaune and Chablis.
We enjoyed a beautifully appointed room with a huge bathroom and a terrace overlooking the garden. At night there was perfect silence, and the bed and linens were outstanding. All we missed was coffee in the room in the morning...of course available from the room service menu.
There was a gorgeous little pool area, and various nooks to enjoy a drink, served by the ever-attentive staff...there was no bar [but Yes to billiards and library], therefore we missed the opportunity to meet other guests.
We ate dinner in the restaurant on one occasion. The service was phenomenal and the food as to be expected for 3 stars...but memorable mainly for the price. Otherwise, we ate in the village...limited choice and hit-and-miss, being in other [way lesser] hotels nearby.
Overall, the ambience and service are top-notch...but at a price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tman312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

the room is quiet, the view on the garden is very nice, bathroom is superb, bed mattress a bit soft for us, the little entrance is very convenient, if you want to sleep well in the dark, ask them to not only close the curtains but also the outside shutters. The breakfast is ok, but their coffee could be better. The outside pool is nice and having a drink around is very relaxing, The service and the people are awesome.

Room Tip: All the rooms are différents so discuss with them to get what you will like the most, I will recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saulieu
23.3 mi away
Abbaye de la Bussiere
Abbaye de la Bussiere
#1 of 1 in La Bussiere-sur-Ouche
495 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
#1 of 1 in Chailly-sur-Armancon
512 reviews
19.4 mi away
Chateau Sainte Sabine
Chateau Sainte Sabine
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Sabine
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
#1 of 1 in Vault-de-Lugny
199 reviews
12.2 mi away
Ici M'aime
Ici M'aime
#1 of 1 in Rouvray
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#3 of 3 in Saulieu
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais Bernard Loiseau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Bernard Loiseau

Property: Le Relais Bernard Loiseau
Address: 2 Rue d Argentine, 21210 Saulieu, France (Formerly Hotel de la Cote d'Or)
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Saulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saulieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Relais Bernard Loiseau 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel belongs to the prestigious Relais & Châteaux network of independent hotels and offers luxurious accommodation in delightful surroundings.Relais Bernard Loiseau features 32 spacious and luxurious rooms and suites, a library room with a chimney for quiet and peaceful evenings in the wintertime, a billiard room with French billiard, an outdoor swimming pool and a spa in order to make your stay as relaxing as possible.Enjoy the hotel’s privileged location to discover a region with a tremendous cultural and culinary heritage. In June 2017, the current seminar rooms will be complemented by the seminar space "LA VILLA LOISEAU DES SENS" (the new 1,500m² wellness complex on 3 levels that will host a range of water activities) that can accommodate up to 80 persons. "The Villa Loiseau des Sens" will also welcome a new restaurant to meet all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Relais Bernard Loiseau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau Hotel Saulieu
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau Saulieu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing