We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Relais Bernard Loiseau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saulieu
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
178 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

On this trip we stayed at Lameloise, and two smaller guesthouses. Bernard Loiseau was supposed to be the highlight, but left us with very mixed feelings, so I will just list pros and cons.
Pros:
- room was lovely - huge and well appointed. Full set of TV channels and good guestbook, and a bowl of fresh walnuts to crack and nibble on
- pool area was very pleasant. it is however very small - the size of a normal domestic pool, and did not have enough loungers for even half of the hotel - we were lucky but many subsequent visitors came down in their robes and slippers expecting to relax in the sun by the pool, and there was nowhere for them to sit.
- spa facilities seemed nice - we visited but didn't use
- valet parking
- quiet and well layed out grounds
- Dominique Loiseau came around at dinner time to each table to say hello which was a charming touch
Cons:
- location - the outside of it honestly looks like a Travelodge which we were not expecting
- lack of staff - when around the pool, there were no staff at all - you had to search them out for a drink which was annoying, then service took ages
- noisy children - the pool area was invaded by a man and his 8 year old daughter, who jumped in the pool and spent 40 minutes splashing, shrieking, and carrying on a conversation with her father at about 8000 decibels. You expect this in a Hyatt, not at a hotel that prides itself on discretion, relaxation and serenity.
- restaurant - our dinner was sub-par compared to the other food we had. Our fixed menu included the signature dishes of Bernard L'Oiseau such as the frogs legs with garlic puree and parsley (bland and tasteless), a strange poultry dish with a huge chunk of foie gras that was raw, and a giant chocolate dessert with very strong orange sauce that was absolutely hideous - like a giant strong jaffa cake. The waiters mainly spoke no english at all, and we felt we were left alone much longer than the french speaking guests. Food was plonked in front of us with very short explanation. the included wine was also much less than at Lameloise, and lower quality - no attempt was made to ask us our preference or provide suggestions.
- breakfast - we had this in our room which was nice, but even in a superior room it was set up with one person sitting on the room's only chair, and the other expected to perch on the end of the bed to eat - not very comfortable. Also, the order was incorrect which necessitated some calls down to the kitchen where only french was spoken.
- language - in the other hotels of this calibre that we visited, the staff had a grasp of English, and would respond to our adequate french in English in a seamless way, making us feel like welcomed guests. In this hotel, only about a third of the staff spoke English, and then only if you addressed them in English. I am happy to try in french, but would expect in a hotel of this calibre that they would be more accommodating to international guests. Even when asked to speak slower, they continued to rattle on in french, only just restraining their rolling eyes.
- bed - our large bed was a "zip and link" which I really dislike, particularly when the join in the middle is bumpy and sunken

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    92
    44
    14
    4
See reviews for
72
441
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris. France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

Room was very nice, dinner was disappointing. Specially the desert "la poire qui dance" was really a flop. “Architecture en chocolat “was not much better. Wines were only acceptable, and we were in Burgundy !!. Prices are high enough to admit greater expectations.Was good, could have been better. We don't plan to go back. Nevertheless I would not say you should'nt try it. Your experience might be different. Grace B

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macadamgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

This was certainly highlight of the trip. Saulieu is in beautiful serene country setting. World of its own! Bernard's hotel was absolutely fantastic in every possible way. Gastronomic experience (best of France)! Loved it.
Very expensive but worth every penny. Wish could have stayed longer.
A must do for anyone who ends up in Saulieu.

Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SatyaHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2009

During 2 weeks of summer vacation in Burgundy, we also spent 3 nights here. Cool reception, a beautiful room and a charming garden. Surprisingly quiet in the middle of a town.
Service in the garden was inattentive, needed to go looking for someone to take orders.
Service during dinner at the hotel was focussed mainly on the French guests, leaving us foreigners feeling unwelcome. Breakfast was not left for us to choose, the waiter decided what was good for us.
Even on the third day we were asked by reception whether we were guests at the hotel.
We were contacted - routinely - by Relais & Chateaux to comment on our stays and submitted a review of our experience. The response was sympathetic and a comment by the hotel was promised, which - not to our surprise -never came.
A disappointing experience after delightful stays at other fine hotels in the region.

  • Liked — room and location
  • Disliked — lack of service and arrogant staff
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank wwolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WARSAWA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2008

Warm reception, room perfectly furnished ... well the dinner was pure heaven.
Be happy Monsieur Loiseau, all is continued for your memory.

  • Liked — réception, restaurant, room, ....
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JojoWarsawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2008

On the basis of the good reviews it receives - including those on this site - we selected this restaurant and hotel as the venue for celebrating my 40th birthday.

While the hotel itself was reasonably good and the staff courteous, the restaurant was a significant disappointment on almost every level.

The food was not up to the standard of a number of one star restaurants at which I have dined. The sommelier's only advice was '..well if you like it, order it'. The room itself had a slight odour of mould.

If quality or price are not considerations, then this may be just the right place.

  • Liked — It was clean
  • Disliked — The food, the location
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Gourmet_Travel_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2007

The rooms were large, the staff great and the hotel had that true 'Relais & Chateau' feel about it. The spa is also magnificent and the grounds beautiful.

I love how the modern bar/restaurant entrance is juxtaposed with the old hotel.

The restaurant is nice, the food has been overrated by Michelin, however the rating may be by vritue of the story surrounding the restaurant and Mr Loiseau himself. It was truly a great experience to meet Mrs Loiseau (who now runs the restaurant) and have a chat with her.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank jetsetter87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saulieu
23.5 mi away
Abbaye de la Bussiere
Abbaye de la Bussiere
#1 of 1 in La Bussiere-sur-Ouche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
19.4 mi away
Chateau Hotel Restaurant Sainte-Sabine
12.1 mi away
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
#1 of 1 in Chailly-sur-Armancon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostellerie de la Tour d'Auxois
23.1 mi away
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
#1 of 1 in Vault-de-Lugny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#3 of 3 in Saulieu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais Bernard Loiseau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Bernard Loiseau

Property: Le Relais Bernard Loiseau
Address: 2 rue d Argentine, 21210 Saulieu, France (Formerly Hotel de la Cote d'Or)
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Saulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saulieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Relais Bernard Loiseau 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel belongs to the prestigious Relais & Châteaux network of independent hotels and offers luxurious accommodation in delightful surroundings.Relais Bernard Loiseau features 32 spacious and luxurious rooms and suites, a library room with a chimney for quiet and peaceful evenings in the wintertime, a billiard room with French billiard, an outdoor swimming pool and a spa in order to make your stay as relaxing as possible.Enjoy the hotel’s privileged location to discover a region with a tremendous cultural and culinary heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Le Relais Bernard Loiseau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau Hotel Saulieu
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau Saulieu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing