We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop over”
Review of Le Compostelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Compostelle
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Vezelay
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Spent an afternoon and evening in Vezelay and stayed here. Owner is great, very friendly, low key and decent English. The location is very charming and picturesque. Had a nice meal in the restaurant across the street. Hotel is simple and basic but clean and comfortable. Breakfast is excellent. If you are looking for a good value in this lovely town, this is a good place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jlew11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

The hotel is conveniently located on the main square, just outside the Old Town, and at the foot of Rue St-Etienne, which leads up to the Basilica. There was plenty of parking in front of the hotel (free overnight, though I believe you have to pay during the day, maximum of 3 euros for the entire day). With such high ratings on TripAdvisor I expected a real gem. The hotel was clean and the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom included a tub which is quite rare, but the room was rather small and the furnishings basic. My room had a view of the Old Town. The breakfast area had large picture windows that overlooked the beautiful valley below. There is free WiFi and a flat screen TV in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explorer630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I found the Hotel le Compostelle to be quiet, comfortable, well located, friendly, clean, and offering rooms with great views over the lovely countryside surrounding Vezelay. I would stay there again. It was reasonably priced and the breakfast was abundant and varied, including fresh fruit, outstanding cold sliced meats, croissants, several kinds of bread, local jams, butter, yogurt, everything you could want for breakfast and plenty of it. Nearby there are many restaurants in various price ranges. I found this to be a good value in a good location and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: see if you can get a room with a view out to the countryside, some rooms face the village, also love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drkiracofe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

You step over there and you fell like to be part of the family the reception is so harm and friendly is very difficult to find better
Don't misunderstood we are talking about a small hotel with very reasonable prices not about a 5 starts.
My daughter have enjoy all friendly staff calling the manager uncle .
For us no way to choose a different hotel when we are 50 Kim's around .
Thanks Compostelle

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
9  Thank Fernando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Vezelay is a small town. And there are few hotels that are “close in” to the old town. We were pleased to get a room in this hotel, as others were fully booked. While we were in Vezelay, this hotel was fully booked. This is a basic hotel, and you get what you pay for. We paid 66 euro for a mid size room with a large bathroom. The room had stairs to a dark loft with one bed, which we didn’t use. The cupboard for our clothing was occupied by extra bedding, which I had to move to store my clothing. We had no armchairs for sitting, so we used the hotel’s attractive sitting room in the evening. The hotel was quiet. We had main floor accommodations, so we were troubled by the fact there was no lift. Breakfast was good and tasty, served in an attractive room. And yes, we would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank thomasO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

A nice hotel just below the main street, with a free parking nearby (If you don'f find a parking place just in front). Rooms are average, but the view from the back rooms are gorgeous! Some doing directly to a charming garden. The breakfast room has also an unforgettable view. Staff very friendly!

Room Tip: Back rooms are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank felipeferreirario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Vezeley's population is less than 500, so there aren't a wide range of choices. Le Compostelle is a nice place, looking up the hill at the old town, with pleasant views of surrounding countryside from our room. The room was clean and largish by European standards. The beds were comfortable and the room and bath clean. Cleanliness, not newness, is most important to me. Staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Choose one looking out over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed VV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vezelay
0 mi away
Hotel de la Poste et du Lion d'Or
0.1 mi away
Le Relais du Morvan
Le Relais du Morvan
#5 of 5 in Vezelay
102 reviews
6.1 mi away
Le Moulin des Templiers
Le Moulin des Templiers
#1 of 3 in Pontaubert
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hostellerie de la Poste
0.3 mi away
Sy La Terrasse
Sy La Terrasse
#2 of 5 in Vezelay
139 reviews
11.6 mi away
Ibis Avallon
Ibis Avallon
#1 of 3 in Magny
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Compostelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Compostelle

Address: Place du Champ-de-Foire, 89450 Vezelay, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Vezelay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Vezelay
Price Range: £50 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Compostelle 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Compostelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Compostelle vézelay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing