We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful place in the Loire Valley”
other travellers have booked this property
La Porte Bleue vue depuis l'autre rive, au pied du château.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Porte Bleue vue depuis l'autre rive, au pied du château.
Depuis le pont
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
La Porte Bleue vue depuis l'autre rive, au pied du château.
Depuis le pont
Vue du haut du château
L'enseigne sous la neige
Gîte du premier étage : vue d'ensemble avec le séjour et les 2 chambres au fond
Depuis le coin cuisine
Vue depuis l'autre angle : la porte d'entrée, celle de la salle d'eau
Le coin cuisine
Juste en face du château...
Cuisine complètement équipée
Chambre coté Loire : le Velux semble encadrer le château
Seconde chambre sur cour
Salle d'eau avec toilettes fermées
Lavabo
Gîte du rez-de-chaussée : la Loire est toute proche, le château juste en face
Vue de tout le rez-de-chaussée
Gîte du rez-de-chaussée
La Porte Bleue est tout en haut de la photo, à droite
Coucher de soleil sur le château : photo prise devant la maison
Soir d'orage devant la maison
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Amboise, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Helen A
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful place in the Loire Valley”
Reviewed 23 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We stayed in the loft, which had two bedrooms as well as the living area and bathroom. The place was very clean and spacious. Chantal gave us a lovely welcome, and provided us with plenty of information to get us started. It was an easy walk to the shops to get provisions, and lovely and quiet at night on the island. Plenty of free parking on the island too. Probably the only downside was that the internet wasn't working while we were there, but Chantal kindly offered for us to pop across to her house whenever we needed the internet. A great place to use as a base while exploring the Loire Valley.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World_Tra...
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Prime spot in the Loire Valley! Absolutely perfect & charming!”
Reviewed 7 January 2012 for a stay in July 2011
2
people found this review helpful

La Porte Bleue is located in a prime spot in the Loire Valley in Amboise. It is right on the river and has a direct view of Château d'Amboise (the castle). I stayed on the bottom floor which was perfect. It's nicely decorated, warm and charming. I loved it! It is an easy walk to the centre where shops, cafes, etc are located. The da Vinci house is within walking distance and of course the castle. I was even able to walk from the Amboise train station to La Porte Bleue with no problem. So a car really isn't necessary if your plan is to be in Amboise.

Madame Chantal is wonderful! She is really sweet and was so helpful in providing everything you need...(i.e. linens, iPod speaker system, books, kitchen, serve-ware, WI-FI). I was able to go to the market and prepare some meals at the house. By the way, there's a great market day in Amboise--Saturdays or Sundays if I'm not mistaken. Madame Chantal has bicycles available along with maps for bike routes which I would highly recommend a bicycle ride during your stay because it's so lovely. I rode to Château Chenonceaux which was great! Just a heads-up...there are some hills along the way so you may want to do some cardio training before you do that route :-) But you pass alot of vineyards which is cool and the scenery is great. Madame Chantal even welcomed with a warm heart my little yorkie, Zoë which was really sweet :-)

La Porte Bleue is great and I would definitely stay again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne...
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“our blue door to the loire valley”
Reviewed 11 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at La Porte Bleue in Amboise.
Chantal was a delight and we found her information book helpful
and full of insightful comments -where to eat what to eat ...
The property is quiet and we were upstairs and could not hear
the family of 5 downstairs at all...It was in walking distance to everything
we had a rental car and plenty of FREE parking was available.

we enjoyed it tremendously and were quite sad to leave our little nest
to go to the big smoke of Paris...

if we were to return to the Loire we would not hesitate to rent again...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug W
Evesham, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot in Amboise”
Reviewed 25 September 2011 for a stay in May 2011
2
people found this review helpful

La Porte Bleue consists of 1 or 2 apartments on an island with a fabulous view of the chateau. The historic property was lovingly restored by proprietress Chantal Salvaudon who attended to all of our needs. The apartment is well equipped, spacious, and tastefully appointed. Wallking distance to town amenities without being in the touristic center. Great weekly town market. Website at http://www.laportebleueamboise.fr/index.html

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIET D
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Coquil...
Rouen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: En couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
Oh merci L. , c'est si gentil, si joliment dit aussi. J'ai rougi je crois ! C'est un plaisir de savoir que je vous ai permis de découvrir Amboise dans les meilleures conditions et de vous avoir donné envie de revenir. Alors, ce sera avec grand plaisir !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte...
Dachau, Bayern, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2013
Un grand merci Brigitte ! Un bel avis pour les Allemands que j'espère nombreux à la Porte Bleue. Et au plaisir de te revoir bientôt à Amboise. Avec toute mon amitié, Chantal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing