We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive Hotel near Amboise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ibis Budget Amboise
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is a great, clean little hotel just on the outskirts of Amboise. It's a short drive to town. The rooms were spotless and the hotel quiet. The views from the hotel (which is on a hill) are quite nice. The car park is free and gated at night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HT3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

Good hotel and value for money. The internet was a problem since for some strange reason when connected (free by the way) the internet kept me sending back to a French website and did not allow me to connect to my usual websites. It was a real pain using the internet. Breakfast was very very basic and the towel were bad. One thing about ETAP hotels: They must supply an extra towel for the floor since it is almost impossible to kept the floor dry around the shower.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azevedo221209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 June 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank undercopz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We use this hotel regularly to break the journey between South West France and Channel Tunnel. Amboise with its' historic sites, restaurants, bars and shops is an ideal place to break a journey. Altrernatively, it is well suited to use as a base to explore the Loire Valley and the nearby chateaux such as chenonceau and Chaumont.
This modern hotel has enclosed secure parking. Being an Etap hotel, you do not always see the reception staff because, outside the limited morning or afternoon hours that reception is manned, access is controlled by using a pass code. When the reception desk was manned, we we found the staff friendly and helpful.
The rooms are compact but well designed with beds,(ours was a double bed, plus a single raised platform bed above the main bed) shower and toilet etc. Most importantly,the room was spotlessly clean.
The buffet beakfast at around five euros is more than adequate and good value for money.
Amboise on foot is a twenty minute walk downhill and the return journey takes about twenty five minutes uphill . The bar at the Novotel next door is available to Etap guests.
There is a shopping zone about a mile away which includes Leclerc hypermarket, a petrol station and a Mc Donalds should you want it . So a good place to stock up and fill up.
For around forty Euros it is a great place for short stay if you are not looking for romantic surroundings.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aubin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Stopped here for a place to explore the Loire Valley. It is a typical chain hotel but it is very clean and friendly and VERY quiet location. Only 5 minutes to town (you will need a car) but is a good spot to stop for a night.

Room Tip: Some rooms at the back overlook the town and valley but also look onto the Novotel next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

The Loire River Valley in central France is one of the most picturesque regions of the country-in all of Europe for that matter! This hotel was on the out skirts of the quaint town of Amboise-which is known for the beautiful Amboise Castle that has the tomb of Leonardo Da Vinci. Off the beatin' path a little, down a narrow road that has a few lovely residential homes on one side and a small vineyard on the other, our hotel was on a gated property that met up with another hotel next door and had a common gate between them. Both hotels were fairly new, very clean and modern. If your room happens to be on the back property you can see Amboise Castle off in the distance! The hotel is centrally located in the region-minutes from Amboise, Chenonceau Castle, Cities of Tours and Orleans and many other great sites of interest. Service was excellent, with a nice continental breakfast and beautiful outdoor patio for wining and dining. Hotel staff were great-on our first night I wanted to taste some local wine-my French is challenged at best-the desk clerk answered me back in English and directed me to the hotel next door which had a fabulous bar-the kind that lights up in different colors! In closing I have to say all Etap Hotels we stayed in were nice, but this one was our favorite.

Room Tip: When booking hotels in Europe, be sure to inquire if your room has A/C-not all do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duke2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0 mi away
Novotel Amboise
Novotel Amboise
#9 of 25 in Amboise
961 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Amboise
Ibis Amboise
#18 of 25 in Amboise
585 reviews
1 mi away
Inter-Hotel Chaptal
Inter-Hotel Chaptal
#13 of 25 in Amboise
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Logis La Breche
Logis La Breche
#12 of 25 in Amboise
326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Le Vinci Loire Valley
2.1 mi away
La Bonne Etape
La Bonne Etape
#14 of 25 in Amboise
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Amboise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Amboise

Address: 1 rue du clos Bourget, 37400, Amboise, France (Formerly Etap Hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range: £50 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Amboise 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis budget Amboise is located amongst the Loire chateaux including Chenonceau, Chambord and Cheverny. Its superb hilltop location overlooking Amboise, just 1.1 miles (1.8 km) from the town center and Clos Lucé (Leonard de Vinci's last residence) is perfect for those seeking calm and relaxation. This economy hotel offers rooms for 1, 2 or 3 people and is perfect for both business travel and weekends away with a loved one or as a family. Free car park and WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Budget Amboise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing