We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Chaptal Amboise”
Review of Hotel Chaptal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Chaptal
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Reviewed 17 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Chaptal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel was perfect for our stay! Centrally located and walkable to everything! The couple who run the hotel are simply charming and sweet. Very helpful with our late arrival just contact them in advance! Room was basic with standard amenities. Bathroom was larger than expected but shower was quite small. Bed was comfy and clean. For the price this was a great place!

Right down the street was the Loire river in the other direction was a alley of shops that led to the chateau itself. Easily a 20 minute walk from the train station.

Room Tip: The street is not loud so getting a room that overlooks it is not an issue.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sblibra86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Not very impressed.
The hotel advertises free public parking nearby - Yes, these are two separate free parking lots but they are 400 to 500 meters away and there is no guarantee of a parking spot - we were lucky as we came when it was quiet (Mid May), it may be an issue in June-July-August.
The room was tiny, barely bigger than the bed and with a bathroom to match. The room had only one power outlet which was at head height (for the TV) so if you need to charge electronic devices then this is an issue.
One thing I hate is a bathroom with Soap Dispensers and individual toilet paper sheets (rather than a roll), and this one had both. Although I must say that the shower was soooo small that the soap dispenser was useful as there was barely enough room to stand in it, so if you had dropped a bar of soap it would have been a problem!
The hotel is very noisy due to the wooden floorboards throughout. People walking in the corridors was very noisy - We even heard someone in a nearby room snoring on our second night, all night!
The reception staff immediately lost interest when we decided not to take the overpriced breakfast as an add-on. They didn't even know the price of admission to the number one attraction in the town!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Albywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We were welcomed by the staff in this family run hotel.
the rooms were great and reflected the price we paid. They were clean and there was a good sized en-suite bathroom.
The hotel is in a great location not far from the centre / river Loire.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street and it was peaceful. It's a very quiet town at night but busy in...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redandy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I traveled to Amboise with a school group and they were from what our chaperones said the front desk was extremely helpful. We were in walking distance to Leonardo De Vinci's house which was a plus. We only stayed there for two days so the rooms were big enough for those two stays. The breakfast was great, but a bad thing was the floor had ants on it and they found there way onto the table so that wasn't very pleasant. Our shower after we used it would leak and wouldn't stop it would always leak water. And our second day a drunk man was in the hallway outside in the hallway so that was a little unsettling for those who forgot or didn't lock their doors. It wasn't a pleasant site. And the front desk wouldn't let us stay in the front part of the hotel to use wifi. We could only stay there until 9. Wifi sucked in the rooms themselves. So if you need wifi you have to stay in the front part of the hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed two nights the last weekend of September, 2012. The reception staff helped us with our train and rental car plans, despite our halting French and requests for changes in the reservation. They had clean, warm rooms, comfortable beds, and a plentiful breakfast. We would go back again since the price was quite reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

Long ago we lived in the area of Amboise, and returned to reconnect. Our desires were the same as when we are home: to feel welcomed, cared for, comfortable. Hotel Chaptal fits the bill!

This is a modest, immaculate family hotel where the little things matter. Priced right, the ample but not large room had delightfully sleepworthy beds. The efficient bathroom was clean and had great water pressure and temperature.

The available breakfast @7 euros was delicious and comprehensive.

Located just blocks from the Chateau with easy road access to Chenonceaux, Ste Maure, Tours, and the region.

The staff (while limited in English) were helpful and kind and found ways to communicate.

We will return!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RevRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.2 mi away
Bellevue
Bellevue
#19 of 25 in Amboise
193 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Amboise
Ibis Amboise
#18 of 25 in Amboise
571 reviews
0.6 mi away
Logis La Breche
Logis La Breche
#10 of 25 in Amboise
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel Amboise
Novotel Amboise
#11 of 25 in Amboise
940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chaptal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chaptal

Address: 11 rue Chaptal, 37400, Amboise, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range: £49 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Chaptal 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Chaptal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing