We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lacks the "Character" one might Expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Chaptal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Chaptal
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
WNC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Lacks the "Character" one might Expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Not too many great, or for that matter, terrible things to mention. Simply happens to be an acceptable budget-minded option (amongst very few---esp. during the off-season) in this strategically-located market town on the Loire.
It's sole strengths would be the RELATIVE low price + central location. The facilities and amenities are, simply put, quite "institutional" --- Lacks the "character" one might expect in such a quaint/historic locale.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VagaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    87
    55
    17
    4
See reviews for
51
80
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This place is very affordable and within walking distance of all of Amboise's city-center sites. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast offered up a decent variety of both "sweet and salty" foods (as the front desk clerk put it). As with most things, you get what you pay for. The facility is like a dormitory. Our room had a bit of a stale odor, but we opened up the windows to bring in the fresh air. The furnishings are low quality and remind you that you're wallet isn't taking a hit. The wifi connection is terrible in the rooms. Also, the hotel closes at a certain hour in the evening, and they shut a door to the common area (where the wifi connection is strongest). You'd run into other guests huddled against the door at night with their mobile devices trying to land a signal. If you're on a tight budget it's a fine accommodation. I would spend a few extra dollars and upgrade the next time round.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ContinentalWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel was perfect for our stay! Centrally located and walkable to everything! The couple who run the hotel are simply charming and sweet. Very helpful with our late arrival just contact them in advance! Room was basic with standard amenities. Bathroom was larger than expected but shower was quite small. Bed was comfy and clean. For the price this was a great place!

Right down the street was the Loire river in the other direction was a alley of shops that led to the chateau itself. Easily a 20 minute walk from the train station.

Room Tip: The street is not loud so getting a room that overlooks it is not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sblibra86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
1,723 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 722 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Not very impressed.
The hotel advertises free public parking nearby - Yes, these are two separate free parking lots but they are 400 to 500 meters away and there is no guarantee of a parking spot - we were lucky as we came when it was quiet (Mid May), it may be an issue in June-July-August.
The room was tiny, barely bigger than the bed and with a bathroom to match. The room had only one power outlet which was at head height (for the TV) so if you need to charge electronic devices then this is an issue.
One thing I hate is a bathroom with Soap Dispensers and individual toilet paper sheets (rather than a roll), and this one had both. Although I must say that the shower was soooo small that the soap dispenser was useful as there was barely enough room to stand in it, so if you had dropped a bar of soap it would have been a problem!
The hotel is very noisy due to the wooden floorboards throughout. People walking in the corridors was very noisy - We even heard someone in a nearby room snoring on our second night, all night!
The reception staff immediately lost interest when we decided not to take the overpriced breakfast as an add-on. They didn't even know the price of admission to the number one attraction in the town!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amboise hotels

Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We were welcomed by the staff in this family run hotel.
the rooms were great and reflected the price we paid. They were clean and there was a good sized en-suite bathroom.
The hotel is in a great location not far from the centre / river Loire.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street and it was peaceful. It's a very quiet town at night but busy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redandy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

I traveled to Amboise with a school group and they were from what our chaperones said the front desk was extremely helpful. We were in walking distance to Leonardo De Vinci's house which was a plus. We only stayed there for two days so the rooms were big enough for those two stays. The breakfast was great, but a bad thing was the floor had ants on it and they found there way onto the table so that wasn't very pleasant. Our shower after we used it would leak and wouldn't stop it would always leak water. And our second day a drunk man was in the hallway outside in the hallway so that was a little unsettling for those who forgot or didn't lock their doors. It wasn't a pleasant site. And the front desk wouldn't let us stay in the front part of the hotel to use wifi. We could only stay there until 9. Wifi sucked in the rooms themselves. So if you need wifi you have to stay in the front part of the hotel.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.6 mi away
Logis La Breche
Logis La Breche
#11 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellevue
Bellevue
#19 of 25 in Amboise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ibis Amboise
Ibis Amboise
#13 of 25 in Amboise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Amboise
Novotel Amboise
#9 of 25 in Amboise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#3 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chaptal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chaptal

Property: Hotel Chaptal
Address: 11 rue Chaptal, 37400, Amboise, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Chaptal 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Chaptal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing