We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Pavillon des Lys
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
santiago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really good experience”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I would totally go here again. Just stay here for one night, we had to rooms (different types) and both were huge, clean, special and nice. Breakfast was amazing. And the service was THE best, the person in charge couldnt have done our stay better, he was really attentive. The location was great, just a few blocks from the main street, a very quiet street.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarajasantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    94
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
65
235
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We chose this hotel based on recommendations on trip advisor. Through my emails with Sebastian and Vincent I could tell we were in for a delightful experience. We were arriving later in the evening and their thoughtful suggestion to make a dinner reservation for us on a Monday night was perfect, since many restaurants close on Mondays, (which we were not aware of). It is that kind of attention to detail that made our stay spectacular. The room was beautifully decorated and spotless. Little details, which make such a difference, were taken care of; robes, slippers, wine glasses and a huge, relaxing bath. Our room looked out onto Chateau Amboise, and when it was lit in the evening, it was spectacular. Both Sebastian and Vincent were always available with suggestions, or to see if there was anything we needed. The breakfast was delicious and so beautifully presented. I was sorry the restaurant was closed as I am sure it would have been wonderful. We stayed in their traditional room, but once we saw the suites, we decided that is where we will stay on our next visit. We are already planning our trip back to France and our little piece of heaven in the Loire.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Our main reason for choosing this hotel was the excellent food which had been recommended. We were told when we booked that the restaurant had since closed but we booked anyway and weren't disappointed. The attention to detail in this hotel is just amazing; everything is so perfect; the room, the service and the breakfast. The decor is just beautiful. No doubt if the restaurant had still been open, the food would have been perfect too! The hotel is situated in some beautiful grounds in the centre of Amboise which unfortunately due to the weather we were unable to enjoy with a glass of wine! We would thoroughly recommend this as a perfect place to relax and enjoy your surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

If you're visiting Amboise for its main attraction, the Leonardo Da Vinci's Park, that's basicly a place for kids and families, and you HAVE kids, don't make the huge mistake to stay in this expensive hotel. It's a sacred temple where kids are not welcome and the hotel's crew will treat you in a unique unpleasant way. Unluckily we had difficulties to find a room in other tourist facilities and payed a 500 euros bill for two night + breakfast, even if it was clear from the web site it wasn't exactly a kid's friendly hotel, but that was it, we went there and I must say outloud that, since we travelled a lot across Europe with two little boys even in more sophisticated hotels than this one is supposed to be, never we received such a zero-tolerance behaviour from a hotel's one-man staff.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank silvie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePavillonDesLys, Gérant at Le Pavillon des Lys, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Madam, Sir,

You have effectively stayed in our hotel for two nights, in one of our Suite’s, with your two charming children. As your says, we are not a kid friendly hotel, but please take notice that you children were uncontrollable. They tiered the other customers of the hotel with there incessant screaming, without you taking care about them, but only worrying about your boiled egg. Your charming children had been jumping on the beds, in the stairs, on the landing… All the staff (and not the one-man’s staff), invites you on your next trip to stay in a camping rather than in a hotel, that would be more adapted to your family.
All year long, ever month, each week, we receive customers with there children’s, without any problems. We do not have any lessons to learn to you, but a little respect and good manners is necessary, in a hotel in witch you are not unique customers.
To finish, the price you paid for your room is the normal prices for a Suite Prestige, I any hotels of the region.
Please do not think that we do not like children, I have one of my own. But I have learnt to him how to behave in public.

Sébastien Bégouin,
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights in one of the rooms on the second floor. Our bathroom window had a view over the chateau. The rooms were beautifully decorated and very clean. The bathroom was my favourite bit as it had a huge roll top bath, as well as a separate drench shower.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We were helped with our bags and had a lovely room service meal on our first night. The breakfast was very good and having stayed in various hotels on our travels over the last few weeks I would say €14 is not excessive for the amount of food on offer.
Our only little niggles about this hotel were that there were no tea and coffee facilities in the room and the wifi wasn't quite strong enough to give a good signal on the top floor where our room was.
Overall a beautiful boutique hotel we would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moinalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We only stayed for one night on our trip through France but this hotel gave us a wonderful taste of the Loire.Beautifully decorated with attention to detail unsurpassed. We felt as though we were in 5 star accomodation but without the stuffiness and pretense. The staff were delightful, the room was spotlessly clean and the view from our bathroom to the Chateau Amboise made bathing something special !! Breakfast in the elegant dining room was superb - in a French way - freshly baked and delicious. Thank you to all staff for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biarritz, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed here only one night on our travels as the hotel we normally stay at was closed, what a fabulous place. Service, attention to detail, warm welcome, in fact everything about this superb little hotel was first class. The only down side was that the restaurant was closed the night we stayed - but we will be back and definatly on a night when the restaurant is open! We wouldn't choose anywhere else in Amboise now. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rumpole_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#7 of 25 in Amboise
363 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
223 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon des Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon des Lys

Property: Le Pavillon des Lys
Address: 9 rue d Orange, 37400, Amboise, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon des Lys 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Le Pavillon des Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing