We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Pavillon des Lys
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice building”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

After getting a bit lost we eventually found this boutique hotel. The entrance is on the corner of 2 one way streets and you drive over the curb to enter the grounds. We stayed in a double deluxe room on the ground floor which was quite large and quiet. The room itself was nice but a few details brought the rating down to average. We missed the small comforts you often find in a hotel room - a kettle, coffee and tea and a bar fridge. The reception kept things in their fridge for us like milk for our baby. They were also thoughtful enough to leave us a baby bath as the room only had a shower. The location was central and easy walk to the chateau and cafés.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank PHall_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    97
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
65
239
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel was absolutely perfect! We were so pleased when we arrived to see the hotel looking exactly like the pictures we had seen. Our room was gorgeous, modern and clean. We were in a separate little cottage which was just lovely! We enjoyed drinks in the courtyard & had wine & cheese here for dinner both nights as we couldn't bare to leave. Incredibly friendly staff. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePavillonDesLys, Responsable réception at Le Pavillon des Lys, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

The team of the Pavillon des Lys would like to thank you to have stayed in our Hotel .

We let you know as well that your review has really touched us and we will be really pleased to welcome you again in our hotel.

Thanks again

Best regards

Maxime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Quebec Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

A super spot to use as a base for doing the Loire Chateaux. Loved our stay. One of the nicest B&B's we have ever stayed in. A beautifully restored circa 1730 building with a well landscaped courtyard. Parking around the side is convenient and safe. Easy walk (2minutes!) to the main street of Amboise, where there are plenty of restos and cafe's as well as the chateaux. We stayed 2 nights, arriving early afternoon, using the second day to see 3 of the other chateaux in the area, and then onwards the next day. Just right! The offseason rate (125E) was a steal. Luxurious rooms, well appointed, nice linens and a to-die-for bathroom. Very quiet. It is run by a young couple who recently took over the property, and they seem to be doing an excellent job in maintaining a very high standard.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor, sir our access was to the courtyard instead off inside the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devon2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here just after christmas for a few nights. This is by far one of the best hotels I've ever been to. We were upgraded upon arrival and the room was amazing. The staff were quick to sort out our needs, even calling and researching car hires for our stay. The location of the hotel is right in the centre and very easy to get to anywhere.

The rest of the hotel is absolutely beautiful with a nice fire place, beautiful decorations and a delicious breakfast in the morning. I can't describe how pleasant a time we had at this hotel and how professional and polite their staff is.

If we return to the loire valley we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jhon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePavillonDesLys, Responsable réception at Le Pavillon des Lys, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

The team of the Pavillon des Lys would like to thank you to have stayed in our Hotel .
We let you know as well that your review has really touched us because we work hard in order to meet guests' expectations.
We are really enjoyed to start this new year with your honest and sincere opinion and we wish you an happy new year.

Thanks again

Best regards

Maxime

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here in September for just one night, but we loved it. We had a wonderful room on the top floor (so no noise problems), nicely decorated with a large, well-equipped bathroom, and a view of the chateau out the little window. The property is lovely, and breakfast was delicious. They let us leave our car for the day while we toured the town.

As others have said, the wi-fi only worked on the ground floor, but that wasn't really a problem for us. I would definitely recommend Le Pavillon des Lys as a good place to stay in Amboise.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePavillonDesLys, Responsable réception at Le Pavillon des Lys, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

The team of the Pavillon des Lys would like to thank you to have stayed in our Hotel.

We also thank you for the honesty and sincerity of your opinion and you have to know that we take all feedbacks into consideration to improve our services :

Indeed, since October, the wi-fi is available with "hight speed access" in all rooms.

Therefore, we invite you to comeback to our hotel to test it.


Season's Greetings

Maxime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our stay in Amboise was a delight and our stay in Le Pavillon des Lys enhanced our stay. The greeting by Guillame was warm and friendly. Our room very convenient and comfortable. The bed was very good as were the bathroom facilities. Breakfast was excellent and served in a very nice room. The location of the hotel is excellent for all areas of the town.

Our only disappointment and surprise was that there's no bar fridge in the room. Nevertheless we would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grothville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed in this fabulous boutique hotel for our visit to the Loire. The location was very convenient and within easy walking distance to major tourist attractions. The hotel itself is well presented and maintained with comfortable rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful particularly Guillame. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed_v259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.3 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
607 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
574 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon des Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon des Lys

Property: Le Pavillon des Lys
Address: 9 rue d Orange, 37400, Amboise, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon des Lys 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Le Pavillon des Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing