We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in the heart of Amboise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Pavillon des Lys
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in the heart of Amboise”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed three nights in this hotel and used it as a base to tour the Loire Valley. It is well located in Tourane, which is about central in the valley. The hotel is very close to the center of Amboise and to the castle there. Yet it is enough away from all the restaurants to be quiet at night.)

Our room was outstanding (#24). It was located on the 2nd floor of the main bldg. (Be aware - there are no elevators). The room was huge with a separate dressing area and a large bathroom with claw tub and separate shower. It was beautifully decorated. There are also stand-alone cottages that appear to be one floor if you have trouble with stairs.

The continental breakfast was not included in the price and I would say it was just okay. The pastries offered were very mundane - nothing really sweet. Just croissants and bread. They did offer cereal, juices and the coffee was good. But if you like great pastry with your coffee, go down to the corner bakery that opens at 7AM and choose from their wonderful selection.

There is free, enclosed parking onsite, which is a real plus. The people at the desk were very friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msdillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    94
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
65
229
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in suite on first floor. Excellent room and terrace with wonderful view of Chapel of St Hubert and the Chateau. Good Breakfast and helpful staff. No restaurant but good location for many restaurants. Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D1DBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomingdale, NJ
Level Contributor
298 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is one of those unforgettable little places you find if you're very lucky. It's within walking distance of all of the major sites, so once you park your car in their ample enclosed courtyard, you never need to use it again. As soon as you step inside that courtyard, with it's tables and chairs, you're really away from any of the bustle of the street. The staff couldn't have been nicer and the breakfast was, without a doubt, the best we experienced in our 3 week trip. It is so elegant and beautifully presented. There are all of the usual amenities (robes, hair dryers, comfortable beds) and only one potential problem for some travelers---no elevator. Our traveling companions, who are younger, were kind enough to take the 3rd floor room, leaving us with the first floor room. It was so charming, with its private entrance from the pretty courtyard, and a little table and chairs right outsider our door. There appeared to be little ground floor cottages as well.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if you have any problems with stairs---there's no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume J, Responsable réception at Le Pavillon des Lys, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Madam,
The team of the Pavillon des Lys would like to thank you to have stayed in our Hotel .
Be sure that your compliment has been shared with the entire team, who will be so pleased.
Indeed, we work hard in order to meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Thanks again

Best regards

Maxime

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
845 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Good charming hotel in the middle of Amboise. We had a lovely large bedroom on the 3rd floor (2nd etage) with a nice lovely bathroom. No elevator but the staff took our very heavy large suitcase up for us. The breakfast was lovely with good service. The hotel is situated in the middle of the town very close to the Loire, the castle and the Clos Luce. The hotel has a private closed parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pomerols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I spent three nights at this quiet little oasis in Amboise. We loved the location, the advice on where to dine and the quiet evenings in our room. The place is charming, comfortable, well appointed and the staff very helpful and excellent service. We had a large room and a very comfortable bed. We would love to go back sometime soon. They were fluent in English saving us from torturing them with our broken French.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelley647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed one week at this gorgeous inn. It was the best accomdations of our 3 week trip, and that is saying a lot, as we stayed in wonderful places throughout the country.
The room was spacious, well appointed, spotlessly clean, with a lovely view of the chateau.
The bathroom was as large as a bedroom! The corner bathtub was a treat.
Marcus was particularly worth a mention. He was, quite simply, the most gracious, generous, and helpful manager I have ever encountered at a hotel. He even helped my husband figure out the GPS system in our rental car, which saved the day for the rest of our journey through France.
If you stay in Amboise (which is a good base of operations for touring the area) stay here. Have a GPS in your car. This will also help in finding the hotel as their printed directions are confusing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreacomsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The is a beautiful inn in Amboise. We had two rooms for our family. My wife and I stayed in the Terrace Room which was beautiful with a fantastic terrace to sit and enjoy breakfast and a glass of wine in the evening (there is a fantastic wine store with very helpful staff just up the street to buy a bottle of wine). Our children had a smaller but nice room with two twin beds. Unfortunately due to flies in the region you can't use the terrace at night. Amboise is a beautiful and charming town to base your visit to the Loire Valley.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank PugglePower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#3 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#7 of 25 in Amboise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon des Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon des Lys

Property: Le Pavillon des Lys
Address: 9 rue d Orange, 37400, Amboise, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon des Lys 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Le Pavillon des Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing