We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice home base hotel to explore the region.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Pavillon des Lys
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in July 2014. We had a cottage room which is a separate building next to the main hotel. Room was in a good shape with modern décor, very clean but the bed was little too hard for me and the layout of the room was somewhat awkward. You had to move the night stand out of the way in order to get into the closet where safe was located as it was totally blocking the closet door.
Also the glass sink in the bathroom was very modern and pretty but very shallow and water would splatter back all over you once it hit the bottom of it.
There was a table with two chairs outside where one could enjoy a glass of wine in a nice court yard setting. We did.
Continental breakfast was available at the main hotel building every morning at an additional charge and was very filling with good quality selection of coffee, tea, juices, pastries, cheeses, ham, boiled eggs and etc.
Hotel has it own parking which was a plus for us as we had a rental car.
I chose this hotel because of it very central location in town with very short walk to all the restaurants and shopping. Overall we very pleased with the hotel itself, it location and the services we received. Would definitely recommend this hotel and the town of Amboise as a home base to explore Loire region.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel and wished we had planned a few more nights. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful. We felt pampered; they anticipated what we needed. Upon arrival they helped with our luggage which was appreciated after an early & long day of train travel. There is a nice courtyard where we sat and enjoyed a bottle of our wine & snacks. The breakfast was served in a cheery room with linens & sterling. Location was perfect - just a few blocks from the TI, Amboise Castle and restaurants. We were planning to walk 20 minutes to train station when we checked out, when one of the staff offered to drive us. Would definitely stay here again if I ever return to the Loire valley.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed three nights in this hotel and used it as a base to tour the Loire Valley. It is well located in Tourane, which is about central in the valley. The hotel is very close to the center of Amboise and to the castle there. Yet it is enough away from all the restaurants to be quiet at night.)

Our room was outstanding (#24). It was located on the 2nd floor of the main bldg. (Be aware - there are no elevators). The room was huge with a separate dressing area and a large bathroom with claw tub and separate shower. It was beautifully decorated. There are also stand-alone cottages that appear to be one floor if you have trouble with stairs.

The continental breakfast was not included in the price and I would say it was just okay. The pastries offered were very mundane - nothing really sweet. Just croissants and bread. They did offer cereal, juices and the coffee was good. But if you like great pastry with your coffee, go down to the corner bakery that opens at 7AM and choose from their wonderful selection.

There is free, enclosed parking onsite, which is a real plus. The people at the desk were very friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank msdillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in suite on first floor. Excellent room and terrace with wonderful view of Chapel of St Hubert and the Chateau. Good Breakfast and helpful staff. No restaurant but good location for many restaurants. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D1DBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is one of those unforgettable little places you find if you're very lucky. It's within walking distance of all of the major sites, so once you park your car in their ample enclosed courtyard, you never need to use it again. As soon as you step inside that courtyard, with it's tables and chairs, you're really away from any of the bustle of the street. The staff couldn't have been nicer and the breakfast was, without a doubt, the best we experienced in our 3 week trip. It is so elegant and beautifully presented. There are all of the usual amenities (robes, hair dryers, comfortable beds) and only one potential problem for some travelers---no elevator. Our traveling companions, who are younger, were kind enough to take the 3rd floor room, leaving us with the first floor room. It was so charming, with its private entrance from the pretty courtyard, and a little table and chairs right outsider our door. There appeared to be little ground floor cottages as well.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if you have any problems with stairs---there's no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume J, Responsable réception at Le Pavillon des Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Madam,
The team of the Pavillon des Lys would like to thank you to have stayed in our Hotel .
Be sure that your compliment has been shared with the entire team, who will be so pleased.
Indeed, we work hard in order to meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Thanks again

Best regards

Maxime

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Good charming hotel in the middle of Amboise. We had a lovely large bedroom on the 3rd floor (2nd etage) with a nice lovely bathroom. No elevator but the staff took our very heavy large suitcase up for us. The breakfast was lovely with good service. The hotel is situated in the middle of the town very close to the Loire, the castle and the Clos Luce. The hotel has a private closed parking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pomerols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I spent three nights at this quiet little oasis in Amboise. We loved the location, the advice on where to dine and the quiet evenings in our room. The place is charming, comfortable, well appointed and the staff very helpful and excellent service. We had a large room and a very comfortable bed. We would love to go back sometime soon. They were fluent in English saving us from torturing them with our broken French.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelley647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
626 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
595 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon des Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon des Lys

Address: 9 rue d Orange, 37400, Amboise, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range: £87 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon des Lys 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Pavillon des Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing