We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved in so much we did not want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Pavillon des Lys
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2010

This is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. It combined comfort, elegance, and style to create an outstanding hotel experience. It is in an old manor house in the middle of the charming village on Amboise. We stayed in the junior suite, which had an amazing bed, high thread count sheets, lots of fluffy feather pillow, a couch with a pull out bed, a separate small sitting room, and a huge four-piece bath with a claw foot tub. The breakfasts were huge and delicious, served either in room or in the elegant dining room, and the staff was very attentive and kind. The restaurant in the hotel is a gourmet, on the expensive side, but worth the money. You have to book ahead, because it fills up quickly. The chairs in the dining room were very narrow, but the hotel owner told us he had placed an order for new chairs that were wider. We definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolynPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Le Pavillon des Lys
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2010

Although we had read great reviews of this hotel, we were still very pleasantly surprised at how clean, comfortable and stylish this hotel watheTis little touches made it feel very homely but still stylish and classy. Our room was on the top floor and we had a nice view of the castle from our bathroom.

Dinner was a unique experience and we enjoyed this chef's menu immensely. Sitting in the courtyard on a
warm summer evening was a perfect way to enjoy
dinner. The staff were friendly and courteous.

Just bear in mind there is no lift so pack light if staying on the top floor!

Amboise is a lovely, charming town and the perfect place as a base for visiting all the chateaux in the Loire Valley.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

The Pavillon de Lys has it all! Rooms with a view of the chateau (ask for No. 23). Attentive staff, minutes from the center of a most charming town with great restaurants, and--the piece de la resistance--the best food in Amboiise-and we tried them all. This is THE place to stay and eat.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

This was the surprise element of our trip to France!

I was confident from the previous reviews on TA that the hotel would be good however; the duplex room we stayed in for 120 euros per night was quite simply AMAZING.

We had a lovely bedroom, sitting area (TV in both!), huge wet room and gorgeous terrace.

We also appreciated the little touches such as really good quality toiletries, jars of toffee and good quality bottles of water.

Breakfast is a must here and at 14 euros it is excellent value for money.

All in all, it was a great stay in lovely Amboise.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

If anyone has been to visit this city ..Amboise , I have a great experience I will tell about this hotel i come here for relax just afew days Last month so relax place . This hotel can be a nice place the decoration Nice style and Classic Model with Luxury place . Favorite in outstanding of Building Hotel . I like here good room for sleep that is verry clean and comfortable bed room for us , any staff have to smile for us and best service . We have drive a car to the parking of Hotel , I saw Garden and Trees etc. see natural environment so different with another place parking . From the windows of my room can see outside a good view of Castle so beautiful . At last night with dinner . chef cook present good menu food France This is Delicious foods. we like for stay here and if we make next holiday we perfer booking and will com back again with my family for visit And traveler In Amboise .

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erikjensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

last holidays I'm woud like go to visit france for a week with family . we try looked online website hotel somewhere outside paris . so we perfer visit Amboise loire valley this city is Interesting for history .. etc. we found one hotel is Le Pavillon des Lys in Amboise
last february then my decition make up already booking for 6 days to stay here ! In first looking photoe this hotel in website is perfect and romance place for me , When we enters In reception we get best welcome from Manager Mr.Sebastien begouin . He give many information for room , service , restaurant , chateau . sure we are impressed for him service mind and friendly with us . Have onething want to tell anyone if want to visit
real place of This Hotel so Beautiful especially verry clean place . My doughter her happiness for stay and enjoys with Dinner In Restaurant here too. Because have to know restaurant in this hotel is specially Chef cook leading of food France . I like new menu for everryday chef in restaurant give me alot of choice for menu verry Impressive
In 6 days stay . Last day we get help from staff send us to the train station go back to paris . i would like to say perfect and happy so glad , not disappointed to booking with The Manager this hotel ( him best to take care of your ) The same like us get .... Nissen : copenhagen

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hnissen46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

My husband & I came from the United States to spend time in the region of Tours to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. This hotel was recommended to us by the tour operator and it was a brilliant choice. We cannot say enough nice things about Le Pavillion des Lys. The property was a spacious house, built in the 19th Century. The manager, Sebastian Begouin, totally renovated it, preserving the most impressive features but building in a lot of comfort and style. We had the Junior Suite. In some hotels in Europe, a "junior suite" might be no bigger than a broom closet, but my husband and I were saying that the suite could have fit most of the first floor of our single-family home. The shower had plenty of hot water -- no miserly "water saver" feature here! The bathtub was in the style of a Victorian claw-foot tub. All the facilites were *immaculate* -- top marks for cleanliness.

The service and food were exceptionally good. No detail was too small to be overlooked. We were overwhelmed with the choices for breakfast. Ate there for dinner and was very impressed with the set menu. The cuisine was lovely -- very good food and the presentation was superb. The staff here truly care about the comfort of their guests.

Because this is a renovated mansion, this hotel is appropriate for couples or for families with older children. There are stairs to the second and third floors so people with small children should be aware of that fact.

We were truly sorry to leave. Staying here really made our anniversary celebration special. Our only regret is that Trip Advior only allows a rating of up to "5". We'd give it a higher rating if we could.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drieldc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.3 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
623 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
587 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Amboise
Novotel Amboise
#11 of 25 in Amboise
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon des Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon des Lys

Address: 9 rue d Orange, 37400, Amboise, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range: £86 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon des Lys 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Pavillon des Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing