We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Lovely And Very French”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Pavillon des Lys
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2011

My husband and I showed up at this hotel in lovely Amboise on bicycles. I'm not sure, but we may have been the first bicyclists to stay here. While everyone in France bikes, few of them stay in 4 or 5 star hotels. So it's always interesting to see how we will be received when we arrive at a residence as nice as Le Pavillon des Lys.

We actually did find one of the staff to be somewhat reserved, but as we spoke further, we discovered this to be due more to the French nature than to any attempt to be rude or unaccommodating. Le Pavillion des Lys is totally French, not an English bed and breakfast. So if you are looking for a lovely French inn within easy walking distance of every attraction in the beautiful town of Amboise, look no further than Le Pavillon des Lys.

With only 7 rooms available in this gorgeous 18th century residence, we were happy to get a room during the very busy August season. Our standard room was very large by European standards, with a king size bed, huge old-fashioned tub, and a bathroom window overlooking Amboise castle. The internet service was great, and our room was much less expensive than other top Tripadvisor choices in Amboise. Le Pavillon des Lys is located in the old quarter of Amboise, and is surrounded on all sides by half-timbered buildings. It is a 2-3 minute walk to the main pedestrian area, yet the residence itself is a quiet oasis with a great outside terrace and indoor sitting room. Parking is available within the gates.

The highlight of our stay was dinner on the terrace, surrounded by trees and overshadowed by the majestic Amboise castle. The candle lit terrace was nothing less than magical, and the food was inspired. Amboise-born chef Sebastien Begouin's price fixe seven course menu was definitely a highlight of a trip full of spectacular dinners. Each course was a visual and taste surprise; food combinations that were unexpected, but so perfect. The icing on the cake so to speak was the last course which was a tasting of seven different desserts. At a price of 39 Euros/person, this was one of the most memorable meals of our trip.

If you are looking for a very special stay in an authentic French residence within an easy walk of shops and attractions in Amboise, look no further than Le Pavillon des Lys.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggielacoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Le Pavillon des Lys
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2011

This has always been a favourite hotel and restaurant, but this visit will be our last. We booked two rooms, one for us and the other for our son and his girlfriend to have a family celebration. We also said when we booked that we wanted dinner in the restaurant. I rang the day before to confirm. When we arrived we were told that the restaurant was closed for the season! To say I was upset and angry is an understatement. We had flown from Australia and brought my son and partner from Paris to have this dinner, so anything else was going to be a compromise.

Our disappointment continued beyond the hard pillows and attitude that they were doing us favor.

The hotel was not very full, being winter when we were there. We bought a bottle of champagne to have together and asked for some glasses. This request was refused on the basis that we didn't buy it from the hotel. This is the same hotel with low occupancy and had failed to advise us about the restaurant closing. The rude staff member also advised my husband that he had to finish his cognac (that he bought in the hotel lounge) in 10 mins because the lounge was closing. Really a hotel of this quality and price should perform much better. It would have been a polite thing to provide the glasses, given that there was nobody else for them to worry about and it was exceptionally rude to sell a product, the cognac, and then tell the client that they are not welcome to drink it in peace.


The rooms are lovely, but the pillows are not of a good quality.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Barrykath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pavillon, Propriétaire at Le Pavillon des Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2011

Dear Sir,

We regret to know that your stay with us has not been as pleasant as your previous one.

Our restaurant being usually busy, we always suggest to make reservation prior to your arrival in order not to cause any disappointment. With a request from your side at the moment of your hotel reservation, we would have informed you of our yearly closing at this period of the year.
Moreover, our staffs are always committed to help you find nearby restaurants whenever you need.

The lounge bar is indeed closed during the night as mentioned by our staff. However, you always have the possibility to be served with a drink in the hotel drink list in your private room.

Regarding the pillows, we regret that the brand-new furniture was not suitable for you and would like to inform that extra pillows can be provided as per your convenience.

Would you have the opportunity to come back to Amboise, we look forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you again with our commitment to make your stay a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

The manor is beautiful, and the rooms very spacious, comfortable and quiet. Bathroom was huge. Location is perfect, within a minute's walk of shops and a few minutes from Amboise Chateau and 10 minutes from the Da Vinci chateau. Amboise is the prettiest town, with exquisite shops and restaurants/cafes. This manor has a top-class restaurant, and the food and service are faultless and divine, even for a solo diner. My only criticism - and I mention it as it took me some time to recover from my experience - was that I arrived at Amboise by train with about 30 kg of luggage and could not get a taxi to the manor as all were out on tours. It was mid afternoon. I rang the manor to ask if they could assist and they couldn't. I had to walk two kilometres with 30 kg of luggage and I was distressed by the time I arrived, also having the additional problem of not being able to find the manor as had been given three different lots of directions by locals. This is why I have rated the service as average - I think the hotel and manor owners need to address this problem, which initially spoiled what was an otherwise perfect stay in Amboise.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsabellaKew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We had a standard room, which I must say was pretty good for the price. Breakfast was not included, which is normal for the area, but still I would definitely prefer it as breakfasts tend to be overpriced in this region. I tried an omelette, it was the only food I had there and it was amazing! The location is amazingly central, chateau and restaurants are about half a minute away. There is a really great patiserrie just on the corner which I highly recommend. All good and service great, one small quibble is that our room had a tile floor whihc was freezing cold, it wouldn't have been too much trouble to put down a rug, which I did ask for twice (our room was outside in a little stand alone building).

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublinyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We had a wonderful 2 day stay at Le Pavillon des Lys. The service is fantastic - non-intrusive but efficient. Our room was spacious and the king size bed very comfortable. I particularly loved the huge bathroom which featured an enormous deep claw foot bath and separate shower and toilet.

The breakfast was another highlight. It was beautifully laid out in the gorgeous dining room and there was plenty to eat including eggs and fresh seasonal fruit.

The hotel is very conveniently situated. The restaurants and shops are literally around the corner and the Chateau de Amboise and Clos de Luce (being the main attractions) are less than 1 km by foot.

This was the best accommodation we experienced during our trip to France. I would highly recommend it to all travellers heading to the Loire Valley.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maystravels_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

This is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. It combined comfort, elegance, and style to create an outstanding hotel experience. It is in an old manor house in the middle of the charming village on Amboise. We stayed in the junior suite, which had an amazing bed, high thread count sheets, lots of fluffy feather pillow, a couch with a pull out bed, a separate small sitting room, and a huge four-piece bath with a claw foot tub. The breakfasts were huge and delicious, served either in room or in the elegant dining room, and the staff was very attentive and kind. The restaurant in the hotel is a gourmet, on the expensive side, but worth the money. You have to book ahead, because it fills up quickly. The chairs in the dining room were very narrow, but the hotel owner told us he had placed an order for new chairs that were wider. We definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolynPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Although we had read great reviews of this hotel, we were still very pleasantly surprised at how clean, comfortable and stylish this hotel watheTis little touches made it feel very homely but still stylish and classy. Our room was on the top floor and we had a nice view of the castle from our bathroom.

Dinner was a unique experience and we enjoyed this chef's menu immensely. Sitting in the courtyard on a
warm summer evening was a perfect way to enjoy
dinner. The staff were friendly and courteous.

Just bear in mind there is no lift so pack light if staying on the top floor!

Amboise is a lovely, charming town and the perfect place as a base for visiting all the chateaux in the Loire Valley.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.3 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
622 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
587 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Amboise
Novotel Amboise
#11 of 25 in Amboise
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon des Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon des Lys

Address: 9 rue d Orange, 37400, Amboise, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range: £86 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon des Lys 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Pavillon des Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing