We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Italian food”
Review of Via Roma

Via Roma
Ranked #28 of 89 Restaurants in Amboise
Price range: US$14 - US$34
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Avalon, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty Italian food”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

The staff let us in a few minutes early which was appreciated because it was very cold outside. The service was attentive and the food was good. The portions were average which was perfect for us. The dessert was quite good too.

Helpful?
Thank Christylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    211
    103
    38
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Creswick, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just average Italian , no dash”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were disappointed with the quality of the food and the very off-hand service. Don't bother with this unless you wat some fast food of average quality.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great Pasta”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We we're in Ambrose for a few nights and found this restaurant in the main square along with many others. We we're later than usual but the found us a table and we had a fabulous meal. The pastas we had, penne pollo and lasagne were the best we've had in France so far. Service was friendly and efficient, despite the restaurant being full. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
457 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“A nice break from French food”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were a little tired of all the fancy French food so went in search of something a little less, well, French and after strolling up and down the main drag and looking at the food settled on this place from among about 4 other pizzerias and Italian spots.

The servers clearly deal with many English speakers and were quite accommodating. We ordered a green salad (hard to find in France) to share (again not typical) and they were happy to oblige and even brought the salad out first (again very un- French who like their salad after the main course).

We each ordered a pizza-me Margarita (not quite right as it did not have basil) but hot and very tasty while my wife one with "ham " (prosciutto) and goat cheese- also quite good. We ordered wine by the glass, it is still France, and let our server choose as the one I ordered she said was no good.

Tomorrow back to French food, but a nice break for tonight.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimRiesterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant. Great location. Good Food”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The restaurant is in the main square of Amboise, just below the cathedral. Staff very friendly. Very good food and good value for money

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLM_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Via Roma also viewed

Amboise, Loire Valley
Amboise, Loire Valley
 
Amboise, Loire Valley
Amboise, Loire Valley
 
Amboise, Loire Valley
 

Been to Via Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing