We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Au Charme Rabelaisien
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Our stay in Amboise was made all the more enjoyable since we were staying with Mme Sylvie. She is the perfect hostess and will go out of her way to be helpful for yor stay. The rooms are beautifully furnished and the garden and pool a delight. It is totally quiet-you will only hear birdsong.very central for everything in Amboise and beyond. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Liz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

Staying at this bed and breakfast was the best experience of my two week trip. I stayed for three nights in the "cosy" room, which is a great size for a single traveler. Mme Sylvie went above and beyond to make me feel comfortable, and I was well taken care of. She offered advice and directions, made reservations, and helped me figure out my tour itinerary by calling the company.

Her breakfasts were wonderful...it was a great treat to walk out of my room in the morning to the scent of fresh baked bread. She adjusted her schedule so I could still have breakfast on my early morning. This was appreciated and service above and beyond what I expected.

I absolutely recommend a stay here if you're planning a trip to the Loire Valley.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank adhtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Sylvie... We miss you and can't wait to return. If we visited Amboise 100 times we would have to stay with you each time. Our rooms were perfection. Beautiful, comfortable, perfectly functioning. The breakfast was to die for, it was great to have soft boiled eggs. Your warm smile and gracious demeanor were the perfect start and finish to each day. We felt welcome in your lovely home. We can not think of anything you have not already considered. A wonderful two night stay and a perfect break for our bicycle trip. Merci!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank djack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This beautiful bed and breakfast was our base in Amboise for four nights. Mme Sylvie was the perfect host and nothing was too much trouble, she was delightful (as was her husband who we met on the first day). Our separate apartment at the bottom of the manicured garden was perfect - private, beautifully furnished, great shower and a sumptuous bed for the best night's sleep (as it turned out, the best of our trip). We were spoiled for choice at breakfast and did our best to try everything, including the home-made cakes. There is excellent, on-site secure parking. We were also very grateful to Sylvie for onforwarding a parcel to us in Paris that we had left behind. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this to other travellers - it will be our first choice if we are lucky enough to return some day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linley_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I have recently spent two nights (from April 19th, 2013 to April 21th, 2013) in the room "perle" and it was a great weekend.

To start the house is located in the center of the city which is extremely convenient to see everything (including the castle) without a car.

The house is a typical French XVIII century house, with a beautiful garden and a swimming pool.

The room was gorgeous, very well decorated with modern furniture but in a warm atmosphere that makes you feel at home. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is big with separate restrooms, a rain shower with plenty of various water jets. In addition for those who like gadgets there is the possibility to have blue light in the shower while you showering which is pretty relaxing.

The room and the bathroom were extremely clean (I am very picky as regard how clean a place should be) so as the whole house.

Sylvie, the hostess, is extremely nice and makes everything to make you happy from the beginning to the end of your stay without being intrusive. She pays attention to every little details so as to give you the feeling that you are in a four stars hotel (like the housemade cakes which wait for you in your room) and the fact she remembers everything you can tell her about yourself.

The breakfast is delicious with fresh orange juice, fresh fruit salad, bread, chocolate croissant, cheese, charcuterie etc.

I want to insist on the fact that for people who look quiet, charming and peaceful place it is definitely the place to be, there was no noise at all (except the singing of the bird), the soundproofing of the room is perfect.

I wish every hotels could be like Sylvie's place.

I definitely want to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed with Mme Sylvie for two evenings and we wished it could have been longer. She is a charming and exceptional hostess; setting a standard by which all others should be measured. We stayed in the unit that is self-contained. It was spacious and complete. Breakfasts were incredible and when she found that Madeleines were my favorite, she made extra for me to take along. The accommodations are very comfortable and the courtyard and pool area are private, serene, and inviting. There is secure parking and we took the advantage of that to leave the car and explore Amboise on foot. There is no doubt that we will visit Rabelaisien again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackfrost0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in September. Mme Sylvie was as charming a hostess as her property's name suggests. We stayed in the garden room, which is separate from the main house and provided an extremely comfortable and private base for our exploration of Amboise and its surrounds. The room was beautifully decorated - we loved the giraffes dotted around! - and had all mod cons. The shower was one of the best showers we have found in all our years of travelling, but the property is also full of character. Breakfast was a veritable feast of options. Mme Sylvie gave us great recommendations for places to eat and chateaux to visit, and had plentiful information on hand to help us plan our trips. Her B&B is within easy walking distance of Chateau Amboise and Le Clos Luce, both highly recommended for visits. We loved our stay and would highly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
636 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
635 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#6 of 25 in Amboise
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Au Charme Rabelaisien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Au Charme Rabelaisien

Address: 25 rue Rabelais, Amboise, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range: £107 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Au Charme Rabelaisien 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel - Au Charme Rabelaisien Au Charme Rabelaisien, a luxury bed and breakfast for 10 years, is reborn into a boutique hotel.« Au Charme Rabelaisien » will receive a complete renovation of its facilities and its services (elevator, relaxation area, bar). Scheduled to open in May 2016, Au Charme Rabelaisien invites you to experience the new Loire Valey must stay. Now freshly restored, its stylish decor and intimatate garden with pool welcome guests to rediscover a unique atmosphere and the inimitable French art de vivre. We are located in the city center of Amboise, close to Amboise’s Royal Castle. Au Charme Rabelaisien in a few lines: •10 refined and comfortable rooms with attractive modern touches •Elevator in the main house •Heated outdoor pool in summer •Relaxation and wellness area: Jacuzzi, sauna, gym •Landscaped garden •Concierge and personalized services •Luggage Storage •Laundry service •Continental breakfast served in the dining room or in the garden •Bar (snack) with lounge •Free WIFI •Paid parking (subject to availability ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Au Charme Rabelaisien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing