We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere”
Review of La Scala

La Scala
Ranked #23 of 89 Restaurants in Amboise
Price range: US$11 - US$28
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I'm going to say that I'm glad we ignored our initial impression based upon the young woman in casual clothing who was setting up the tables outside (we felt she was rude, and a couple other customers stalked off after speaking to her). However, once inside the restaurant, our uniformed waitress and waiter were nice and pleasant. My mother's pasta was tasty although a bit spicy; I still have to work my way around pizza in Europe vs. American chains (not bad, just different). I was impressed when it appeared that the staff were willing to heat a baby bottle for one table and didn't fuss about bringing us tap water. We are early birds, but dinner service doesn't start until 7pm. I would have enjoyed sitting outside, but I was a little put off as we've experienced panhandlers at other outside seating areas.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anon58759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denis d, Responsable commercial at La Scala, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hello,
Thank you for your notes, we are delighted that you had a real good moment. Our team do always their utmost to meet the needs of customers and your message proves that our efforts brings us has success.
We hope to see again you quickly to be tasted the best of our dishes,
Scala's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Very average food in dreary surroundings.Even the lack of sunshine compounded the dreary meal.xxxxxxxxx

Thank Baby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denis d, Responsable commercial at La Scala, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Hello,
Thank you for your message even if it's not very positive. We have pleasure has to work Italian and quality products. We are sorry that your visit in our restaurant doesn't leave you a good memory.
We hope see you later in france for another Tasting,
La Scala Amboise Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

What could have been a pleasant meal was spoilt by the complete lack of welcome.I felt like something the cat dragged in.I had a decent meal the first night, to be fair, but on arrival the second night, the same waiter did not even bother to say hello.I ordered a 'pizza' which was one of those fold over jobs.It was horrible, and the egg was just plonked on the inside, and was totally uncooked, revolting.

Thank Tony186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denis d, Responsable commercial at La Scala, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Hello,
Thank you for your message even if it's not very positive. We have pleasure has to work Italian and quality products. We are sorry that your visit in our restaurant doesn't leave you a good memory. Our team works every day to present as good as possible our cooking. We agree with you, on the big dates, we again have to improve.
We hope see you later in france for another Tasting,
La Scala Amboise Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

There is quite a choice of Italian restaurants in Amboise mostly pizzerias. We chose this one because the menu looked a bit more interesting. We walked in off the street and there was no one around to greet us so we sat down at a table for 4 people although we were only 2 people. A waiter appeared and said we had to move even though the restaurant was not busy and we were put very close to another table which was a bit of a squeeze. Under other circumstances we probably would have left but we were hungry and wanted to eat.

Another waiter took our order and he was pleasant and efficient. I chose pizza whilst my husband had lasagne and we shared a salad. The pizza was particularly good and the lasagne just about okay. We also shared a bottle of red wine from the wine list rather than the house red. I would say it was just about value for money.

The restaurant is nicely decorated with some amazing glass balloons as a centre piece. We ate indoors but many people were eating outside. Whilst we were there no one sat at the table we originally chose

We were put off by the initial treatment we received and the food is variable in quality

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trueblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Although the quality is average, nothing special, it is ok and I do advise this restaurant. They were friendly, it's not very expensive (only the drinks are quite expensive) and they do have a lot of choice. Other restaurants in Amboise seemed to have all the same things on their menu, and this one had various interesting (and tasty) pizza's and pasta's, risotto and lot's of desserts. They also offer vegetarian dishes, with is rare in France.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank milly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Scala also viewed

Amboise, Loire Valley
 
Amboise, Loire Valley
Amboise, Loire Valley
 
Amboise, Loire Valley
Amboise, Loire Valley
 

Been to La Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing